We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude”
Review of The Old Quay Inn

The Old Quay Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devoran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Quay Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Devoran B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited 29/8/13, had fun parking but that's normal here in Cornwall so no worries for that! Place seemed clean and tidy, loos could have been better. No one at the bar so wandered out to beer garden to get a table as was intending to order food. Went back to bar and asked what strength the draught cider was. Barman's indifferent response, 'well I've no idea', when I asked again I got the same response only with attitude as if I was being unreasonable! It's not as if I was holding up a queue, no one was waiting. Eventually he plucked a figure out of the and said '6% I guess'. We decided not to eat there and left. The whole impression was that we were irrelevant and an irritation for asking a question.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank lavillastrangiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for The Old Quay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We decided to eat here as a treat on our last night of our holidays, and seriously wish we hadn't bothered.

From the beginning we were made to feel like outsiders, we were advised we would have a "very long wait" for food as they were "extremely busy". Granted there were a few tables but no more than 20 customers at the most.

Our order was taken, then an hour and a half later our starters arrived (45 mins after a bowl of olives being thrown our way - for us to "be going on with".

Our main course arrived and was distinctly average, our sons burger was dry and very unpleasant tasting. My husbands main course was dry and had clearly been sat under the kitchen lights for some time as had mine.

By this point, we were just too tired and fed up to complain and just paid the bill and left.

Clearly a local place for local people - avoid if you are from out of town!

One last point - dogs in the dining room? No!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch during a coast to coast ride with visiting relatives & small children (Friday). Almost empty. Limited but very tasty/ imaginative menu options including children's. couple of good ale selections. Rear terrace garden not particularly inviting but looks like it could be work in progress. Very friendly & accommodating staff. Beautiful location. All in all well worth seeking out & not just if you're on the coast to coast ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Patteson-Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Walked here for lunch and were really impressed, interior was lovely, plenty of seats inside or out, plenty to chose from menu, we had sandwiches, black pudding and pulled pork, really tasty.
Callerstick ice remark follow was excellent.
Drinks, nice selection of local beers, tried two, Otter and Doom Bar, both very good.
Staff really friendly and helpful, would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A change of menu has brought this pub back to be an also ran. No longer a place to be sought out. Whereas the menu used to be imaginative and interesting it is now the standard fare that is available virtually anywhere. Great shame.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Called in here for dinner...left soon after we ordered drinks. Brandy and half a beer. £9. How ridiculous. Locals all standing and sitting around the bar making it almost impossible to get any attention for drinks, menus etc. A couple left after walking in and seeing the 'arrangement' at the bar. Made to feel very uncomfortable. A pub for locals only!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frannyloustaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

In early May I had arranged to meet my wife here for lunch after a nice long walk and we were not disappointed. The pub interior was charming and the staff friendly and helpful. The lunch menu was varied and a good selection of dishes. The food was also excellent....... Definitely one to go back to!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devoran
4.0 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#3 of 4 in Truro
586 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
3.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norway Inn
Norway Inn
#1 of 2 in Perranarworthal
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Valley
The Valley
#1 of 4 in Carnon Downs
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Quay Inn

Address: Saint John's Terrace, Devoran, Feock TR3 6ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Feock > Devoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Devoran
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing