We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... I want to reveal a secret”
Review of Vigla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vigla Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“... I want to reveal a secret”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is, for sure, the best location in Amorgos: I have traveled around Cyclades and in Amorgos for years, so that I can affirm it with confidence.
The place is beautiful: located in the square of the village of Tholaria, you have the opportunity to feel yourself as an inhabitant of the village and, at the same moment, you are in a very very comfortable hotel !
The Family that runs Vigla Hotel is extremely nice, and they all want you to spend relaxing and happy days there.
There is a big veranda (with a stylish swimming pool) with a stunning view of the sea, of Aegiali bay, and of the countryside … you can have your breakfast there, or you can have a drink near the swimming pool, or you can have a coffee just sitting in the veranda … and last -but not the least- Irini is a great cook … she makes delicious greek dishes, in a still really genuine manner, that you cannot miss … (ciao... Luca)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucaFinocchiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    75
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
178
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The owners of this hotel want their guests to have a great experience. They are helpful to a fault and so friendly. We were there with a hiking group and found the location to be a great place from which to explore this end of the island, ending a lovely morning hike with lunch at a cafe at a neighboring village and a swim in the sea at a protected beach. The dinners at the hotel were excellent. The village of Tholaria is literally outside the door. Waking up to the braying of donkeys is pretty magical! They are still a means of transportation! Rooms and bathrooms are comfortable and clean. They have a large terrace with a gorgeous view of the hillsides and neighboring towns and a very nice pool if the sea does not appeal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel located in a great location with nice view and great atmosphere. The staff is kind, hospitable and helpful. Spacious and very clean rooms. Excellent breakfast with traditional local products. Hope stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiosZachos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently was on a hiking trip in the Cyclades and my group stayed at this wonderful hotel. The family who runs the hotel are warm, friendly, gracious and most helpful. Their van picked us up from the ferry and drove us directly to the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and have a refrigerator, hair dryers, room safe, AC, TV, and a terrace or balcony with views to die for. The property is so inviting you just want to hang out all day around the pool looking at the amazing views while being served great food and any type of drink you can imagine. They accomodate vegetarians with no problem at all. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak English fluently. The location is perfect. One can walk out the door to hike on a lovely trail; walk into the tiny town, walk (a ways down the road) to a lovely beach. Another thing I loved about the location is that the hotel is in the midst of a small town so in the morning you can watch the town waking up from your terrace - watch the farmers bringing their donkeys to the fields, watch the chickens being fed, occasionally hear the bells of the goats out grazing . It is a perfect spot on this quiet, scenic island of Amorgos. From my room I could see the sea, the town of Langada, the hills spotted with small white chapels and views of life in Amorgos. If one visits on their on, a car would be recommended as the distance between towns is fairly significant.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony or terrace looking away from the town or alternatively on a higher floor provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

First if all, Amorgos is a very nice island and the hotel is located in a village called "Tholaria". The village is very nice and a lot of people visit it for dinner and drink. Since there are a lot of distances to make iin the island it would be useful ta have a car. About the hotel:
The positives are the following:
- Very good location. We had a perfect view from our room. Keep in mind that not all rooms have so nice view, so it would be good to ask for one.
- Very good service. It is family business and they are very polite
- The breakfast was very good with a lot of local products and very well cooked from the mother
- clean rooms

The only complaints that I would refer to are that since our romm was over the ktchen we could hear some noises from threre that were very annoying and also the rooms need renovation. (old furnitures, small beds but at least they had new mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Franke and I stumbled in her having walked from the Port to Laghada then Tholaria, a lovely but strenous walk in the hot sun. The waitress greeted us eagerly seeing us hot from out walk and immediately served us a jug of cold water. I think they have seen walkers such as us before. Deciding to have a bit to eat they served some fantastic Amorgian fava beans and an absolutely delicious and hearty rabbit stew. The view from the terrace is superb. If you stayed here I think you would want a car (driving on Amorgos looks easier than most Greek islands).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saxonshore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Vigla for four nights in July. We didn't spend much time in it, but our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the deck, which provides a spectacular, sweeping view of the valley that runs between Tholaria and Lagkada. You can see clear down to the harbor. The whole valley turns pink at sunset. It is truly a treat to sit and watch the sunset with a drink on their deck.

We ate dinner at the Hotel Vigla every night, and the food was delicious. The hotel is family owned and operated, and we enjoyed the hospitality of Stefano, Irini, and their two daughters very much. We visited several islands during our trip, and Amorgos was our favorite. The Hotel Vigla was a great base from which to explore the island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraFromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tholaria
0.8 mi away
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
Aegialis Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Aegiali
650 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquapetra Hotel
Aquapetra Hotel
#4 of 12 in Amorgos
90 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Minoa
Hotel Minoa
#1 of 1 in Katapola
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gryspo's Hotel
Gryspo's Hotel
#6 of 12 in Amorgos
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Holiday Club
Atlantida Holiday Club
#12 of 15 in Akrotiri
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yperia Hotel
Yperia Hotel
#3 of 41 in Amorgos
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vigla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigla Hotel

Property: Vigla Hotel
Address: Tholaria 840 08, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Amorgos > Tholaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tholaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vigla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigla Hotel is situated at the traditional village Tholaria, overlooking the bay of Aegiali and the mountainous landscapes. It is perched at a high altitude (170 meters high), offering incomparable views to the guests. From above, you are invited to indulge in gazing down upon the magnificent view of the port of Aegiali, the fierce beauty of Kroukelos, the eye catching village of Lagada as the white little houses spread like a veil on the mountainside and the first houses of Tholaria rising from above like white pearls, with the church of Agioi Anargyroi standing out like a proper jewel.  From the back side of the hotel, the view looks like a painting that has come out of the bold imagination of some talented artist. Breathtaking views to the enchanting ancient Aegiali on Mount Vigla, are standing proud guard for centuries. On one of the hills, the beautiful chapel of St. Dimitrios is perched, soothing the soul and forming the absolute serenity, as the sun goes down and beautiful colors overwhelm the sky and the hills. You will need just a few minutes’ drive from the port of Aegiali to reach Tholaria. If you wish to walk, it will take you about 30 minutes on foot from the old path. Besides the port of Aegiali, Vigla Hotel offers easy and prompt access to Katapola and Chora, the capital of the island. From the hotel, you can take the bus and reach all these destinations in minutes. If you have your own vehicle, ample parking space is offered outside the hotel and facilitates your stay.  Combining panoramic views to the Aegean and the stunning mountainous landscapes with smooth access to all the sights and attractions of the island, Vigla Hotel welcomes you to Amorgos for unique holidays in Greece! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Agoda so you can book your Vigla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigla Hotel Amorgos, Greece - Tholaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing