We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Nearby Hotels
Madden's on Gull Lake(East Gull Lake)(Great Value!)
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Baxter/brainerd Area(Baxter)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
205
123
66
40
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
123
66
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolfamily reunionping ponggolf tripice skatingpontoon ridesmarina stafflabor day weekendbit datedhorse drawn wagon ridebear trapbreakfast buffetmain buildingice fishingdirty dancingbrainerd areagreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 468 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Some of the furniture may be dated but the rooms and grounds were very clean. Staff went out of their way to make our stay a good one. The food was very good. Plenty of activities to keep everyone happy.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78Camaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

You can tell this place used to be nice - great location on a very nice lake. Unfortunately, they don't seem to be reinvesting their profits in maintenance.

For example;
- In our cabin (111), the smoke detector expired in 1999, the doors all stick so bad you have to use your shoulder to open them, the entire cabin is filthy (spider webs, nasty carpet, air vents with crud that looks like its been there since 1980, etc .
- The indoor "heated" pool is between 70-80 degrees and too cold for kids to swim long.
-The kids playground is dangerous because screws have rusted away completely and a large section almost fell on my kid's head (I had to forbid them from playing on it).

The docks are well maintained and we had a great experience at the marina renting a pontoon and ski boat (although its a bit overpriced).

I'd come back only if it was a real bargain. The accommodations are one step above roughing it out in the boundary waters. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWanderingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were there in the off season, so we had more room to play at the pool (it was still busy enough). Has a classic lake resort feel. The decor is a bit dated but reminds me of my fun times at the lake growing up in the 70s and 80s. Restaurant makes good breakfasts, and there's convenient amenities, shopping, and more lakes to play on within a 10 minute drive. We decided to stay an extra night, and I went to the front desk and they offered a nice deal.

Room Tip: Noisy by the pool, but it was worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 nights in the shoreview suite. Spacious and well maintained. Due to low occupancy they closed the casual dining one night. We were disappointed in that because they were forcing guests to the more expensive restaurant. We went off site to eat that night. Swimming pools were nice, fun planned activities for kids and families. We don't golf, we chose Cragun's for price, location and fishing and it was all good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famfun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes some might say the resort is dated but to me it adds to the nostalgia. From the reservations and recommendations to the welcome reception and even check out, everyone was more that helpful and courteous. Dutch himself even made the rounds to introduce himself and say welcome and thank you. You won't get that in the over priced look at me and how much money we blew away resorts. Perfect facility for families with kids. Activities planned every day in and outside. Lots of options for food and beverages. Huge sand beaches, nice docks and launch. Golf of course is amazing. Spa for the ladies. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Dated yes but comfy and a wood burning fireplace for the cool nights. Definitely worth the money. Watch for specials on their website!

Room Tip: South rooms are closest to the main beach. Ask for a lower level room for better lake view. 2nd and 3rd floors are best. North side has smaller beach but better lake views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews