We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cattedrale di Troia
from $53.84
More Info
from $3,200.00
More Info
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
118
22
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
22
4
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 146 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2008

The Santa Maria Assunta cathedral is the most beautiful *romanic* cathedral of Apulia (impressive the rosone), in a beautiful little town.
Unfortunately, there is nothing else around for kms...

2  Thank mediterraneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

First went to Troia 4 years ago. My husband was born there and returned after 40 years to visit family. I fell in love with it. I can't believe tourists come in and out of this small town in the provence of Foggia. But they do. There is frequent bus service from Foggia. Also worth seeing is Lucera by bus.The train (Eurostar) from Rome to Foggia is a pleasant ride. This town or Troia and the surrounding towns is for people who want to see a small rustic, lava stone street village. The ancient is there to see but it's also ecclectic and artsy.
I wouldn't say the Cathedral is the best church in Italy but it is interesting, as is the town and town folk.
The people are shy and aren't fluent in English but they do understand and are willing to speak to tourists. Tourists might be intimidated but I encourange them to speak to the locals,since they will be well received with a cautious but friendly curiosity.
The food is fantastic. Try the Osteria Bed and Breakfast. View the farm land from the walls in the Villa(Park) Summmer is the best time for nitely street fair entertainment but bear the brutal heat without air-conditioning anywhere. These townsfolk have a peculiar superstition about drafts and cold.
We purchased a small apt. for vacation because we love it so much. Even in these small towns, beware of fast, crazy drivers.
The town is safe but avoid teen hang-outs late nites at pubs and watch for stray dogs. The ancient cemetary down the hill Viale Kennedy is worth a visit. Stroll around and be Merry all over town, in and out of ancient archways and casitas that remind one of Bedrock. Yabba Dabba Doo!

7  Thank fairytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews