We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Watch House Cafe

Watch House Cafe
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Watch House Café is a breezy, easy going café in the heart of West Bay on the stunning Jurrasic Coast in Dorset, The café operates daily for breakfast and lunch, 7 days a week . The menu is continually changing to suit seasons and local availability with a large emphasis on seafood. The family orientated establishment has a relaxed atmosphere, great food, friendly staff all within close proximity of West Bay's greatest attractions, also one of the filming locations for the popular TV series, Broadchurch! Please check our website for up to date opening times as these may vary during spring and summer season.
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
272 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“great find on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Fab place on the beach.
Wonderful breckies and coffee, lunch choices varied and interesting.
Have been a couple of times for an excellent breckie, hubby for a full english and myself for eggs benedict or with eggs lightly scrambled with smoked salmon, delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    176
    57
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value - and on a beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have had lunch at the Watch House twice having chanced upon it when arriving in West Bay for a week's holiday. Nice informal atmosphere in the cafe which overlooks the beach. We have had sandwiches (prawn and ham- both generous in size, tasty and well presented) and main courses. There is a daily special of fish - unusual varieties which are more sustainable. I had grey mullet which was perfectly cooked. My wife had mussels - large portion and very tasty and under £10! Definitely not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a totally delicious breakfast of 'Eggs Royalle' ...scrummy. What a treat on a sunny Saturday morning! I would really recommend a visit to this friendly relaxed cafe that serves wonderful food in a stunning location. The atmosphere is relaxed but they obviously are serious about the standard of food quality, everything was perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The beach front gourmet cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

A glorious November Sunday of sunshine and beach walking with friends and dogs. Having found this cafe on the shingle beach, which had recently been taken over and modernised we decided to have some lunch. What a treat! A great menu with mussels, seafood broth, enormous fish and chips and a real woodburning pizza oven where you watch the pizza being made. I went for the pizza with lobster, crayfish, smoked salmon and mozzarella cheese, it was excellent. The staff are young and friendly, and they have some outside seating so you can walk in right off the beach. It reminded me of the beach restaurants on Pampalonne beach near St Tropez, but here I was in Dorset in November.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank melrorkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, excellent menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

so relaxed it was a pleasure to stop off and rest at the end of our long walk. The staff were really happy and looked after us very well. excellent menu resonably priced, good ingredients used.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watch House Cafe also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to Watch House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing