We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa di Monte Solare
Certificate of Excellence
Hoegaarden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a very difficult hotel to review. Based on my experience , staying around 180 nights in hotels around the world for business, I find that some of the basics are not right : wifi unpredictable, bathroom to basic and it took ages to get the right temperature, cheap Chinese TV, no room service on the day that restaurant is closed...some basics that should be right for an hotel in this price range. ...so disappointed.
the location, the calmness , the food and the friendly staff are in line with the price.
So it is a decision on where your priorities are but overpriced, Jean Vanhoegaerden

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanvanhoegaerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    84
    17
    10
    0
See reviews for
85
439
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel epitomizes all that is best about Italy: a beautiful setting in the rolling countryside of Umbria, with olive groves spreading down the hillsides in one direction and vineyards in the other; timeless buildings, in sympathy with their surroundings; good food; helpful staff. Most of all, we appreciated the short tour of the property that was conducted by the owner himself: he is proud of his property and his country, and with good reason! We felt privileged to stay here, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights of pure relaxation. Had a spa treatment and did the cooking class and both were supreme. I can still taste some of the things we made that day. Food is very important to us and my only suggestion would be to change the menu more frequently. We stayed 4 nights and were there for the night meal every night and by the end of our stay we were looking for some new choices. If you stay that long, maybe go into town for a few meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at Monte Solare, but think it is about 8. It is always delightful, but each time we notice something that has changed - for the better. This time it was the inclusion of hot items in the breakfast, and the addition of a "bistro" facility for those who don't wish to eat in the main restaurant, but don't want to go anywhere else either.

There is little to add to the existing reviews which show that, out of 332 (and that is remarkable for a small establishment) 290 have scored it as "excellent" and all the rest as "very good" - I have yet to see a negative report. We believe it is quite unique, but to understand this you have to go there. Do it!

Message to Filippo and Rosi - see you again for my birthday next year.

David and Pat Holding

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in the "Olivaia" barn conversion rather than the main hotel, or at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finlandaise à Paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a hotel where one should stop for some days to really relax, because the hotel and the surrounding area are ideal for that. The villa and all the other buildings are very beautiful outside and inside. Our suite was very nice, too. The two pools are a little bit small for real swimming, but as there are not too many people in the hotel, and as people leave for excursions, one might have the pool "in private use", as we did. And the scenery around the pools is amazingly beautiful and calm. The food is good, the breakfast is fantastic. To enjoy them on either of the two terraces is a real pleasure. I had just a body massage of one hour in the spa, so I cannot say a lot of the spa. The hotel is a little bit far away, but it certainly is worth driving there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauliina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This exquisitely restored 18th Century villa is located in magnificent countryside surroundings with olive groves and vineyards. It is composed of 25 suites in a variety of historic buildings, two swimming pools, tennis courts, and a wonderful spa created in what was an orangerie. The food is excellent with many selections available in the elegant dining room. The service is superb-- warm, helpful and willing to accommodate special requests. Filippo and Rosi Iannarone are very gracious hosts, going out of their way to provide any arrangements one might wish, including excursions of all kinds: archaeological, historical, musical (in their own exquisite small chapel), cooking classes and visits to vineyards. The spa provides a full range of wonderful treatments. This is my third visit and I am already anticipating a return next year. I cannot imagine a more wonderful or more welcoming holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are elegantly and tastefully furnished in a variety of historic buildings. I personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlicefromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent five nights at this historic hotel in a beautiful location. The owners Rosemarie and Filippo Lannarone and their team were marvellous hosts. The service was warm and very helpful. Our suite was extremely comfortable with great attention to detail. The food was excellent. An interesting extra was the class in the cookery school with Chef Sergio - we are now practising our new Italian culinary skills here in the UK. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
3.6 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
464 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
812 reviews
23.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
531 reviews
9.2 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
24.0 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#3 of 71 in Assisi
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa di Monte Solare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa di Monte Solare

Property: Villa di Monte Solare
Address: Via Montali 7 | Colle San Paolo, 06064 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa di Monte Solare 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a remote hillside above Lake Trasimeno, Villa di Monte Solare nestles in gorgeous grounds punctuated by cypress trees and fountains a few miles from Perugia. An enchanting villa, that for centuries was home to an aristocratic family, it is now a delightful boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant, two swimming pools, a tennis court and a pampering spa.Rooms and suites at Villa di Monte Solare are distributed between the villa, complete with marble fireplaces, terracotta floors and antique furniture, or in one of the 350-year-old farmhouses on the estate, also beautifully furnished but with a more rustic feel. Wander around the walled Italian garden and discover the chapel. Then, head to the pool and take in the sweeping views of the Muserale Valley and the Mongiovino hills.Take a cooking class with the chef to learn authentic Italian cuisine and then try to match a wine to your dish with a wine tasting session. In between swimming, relaxing, spa treatments and tennis find some time to visit some of the nearby villages for a feel of Umbrian life. End your day with delicious Italian cuisine in Villa di Monte Solare’s restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa di Monte Solare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Di Monte Solare Hotel Tavernelle Di Panicale
Hotel Di Monte Solare
Di Monte Solare Hotel
Villa Di Monte Solare Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing