We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant

What a fantastic experience! Loved every minute from helping to set up balloon to putting it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sjr666
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic experience

Bought for us as a special present we eventually had our flight yesterday afternoon from... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
MyraW645
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 613 reviews
  
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveler rating
573
20
6
3
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
573
20
6
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ground crew weather conditions birthday present memory stick well worth the wait bucket list amazing experience safe hands perfect weather pilot jon hot air peak district wonderful trip great company scared of heights launch site british weather
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fantastic experience! Loved every minute from helping to set up balloon to putting it away!..
Jon, who was our pilot was very informative, and very experienced.
I had this as a 50th birthday present, I'm nearly 53, what with weather problems then health problems it took this long to get to fly, unfortunately if left it too long and had to pay full price again, that was the only downfall, but my fault,

Thank sjr666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bought for us as a special present we eventually had our flight yesterday afternoon from Tissington, Derbyshire. It was fantastic - very smooth take off and landing. It was a wonderful, memorable experience. That there were 2 balloons flying added to the experience and the photos. Andy was happy to answer all questions and told us where we were flying over. Gliding over the country was soooo good. Be prepared to try a few times - the English weather doesn't always co-operate with the restrictions of balloon flying. You need to be able to climb in and out the basket but there are footholes in the side to help. Would highly recommend this even to those with apprehensions. Thanks to all involved in making this so enjoyable.

Thank MyraW645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had our flight this morning. What an awesome bunch. It was our 3rd attempt at flying, weather can't be controlled so you have to accept it might take a few days before you can actually go, but it's well worth the wait.
Wasnt at all what I expected. A gentle float through the air, wasn't scary in the slightest although you do go fairly high.
The team is so so friendly we had a little issue with our Satnav closer to the take off and the team was good enough to collect us in their 4x4.
They're happy to answer all the questions you want, and it's a pleasure to listen to their stories.
Oddly enough even the packing up of the balloon is a fun experience with everyone pitching in to pack it up and get to know each other make for a really nice team experience.
Thanks Jon and team.

1  Thank Lad-LeatherJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Brought for us as a Christmas present, flight for two, and after being cancelled numerous times due to weather, we finally did it !! Amazing experiance, Andy was a great pilot, and made us feel releaxed from the off - as I am scared of heights !. Pete was great as support. Take off & landing was smooth, flying towards the setting sun was wonderful. From start to finish it will be a memory that will stay with us both. Thankyou to Andy, Pete, and the office ..PS Pete showed us his skills of cross country running, and thanks Andy, as yes, we did see the space station the following night.

1  Thank rodtracyjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

We treated ourselves to this balloon ride for our Silver Wedding and it totally lived up to the occasion. It was a beautiful evening and the trip from Tissington to Ashbourne was fantastic. Andy the pilot and the rest of the team were totally professional throughout, whilst providing interesting information and some humour too. We were lucky to get airborne at the second attempt. Thoroughly recommend it.

1  Thank 544spb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Bought as part of my birthday present we were worried we wouldn't get a clear enough day - out pilot was very knowledgeable about the area and what we were seeing. It was very serene as we floated over Derbyshire and we loved it.

Thank Dore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

A wonderful experience all round. Jon was a great pilot and it was a beautiful day. Landing was so soft as to be imperceptible and the crew did a sterling job. Top notch. If you've ever thought about going up in a balloon, this is as good as it gets. Do it!

Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Very good all round. Excellent organisation and very competant pilot -always good lol. Cannot fault and would definatley recommend. Pilot gave commentary as to landmarks . We also had a great landing

Thank cannockchris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

The whole experience was amazing, from the flight briefing to putting the balloon away after a very gentle, upright landing

Thank D5285TQcolinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

I travelled as part of a party of five on 6th September. We checked the forecast for the night before which was on the margins of wind speed (6- 9mph forecast, 8mph the maximum flying speed) but rang the hotline at 10pm as instructed and was told it was on. It was our first attempt at a launch and we were able to fly at the first attempt, our plans unthwarted by the weather.

The day dawned bright, clear skies, very light wind, no rain clouds – Wickers’ forecast was better than ours!

The instructions to the launch site at Shugborough were clear and easy to follow. Chief Pilot Jon Rudin was affable and knowledgeable, and a faultless hour and a bit long flight, at altitudes up to a thousand feet, in perfect conditions, followed. We landed with the softness of a butterfly on a daffodil petal in a farmer’s field. The support transport team were almost immediately on scene.

The sixteen passengers were pleased to help Jon pack up the balloon which took around 15 minutes, before the half an hour ride back to Shugborough where our cars were.

Jon is the owner of the business. His professionalism and ability were apparent throughout. He likes ballooning and sharing his passion for flying with his passengers imparting a wealth of information during the flight. The business is family owned and run. They care.

I highly recommend Wickers World Balloon flights, and would happily fly with them again.

Thank Glongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews