We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shielded from elements”
Review of Ellipse - CLOSED

Ellipse
Cuisines: Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New for 2014 we have built a brand new bar, repainted and decorated in a way which reflects the sea and our outside surroundings. To match our change we have now got a bigger selection of spirits, better wines and beers and cider on draught. Our offerings include: - Pizza, Salads, Baguettes, Ploughmans lunch, Hot dog (Served 12pm - 5.00pm Monday to Saturday. 12pm- 3.30Pm on Sunday) - Draught alcoholic drinks: Thatchers gold, Amstel Larger. Birra Moretti and Trelawny real ale. - Cocktails and a wide range of spirits - Coffee made to perfection just as you like it - Hot Chocolate, made with our mouth watering chocolate machine, the best you will find. Also available are espresso cups of pure chocolate - if you think you can handle it! - A large range of fair trade clipper teas - Soft drinks - Wine, spirits, Bottle beer and bottled cider - Freshly baked pastries and croissants
Bridport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shielded from elements”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great coffee/hot chocolate and pastry plus gluten free cake, just what's needed on a blustery day by the sea. The cafe is spacious.
I didn't like the wait for the loo!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubyBridport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steveyeo, Owner at Ellipse, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Ruby
Thank you for your review
Sorry you didn't like the wait for the loo, we have two toilets, ladies and gents and unfortunately we do get non customers coming in using them from time to time, which ads to the load.
Unfortunately we do not have any control over who uses them and when, so waiting for the loo is out of our control.
They are kept very clean and tidy at all times though
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    46
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is a gem. I wish I could keep it a secret as its becoming more popular and it is always full. Although I haven't eaten food here this is the best ever place for its hot chocolate. The service and staff are excellent too. It also welcomes well behaved dogs which is a big bonus as there are lots of dog walkers around this beautiful area. I'm very lucky in that we live locally so can pop in frequently. Keep up the good work. Excellent excellent excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Lizi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
“Because you're worth it!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The best drinking chocolate in the world, and a lovely man that owns it. It's worth going there because your worth it!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top spot on a sunny day at the Bay”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lunched at this delightful bistro for the first time yesterday. Excellent staff, great atmosphere, delicious food and a super view of the bay. Will definitely return soon to sample further delights

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've visited the Cafe a few times and the coffee and chocolate are excellent, first time I'd been in for a proper lunch was today and the food was very good, my friend had fishcakes and she thought they were the best, came with a nice salad and big crispy potato wedges, my Mushroom Rissoto rice was perfect. The staff were attentive, all in all a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellipse also viewed

West Bay, Bridport
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing