We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good”
Review of Rachel's

Rachel's
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am till 3.30pm until further notice. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had to review this little place on TA. We are local and so Rachel's is a 20 minute stroll from us. This is one of the best seafood places that I have been to and I have lived and travelled all over the world. Prices are between £6-£8 for a main dish - our favourites are the Bajan Fish Curry (100% authentic) or the Prawns, Mussels and Scallops in a honey, black pepper and lemon sauce with a dash cream served with chunky brown bread to mop up the juices. Rachel's is by the sea and this little kiosk does the local fish justice. The fish served, is always fresh like it's just been plucked from the sea. And if you fancy a glass of cold white wine, the house white is palatable. Rachel's has its own seating, but being a kiosk it's really a summer or cold sunny day kind of place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donegrafftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    89
    15
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have recently returned from our holiday in West Bay, we stayed in the apartments opposite this small but very popular restaurant and after reading the reviews it had, we tried and ended up having quite a few meals from there during our stay. The meals we had were excellent, the seafood platters were very impressive and very good value for money. Nothing was to much trouble for the owners and staff and they had no problem with adapting the orders for us, we were even able to order food to take back to the apartment, we shall certainly be eating there again when we return to West Bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jag021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had three amazing meals here while we were on holiday in West Bay. The Fish and Chips were lovely and the Fish Stew was the best that I have ever had. The chips were so tasty and crispy and were also excellent. An added bonus to have a glass of beer or wine with your meal and lovely views over the harbour. Very friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh fish platter”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was very good value for money and lots of fish. Local caught fish used. Did get a bone in the cod though. portions for children ok.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Was very suprised by waht this small beach side hut produced. There was an extensive menu and I was dubious as to what we would get but the food was amazing better than some restaurants I have been too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sigourney1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rachel's also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 

Been to Rachel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing