We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colle San Paolo, A Wonderful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
I Casali di Colle San Paolo
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Colle San Paolo, A Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We found our villa apartment to be just fantastic (il Raggio, the largest suite in the Fontanelle)! Our visit was with six other families for a Thanksgiving weekend, and we had a wonderful time taking hikes, enjoying the scenery, cooking, and playing games in the large, comfortable common room. Without hesitation, I would highly recommend the Colle San Paolo. We would stay there again (and bring guests). Our apartment (il Raggio) was spacious, clean, bright, well-decorated, and fully equiped with everything we needed. We slept six adults easily. Monica and Sabina speak fluent English and were very helpful with our reservation and settling us in. It was a beautiful getaway from Rome - so scenic and quiet. Hope you enjoy it as well!

Room Tip: Il Raggio in the Fontanella was especially bright and spacious. We enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondanceclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
132
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This property is absolutely amazing. We stayed in Le Fontanelle with 3 other families. We had 8 adults and 10 kids in total. The apartments were really well furnished, the common room was stocked with books, games, DVDs, plenty of wood for the fireplace and plenty of dishes, silverware, etc. for all of our needs. The staff was incredible - they let us all take part in the harvesting of olives (even the youngest at 1 year old took part) and then we went to the olive oil processing faciltity where they gave us a tour of the process. They also prepared a truly wonderful group dinner for us - the food was good restaurant quality and not expensive at all. All I can say is that it was truly amazing for us all!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romeexpatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Discovered this place through friends and we really loved it.

We had a family holiday with friends at La Roverella, where 2 families + kids took over the spacious but cosy main house and we + our 2 kids were in the small cottage (only 1 bedroom but a corner for the cotbed and our 4year old son was delighted to sleep in the fold-out living room couch).

Beautiful surroundings, feel truly lost in the middle of the countryside and yet all practicalities are only a short drive away: large supermarket 5-10 mins, local farmers' shop for fresh cheeses and yoghurts down the road, many picturesque villages and historical towns within a half hour drive. In the middle of lots of land/countryside so we went for many early morning walks in the forest with the kids, and some little hikes to the tops of the hills nearby for breathtaking views.

Cosy, tasteful and well maintained interiors to houses - decently equipped kitchen and they'll happily bring anything you might need that's missing. Really helpful staff in general, warm and friendly and really feel they care about their guests being happy there. They'd even left a box of toys and cartoons for our children to enjoy!

Each family has a terrace and BBQ to eat own on the evening, we also ate down by the pool under the moonlight. Pool is beautiful and relatively safe for children as it is a level down from the house with a metal fence around it - though make sure you keep the gate closed, and bigger children could jump over the fence. We were 6 adults with 6 kids from newborn to 4 and were very happy.

Boat half day trip to Isola Maggiore on Castiglione lake nearby was a highlight, with a walk around the little island. Boat trip on the little ferry great fun for the children.

Overall this place will hold a special place in our hearts and we warmly recommend it.

One small tip though: if you are not a family, check if other families are booking at the same time - we had a couple overlapping who found their afternoon poolside sun invaded by our little ones, and hadn't been expecting it. In the end we all made friends and it was fine, but could have been a problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglaston, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Umbria is a beautiful mountainous and forrested region of Italy, and no place better exemplifies all its charms than the beautiful Casali in Colle San Paolo, run by the Triulzi family. We traveled with two other couples, all had our very comfortable apartments in Fontanelle, and had a wonderful time touring, swimming, hiking, cooking on the outdoor grill and sharing delicious meals, great wines and fun evenings in the well equipped Great Room. We can't wait to find time to return with our grown children and our grandchildren, since this is not only a romantic setting, but ideally suited for families with children. Each Casali has its own beautiful pool, with incredible vistas in every direction, and wonderful hiking trails. The Triulzi sisters couldn't be more charming and helpful, providing suggested day trips, and wonderful towns, museums and restaurants to visit that we otherwise wouldn't have found. It's also easy to do day trips to many of the wonderful towns of Tuscany, making this an ideal location. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed on this amazing estate for 1 week while our 2 girls did an art camp that is hosted here every summer. We liked it so much we stayed an extra week. The apartments are amazingly furnished and equipped. Sabina and Monica are unbelievable hostesses and are super helpful - ready to arrange anything for you. I can't say enough about them. The driveway is long and gravel but so worth it once you get to the villas. It is a great location to explore Umbria and Tuscany. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottbus, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at I Casali di Colle San Paolo, Fontanelle for one week and it was really great. The house is very beautiful and the apartments have all what you need.
The view over Colle San Paolo into the valley was great and both women, who manage the estates are very nice. They care about you, if you have a problem and will solve this. For example, we came with a cabriolet, which is very low, but the way up the hill to Fontanelle was stony and gravel so we had to drive very slow, and they offered us to change into another estate, which was more below.
So I just can recommend this apartment , the house (all of them, the other two looked nice also) and the family who manage the estates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina_R1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

we stayed in 'Fontanello) for 1 week with our son (21), he's using a wheelchair.
The family advised us wich house was the best, everything was all right. We had some propositions to make it even better.
The breakfast was excellent, everythin was home made...
Everything was very clean, there was some one to clean the pool every day.
We strongly recommend 'I casali di Colle San Paolo'
Fam. Sioen - Belgium

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernelle di Panicale
0.5 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
657 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country House Montali
Country House Montali
#2 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Il Cantico della Natura
Il Cantico della Natura
#1 of 32 in Magione
918 reviews
6.0 mi away
Le More e I Gelsomini
Le More e I Gelsomini
#1 of 63 in Castiglione del Lago
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Casali di Colle San Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Casali di Colle San Paolo

Property: I Casali di Colle San Paolo
Address: Loc. Muserale 8 Colle San Paolo | Panicale, PG, 06068 Tavernelle di Panicale, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Tavernelle di Panicale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tavernelle di Panicale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three 17th-century farmhouses on an olive-oil producing estate on the hills surrounding Lake Trasimeno (Umbria). Totally immersed in nature, surrounded by old olive trees and oak woods. Beautiful, unspoilt views of countryside and rolling hills. The farmhouses are a few minutes by car one from the other, and about 10 minutes by car to the closest village. They have been divided into 9 apartments, 2 cottages and a 3-floor villa, for a total of about 55 guests. Two of them have panoramic pools and terraces with barbecue;several apartments have their own private terrace or garden equipped for eating outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Casali di Colle San Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Casali Di Colle San Paolo Italy/Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing