We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and very professionally-run family hotel”
Review of Vigla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vigla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We really loved staying on Amorgos for its wild beauty, and the Vigla made a perfect base for us. The family could not have been more helpful and we would thouroughly recommend this delightful hotel situated in Tholaria, one of the most characterful villages on the island. Their minibus provided an excellent service for collection and drop off to/from the ferry, and their local knowledge was invaluable. Walking opportunities abound, but if a car is needed, the staff can arrange one at a very good price. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardsullivan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Vigla Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 301 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Family run. Mom's cooking is great. The daughters run the desk and the restaurant. Dad sets up breakfast and shuttled us all over the island. We felt like part of the family! Amorgos has great hiking, beautiful villages, and quiet beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The words are not enough to describe the feelings you get after a visit to Amorgos. As regards the Vigla hotel, I consider is one of the best hotels on the island. It is very near the port of Aigiali, the view from the restaurant terrace is unique and probably the best on the island. The restaurant of course except nice view, always offers delicious traditional dishes. The rooms are always clean and tidy, in which you can relax for the hours you are not exploring the island or not enjoying the sweets of Mrs. Irene to the pool. As for the people ... is what we call "smile is contagious ...". Making you feel like you're home. I hope you are always good and always offers us this accommodation .. and what else of course ... I hope to see you & this summer again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

first of all nice and friendly people!! The rooms are in Greek style and very clean. Beautiful view, swimming pool with crystal clear water, nice cocktails and amazing food!!! Is worth to visit it.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Showthelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My girlfriend and i stayed at this mountaintop hotel located at the heart of the Village of Tholaria. The view from the Vigla Hotel is what we will remember most...each morning we would have our breakfast in the lovely dinning area of the Hotel Vigla which overlooks Aigiali and nearly half the island. The price was more than reasonable and i would recommend this hotel to everyone...Gerard Baron of Biarritz

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed in the Vigla Hotel this past September. This being our second visit to Amorgos, we knew exactly where to stay. My wife and our little boy stayed in the port of Aigiali the previous year and following many excursions we discovered Tholaria and in particular The Vigla Hotel. No more than ten minutes from Aigiali, Tholaria is the cosiest of the villages in Amorgos. The view from the dinning area is unreal, probably the best view in all of Amorgos. This mostly family run establishments is one of the most profesionally run hotels in all of the Cyclades. The breakfast buffet was just right. Some of the elderly locals actually get around by donkey in Tholaria. A rarity in the cyclades these days. The fresh fish soup served by the Viglas' restaurant is on of the best i've ever had. The new swimming pool is also an attraction, especially for the little ones. Also plenty of free parking ...We recommend Vigla Hotel without any hesitation for a family or for a couple will be back soon Vigla!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the first floor....was really convinient.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed here with my two daughters for 4 nights in August, we had a lovely time. The view from the restaurant is amazing, the hosts made us feel at home straight away and throughout our stay. The bedroom was very clean and we had a nice balcony. The swimming pool was great after walking from our doorstep to neighbouring villages and beaches. And the village of Tholaria is really charming: at the end of the road, so extremely quiet in terms of traffic, but at the same time with a great atmosphere at sunset with its few cafes and restaurants and beautiful painted streets.

We recommend the Vigla and Tholaria enthousiastically and can't wait to go back this year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholaria
0.8 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
675 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
96 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Landeris Hotel
Landeris Hotel
#11 of 12 in Amorgos
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#5 of 12 in Amorgos
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Holiday Club
Atlantida Holiday Club
#12 of 15 in Akrotiri
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigla Hotel

Address: Tholaria 840 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Tholaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Price Range: $79 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vigla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigla Hotel is situated at the traditional village Tholaria, overlooking the bay of Aegiali and the mountainous landscapes. It is perched at a high altitude (170 meters high), offering incomparable views to the guests. From above, you are invited to indulge in gazing down upon the magnificent view of the port of Aegiali, the fierce beauty of Kroukelos, the eye catching village of Lagada as the white little houses spread like a veil on the mountainside and the first houses of Tholaria rising from above like white pearls, with the church of Agioi Anargyroi standing out like a proper jewel.  From the back side of the hotel, the view looks like a painting that has come out of the bold imagination of some talented artist. Breathtaking views to the enchanting ancient Aegiali on Mount Vigla, are standing proud guard for centuries. On one of the hills, the beautiful chapel of St. Dimitrios is perched, soothing the soul and forming the absolute serenity, as the sun goes down and beautiful colors overwhelm the sky and the hills. You will need just a few minutes’ drive from the port of Aegiali to reach Tholaria. If you wish to walk, it will take you about 30 minutes on foot from the old path. Besides the port of Aegiali, Vigla Hotel offers easy and prompt access to Katapola and Chora, the capital of the island. From the hotel, you can take the bus and reach all these destinations in minutes. If you have your own vehicle, ample parking space is offered outside the hotel and facilitates your stay.  Combining panoramic views to the Aegean and the stunning mountainous landscapes with smooth access to all the sights and attractions of the island, Vigla Hotel welcomes you to Amorgos for unique holidays in Greece! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vigla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigla Hotel Amorgos, Greece - Tholaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing