We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out!”
Review of The Old Quay Inn

The Old Quay Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Devoran
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Quaint traditional Cornish pub with a great food offering inside and outside in our stunning terrace garden. Friendly helpful service. Great selection of wines by the glass and real ales on hand pumps and craft beer. Children and pets are welcome. Cycle Hire available from the pub during opening hours.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely pub we've been to before. Strongly populated by locals but very welcoming to incomers!!
We booked for a Saturday night; we had a lovely cheerly hello and attentiveness from the bar staff, who were keen to ensure we had what we needed. The beer was perfect and the food (mussels, fish and chips, crab cakes etc) very good. Too full to have pudds!
I was sorry to see the odd negative review here but I can highly recommend this pub.

3  Thank WiltshirePhilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, Owner at The Old Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear WiltshirePhilippa

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review.

We have an amazing community in Devoran and although I am not surprised I am pleased to hear that our locals made you feel welcome! It is always easy when guests are nice themselves!

We are so proud of our staff, whom we think are all sincerely lovely happy and attentive people, I am glad you thought so too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful village pub in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited to celebrate granddaughter's birthday for Sunday lunch 6.7.2014. with 6 adults and 3 children. Shown into room with stools and uncomfortable benches that are not right for sitting on too long! The 'roast chicken' option (there was only one meat choice) was not roasted but the kind you buy in slices in a supermarket, the ribs had no bones but lots of lumps of fat and although tasty, was not how you expect ribs to be. Vegetables were plentiful and cooked nicely, bought in Yorkshire pud and roast pots I suspect. Nothing for vegetarians for the Sunday lunch and if you don't like goats cheese, there was not one dish without it for vegetarians. Very disappointing. Would not recommend or go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Nannyhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, Owner at The Old Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Nannyhilly,

There are so many things in this review that are incorrect that I feel compelled to write a response.

Our benches are too long? We have stools in a pub?

Our ribs are too meaty because you get half a side of belly pork, Chicken is bought in whole, boned and rolled and yes (hopefully) sliced in our kitchen where the Yorkshire puddings and roast potatoes are cooked ...and Oh dear! nothing for vegetarians because we don't serve a Nut Roast? there is a Heirloom Tomato Salad, Soup, Risotto and Pasta options and Drop Cakes all without Goats cheese...

I have looked at other reviews where you praise National Trust cafes - where there is a cold counter and a microwave - and you found that to be delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We visited this restaurant/pub twice while on holiday last week. Friday night fish and chips were good but we waited over half and hour for our order to arrive. Six of us dined there a few days later and they completely got our orders mixed up (again after waiting ages). The food was very mediocre not as good as it used to be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, Owner at The Old Quay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

On a busy Friday night I don't feel it unacceptable to wait half an hour for food cooked from fresh local produce by a small team of dedicated and hard working chefs, serving 50+ customers from a small kitchen...

You came back the following evening, not a few days later. (Your poor attempt at trying to disguise who wrote this review.) I took your order and made a mistake with one order (not several). The mistake was made as on this particular evening we had similar dishes on our main menu and daily specials menu, I apologised to your host and the mistake was rectified immediately.

I do thank you for your review and hope that next time you will be served better food and receive better service else where.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

A beautiful setting near the creek side in Devoran. we opted for the terrace garden at the back of the pub, the top table still getting the sun in the evening. The front of house was very good, friendly and helpful and the menu looked inviting two of us tried the lamb which was dull and disappointing and our partners tried the fish and chips, only the fish was very dry, so we were disappointed, which was a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice food pub food , welcome to dogs in all areas, Good beer. Pleasant spot. all in all worth a visit if you are in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Panic1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Quay Inn also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 
Frogpool, Truro District
 

Been to The Old Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing