We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of The Tea Caddy

The Tea Caddy
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in West Bay
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: We are a small take-away food kiosk in West Bay Dorset. Occasionally referred to as Broadchurch.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small take-away food kiosk in West Bay Dorset. Occasionally referred to as Broadchurch.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped off here because I had read a review on the internet that said it served the best fish & chips around the bay. Was really impressed. I had a standard size Cod & Chips and had masses, God knows how much you get if you go for large. The fish was cooked in a really nice batter and the chips were lovely and dry, not at all greasy.

Definitely worth a take away from here if you are passing and feel peckish.

Price is also reasonable, too. £11.50 for two cod & chips, a separate portion of chips plus a coke.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited The Tea Caddy last week, tasty fish in a light crispy batter with chips, and a cheese burger of monumental proportions! friendly efficient service - couldn't be better. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gadfly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dirty, oily and reheated. Need I say more. Plenty of other options in West Bay so they should really clean up their act if they want to compete.

1  Thank jrandgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinandValda, Owner at The Tea Caddy, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Hm. Well this is disappointing. A little difficult to respond as we don't know what was apparently "dirty, oily, reheated" and if whatever it was, was that bad, why accept it in the first place or why not bring it back so that we could put things right at the time? Dirty? We have a daily and weekly cleaning schedule for the kiosk which we stick to. The packaging is clean and the food is prepared according to environmental health guidelines and requirements. Reheated? About 97% of our food is cooked fresh to order and pre-cooked food is held in a hot cabinet at the appropriate temperature. Our aim is to provide good, well prepared, relatively inexpensive food. During the course of the summer we deal with a large number of customers and, with the best will in the world, it's unfortunate that the odd mistake may happen. We can only conclude therefore that this was either a rather poor blip on our part for which we apologize unreservedly, you're mistaken about the kiosk you used. (that's happened before), or you have over-reacted or have your own agenda. Whatever - our numerous regular customers can't all be wrong!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Had the best fish and chips ever. Friendly service and great food, couldn't fault it

Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank helenmb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinandValda, Owner at The Tea Caddy, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. Hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in the bay for a week and each time we passed the Tea Caddy there was a queue even with several other options adjacent to them.

So as the sea was near and as they say, we ‘dipped our toes’ we indulged, well I did, in large fish & chips, delightful batter, light and nearly like tempura. Chips were of the readymade frozen variety but were well cooked.

My wife had crab cakes and chips that also went down well.

We sat facing the bay and enjoyed basking in the early evening sun whilst eating them.

The only improvement could have been a better chip fork than the tiny little wooden ones that I thought had died a death.

Overall, excellent food from a tiny kiosk.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robinia56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinandValda, Owner at The Tea Caddy, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for your review. A lot of people like to use fingers but if you visit us again just ask and we'll be happy to supply a knife and fork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tea Caddy also viewed

 

Been to The Tea Caddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing