We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a place!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alfresco dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Alfresco dining
Boules/Pétanque pitch and barbeque area
Organic vegetable garden, guest welcome to enjoy the produce
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manot, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahMGF
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is just a beautiful place to stay. Comfy beds, fabulous pool. Quiet and well thought out with at least 5 areas to sit on your own if required. Clean and comfy bedrooms with beautiful bathrooms. Hotel standard but with a cosy feel. Nothing is too much for the owners,even supply you with slippers! There's an outside poolside shower stocked with high end toiletries for you use. All towels provided inside and outside use. The food! ...an outstanding breakfast every morning. So good we didn't eat lunch half the time. The evening meals...wow. For goodness sake eat here. It was phenomenal. For a total relax, it was fab to just sit in the outside area and enjoy the smells and taste of dinner. The beef bourguignon was something else. It is like being self catering but not having to cook. There is a lounge for client use but to be honest the garden and outside is so nice you will want to be outside. It's off the beaten track and very quiet. A real place to wind down. Many many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Thank you so much for such an amazing review, we absolutely loved having you stay. Hope to see you again some day :)
Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djacfar
Ludres, France
1 review
“Great stay.”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great stay at Margaret's and Ian's B&B in Le Couret.
We enjoyed especially the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, the superb swimming pool, the cosy bedroom and bathroom, the delicious and healthy meals and overall the helpfulness and the friendship of our hosts doing their utmost to make our stay most pleasant possible.
Thank you very much again.
Denise and Frédéric

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
Thank you for your review of Le Couret, I'm sorry I didn't actually get to meet you, but really hope you choose to come back and stay again should you ever return to the area
Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janette V
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb...definitely best B and B in France!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Total gem of a place!...fantastic hotel...pool is unbelievable...superb food and hosts are so friendly and helpful.Bikes available and hosts will cater to your needs.
Lovely relaxed place and beautiful gardens...recommended..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you so much Janette for the lovely review. We as so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will return again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph S
1 review
“Amazing hosts and location”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Outstanding hosts who made our stay so special. The food, accommodation and location were wonderful. In the spotlessly clean bedrooms there are toiletries and extra towels available. The pool is such a delight and we were able to enjoy the loungers and pool area in the sunshine.
All meals were eaten under cover outside, overlooking the beautiful garden.
I can thoroughly recommend this rural location with its lovely gardens, pool and superb hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we also enjoyed your company and hope to see you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super B & B”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our sixth time coming here and as good as ever. For the first time this year we bought our 8 month old son and the hosts were brilliant! This is the ideal location for a quiet country break. The swimming pool is refreshing, the food great and the company fun. We loved relaxing by the pool, playing a few games of boules and drinking in the evening. A must visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Hi Matthew, thank you for the excellent review. What a lovely time we had this year with you, Caroline and William, thank you for bringing him here for his first holiday, one we shall certainly remember for many reasons. We look forward to maybe seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picturesque accomodation with perfect hosts”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This bed and breakfast run by a lovely couple, Ian and Margaret, is situated in a picturesque location in rural France, in easy travelling distance from Limoges airport. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week in mid August and will certainly return as we were made to feel very welcome, slept like logs and had a delicious and filling breakfast each morning. Being rural France you do need to be prepared for the location being fairly remote. We hired a car for the week for around 250 euros and it was well used. Without a car if you want to get to supermarkets, restaurants or a decent sized town this is recommended. For a reasonable price the couple who own Le Couret did run is to the town of Confolens (around 6 km away) one night for a drink but this isn't really one of the services on offer so I wouldn't depend on it. There are 4 bicycles in the garage which we made use of and we even dragged Ian out on an 11km route that he knew one morning. There are a lot of well marked cycle routes in the area, two of which (numbers 44 and 46) run past the end of the road that the B&B is on. These offer 3 colour coded options of varying length and technicality for all abilities. We followed a blue 19km route on the number 44 set and there were also yellow 7km and Red 31km options. Route 44 starts in Manot and at the official start point of each route there is a clear map showing where each coloured route goes.

There are number of small towns within easy cycling or running distance but only the town of Manot is realistic walking distance (about 2k) and doesn't have much there. If you enjoy running, walking, cycling, kayaking or other water sports this area is ideal. Secluded with stunning scenery and small but we'll maintained roads and some great rivers and lakes nearby this is the perfect place for those who enjoy the countryside and fresh air. There are also places to visit and we also went to the Valley of the monkeys (la vallee des singes) with around 16 different species plus a petting farm and café that was 19 Euro for adults and about 8 euros for children that was about an hour drive away. There are also some man made beaches on lakes in the area that are well worth a visit and pedalos and kayaks Etc. for hire there and also on the river in Confolens. The B&B have info and leaflets on all these and more so just ask if you are interested. We could have easily filled another week with activities had we wished and providing we had transport.

So the facilities; We had the double bedroom with en-suite (including a wonderful Jacuzzi bath) and although the room isn't massive it fit the double bed, 2 3 drawer bedside tables, a large double wardrobe and 4 drawer chest of drawers/ dressing table. This was more than enough storage for a week worth of clothes and belongings and we had room to keep 1 large case and two hand luggage cases inside. The offer is there for these to be stored elsewhere if you want the extra room but we were fine. The décor is wood and a farmhouse style that fits perfectly with the building and the countryside. 2 sets of towels were provided for use and along with the bath there is an electric shower. Being upstairs the rooms are fairly low in places so care is advised in the beamed bedroom and at 6 foot 2 I had to he careful but there wasn't anything that could of been done and it did not affect the quality of the stay whatsoever. I couldn't have stood in the shower but didn't need to due to the bath and the amazing heated outside shower. I only used it to rinse my hair after a Jacuzzi. There is a fan/ heater also in the room but we didn't use it and a choice of duvet/sheets depending on preference.

The room has 2 power points and for our stay had UK adaptors in them meaning we could charge 2 devices simultaneously. There are no USB plugs but we had our own for our phones and Kindles and if we'd had double USB plugs could have charged twice as many. Once we needed to charge 3 things at once and the always accommodating Margaret kindly found us an extra but we didn't depend on this service.

Breakfast was plentiful and despite having a very healthy (some would say greedy) appetite I couldn't eat everything. Brekkie usually consisted of a choice of cereal, croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh fruit, toast, yoghurt, conserves, tea, coffee, and orange juice. My wife had perfect poached eggs for three days and we could choose some or all of the selections. If I had been still hungry I got the impression I could have asked for more but this was never required and if there is something else you desire (e.g. I asked for honey as it wasn't initially on the table but Margaret quickly fond some and I'm sure would be able to find you anything additional.) Although we had a car and originally intended to do a supermarket run this was not needed as we had the option of purchasing extras such as lunch, dinner (we had a fantastic BBC and boules evening one night with the hosts - recommended) and dinner on our arrival night was offered and gladly accepted by us) and we could purchase chilled or un-chilled beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and ice creams at bargain prices in Ian's impressive `bar` area through most days and evenings. The food prepared by Margaret was all delicious and plentiful and featured home grown and home cooked food of the highest quality. If you want some company then Ian and Margaret are happy to spend time with you and one of the highlights for us was having a few l beers in the evening and having a good chat and a laugh long into the night. Ian and Margaret are brilliant company, have some great stories to exchange and we arrived as patrons and left as friends.

Almost forgot to add - Wi-Fi is available as part of the package and was more than strong enough for my wife and I all week on our phones.

We didn't watch much TV at all except a bit of football and occasional Olympics but the TV has every channel I could think of including sports, movies and sky channels - apparently there are also European channels but I didn't really look at them.

One of my favourite features of the B&B is the 10 meter (so good for actual swimming rather than just a dip) heated (30 degrees all week) pool and this is surrounded by sun loungers in the beautiful, relaxing and well tended gardens. The experience of having a swim followed by an outside shower before brekkie each day was marvellous and a removable arched cover on the pool so swimming in cloudy weather and even rain is possible. This puts the facilities in another league for me compared with most B&B and is worth the stay alone.

Overall I couldn't fault our stay, welcoming hosts who bent over backward making sure we were happy, plenty to do and a breathtaking location and property leave us with no choice but to award 10 out of 10. If you are in the area you simply have to visit or miss out on a true gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, bar area and hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Well Robert you certainly know how to write a review, no stone unturned. Thank you for staying at B&B Le Couret we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday, we certainly enjoyed your company as did the frogs and the toads !! Thank you so much for the excellent review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia R
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine hospitalty and thoughtfulness from friendly owners.”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After our long drive, we were greeted by Margaret and Ian with the warmest of welcomes and immediately offered a choice of refreshments which were greatly appreciated.
It was an unexpected surprise to find soap, shampoos, bubble bath and other toiletries for our use in the en-suite, another example of Margaret's thoughtfulness.
Each morning, a delicious breakfast awaited us with daily variations. Margaret would always ask us if we had any particular requirements and our various requests would be met, be it for 3 or 4 minute boiled eggs !
The optional evening meal was always home cooked, with home grown produce from the garden when appropriate.The garden was a great place to relax with lots of comfortable seating and sun loungers, we also had " waiter" or "waitress" service with drinks of our choice whenever we were in the garden
Margaret and Ian are naturally friendly and hospitable, they ensured that we had every opportunity to enjoy our stay with them.Ian' s bar is a great place to have a chat over drinks and listen to interesting ( and humorous ) stories. They both have excellent local knowledge and advised us on visits to places of interest and good places to eat.
You will feel very welcome and "at home " with Margaret and Ian and I wholeheartedly recommend Le Couret for a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: All good.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank you so much for the very kind review, we always do our best to make guests welcome and enjoy their stay with us. We enjoyed your company very much, the stories and the laughter and are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing