We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filadelfia
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our family spent one night at this lovely hotel in Filadelfia. We called up for reservation and were first told one price and then received a higher price offered in an e-mail, which we also ended up paying. The hotel is very close to the main Square and can easily be reached on foot. Like mentioned in earlier reviews it feels like being a bit in a mini castle. The hotel has been furnished with taste and rooms are spacious. Service and breakfast were average. We also had dinner at the hotel and the food was good. Despite the dining room being very hot and humid that night they did not switch on the air conditioning. There is no parking in the hotel but there are plenty of parking spaces outside on the street. All in all a nice little (overpriced) place in a beautiful old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Master1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Residenza L'Antico Borgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for the summer hollidays in July for 11 days.

We had a fantastic stay. We arrived in the afternoon (in siesta), but immediately there was someone available to check us in. We were offered a glass of juice.
Our room was a room outside the hotel (which means in the next street). It was a small house with on the ground floor the bathroom and a sitting area. On the upper floor there was the bedroom and a small terrace. Parking was available in front of the door.
The room was certainly big enough and very charming.
The beakfast was every morning very rich with everytthing you could wish for and even more (they even served pizza in the morning).

We had a lovely stay in an hotel that gives you a warm family-feeling.

Filadelfia itself is a small, but lovely town, a bit uphill, which makes it ideal talking about temperature.

Would recommand this hotel to anyone, just make sure you rent a car.

Room Tip: ask for a room outside the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in February for 4 days and loved our experience of being immersed in a real Italian hilltop village. The hotel was like a mini castle and had a great atmosphere. The nights were so quiet we slept really well and woke in the morning to the sound of bells and birdsong. We thoroughly enjoyed the plentiful continental breakfast with fresh croissants and cappuccinos, fruit and cereals. In the evenings we spent time in the snug reception lounge next to the logburning stove.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 with delightful views from a round window over the rooftops to the sea in the dist...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windsormiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When our 5 were traveling around southern Italy we stopped and stayed in two rooms here in Filadelfia. I thought my husband would love it since he's from just outside Phila, Pa. What a nice place. We loved our stay here and were so happy to have friendly, helpful staff. They made us a delicious lunch and wow, just walking through the place was a pleasure. What a lovely little town. We only stayed one night on our way from Tropea to the airport which was perfect distance for a easy arrival for our flights. Thank you to everyone there!

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay, not too far from the airport. Wonderful hidden gem!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovinLifesJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

During a recent tour of Italy, my wife and I added three extra days in the Calabria region to visit the area in and around where my father was born (Maida, Italy). Being from the Philadelphia region of Pennsylvania I thought it would be interesting to stay Filadelfia, Italy while we explored. I came across the Residenza L'Antico Borgo Hotel on the internet and took a chance. In a word WOW. This is a GREAT place to stay and even better make new friends and become family members.

Go on their web site and see the photos. THEY DON'T DO JUSTICE!!! The decor is fabulous. With every turn, there is more and more to see. Lobby, breakfast room, dining room and guest quarters are terrific. Equally great is the food served. Breakfast is varied and fresh. Dinners were out of this world good. Portions, quality and service is second to none. Price is very reasonable and I can say we were more than pleased to dine at the hotel each night.

Now to the staff. Hotel manager Francesco was a real pleasure and I count him as a family member. We met his brother (don't remember his name) on our last night and and I felt truly among long lost family. These brothers are genuine and caring. I can't say enough how welcomed we were made to feel. The only thing disappointing about our stay was having to leave.

In every aspect, this is a GREAT place to stay and become family. If you're traveling to the region I cannot imagine finding a more warm, welcoming place to call a temporary home. Although satisfied with visiting the hometown of my father and his family, I'm sure I'll be longing for quite some time for a return visit to the charming village of Filadelfia and even more so to Residenza L'Antico Borgo Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent one week before in a terrible hotel. This hotel now was what we expected. It is in an old house in a small city (15 min to sea by car). Rooms were clean and silent - at least in September. We were living at the upper floor. I heard the rooms located lower are not as nice. The best was the restaurant (we had half-board) - typical Italian food and an excellent ambient. Parking you can find easily in the streets around. Main square with some coffee shops is nearby. What we feel was missing - a veranda to sit there in the evening. This possible in the reception hall but there people were smoking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper floors
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lutz-WD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I found this hotel through Tripadvisor and the other reviewers were correct, it is a lovely quiet hotel 200mtrs off of the main street. The centre of the hotel is the reception and dining room with the bedrooms off in all directions, apart from the dining room you felt as if you had entered someones home. The staff were helpful and efficient but also creating a relaxed atmosphere, we felt at home straight away. The breakfast was to die for, whilst keeping all of the simple elements of a continental breakfast, every morning was different and fresh. To get the most out of staying here you really do need to hire a car. The hotel can arrange transport to and from the station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filadelfia
17.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#3 of 4 in Catanzaro Lido
224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Gullo
Hotel Gullo
#1 of 2 in Acconia
222 reviews
13.1 mi away
Mirabeau Park Hotel
Mirabeau Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gasperina
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#1 of 13 in Parghelia
474 reviews
22.7 mi away
Tropis Hotel
Tropis Hotel
#4 of 21 in Tropea
375 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Mimosa
La Mimosa
#8 of 10 in Lamezia Terme
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza L'Antico Borgo

Address: Via G.A. Vallone 15, 89814 Filadelfia, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Filadelfia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Filadelfia
Price Range: $46 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza L'Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is an exclusive meeting point for every important occasion, in a smart atmosphere of elegance and nicety which underlines and enriches every event and holiday. Historical traditions respect and owners authenticity make this place unique. You can spend your holidays in a beautiful place, absorbed in a landscape which merges sea and mountains, with vast amusement opportunities, peace and entertainment. You can enjoy naturalist excursions in the surroundings, or cultural visits of absolute interest to Castelmonardo ruins and Serra San Bruno Carthusian monastery, along with wine and food tours discovering a region distinguished by its history and charm. Top quality services make particularly tempting various sport activities: trekking, mountain bike, trips and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residenza L'Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza L'Antico Borgo Italy/Filadelfia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing