We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overdue Return!”
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We returned to Porth Tocyn after a break of 34 Years. We should have gone back earlier! Nothing had changed very much. Even Nick F-B, then running the hotel with his mother, now the proprietor (with wife Louise), seemed to have aged only slightly, and still retains his mischievous sense of humour. It must be the welsh sea air! The hotel is well appointed with super sea views, and is extremely comfortable in a slightly old fashioned (but not 'dusty') sort of way, yet it has broadband almost everywhere, and it is free! ( the broadband that is!!) We stayed a week and although the weather was...well Welsh, very changeable, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet, so we slept well. As it was all those years ago, the food was truly excellent. And the staff without exception, were helpful, friendly and attentive. We felt it was excellent value for money, and even the wine was reasonably priced! Even were anno domini to allow us to do so, we won't leave it so long before we next return.

Room Tip: Go for an upper room with a sea view, the view of Snowdonia across the bay is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for one night at the Porth Tocyn, with my wife. Not the first time - stayed there about a year ago, and was not disappointed then. Accomodation excellent - very clean room, and very comfortable bed. Good bath/shower, with big and very fluffy towels - brilliant. Didn't take dinner there, as we were invited out by friends, but took breakfast, which was delicious. Not cheap - but in our opinion, value for money. Friendly service throughout, which appeared genuine.

Room Tip: If you are at all physically limited, the upstairs rooms can be difficult to reach, especially with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here for 2 nights over the May bank holiday,
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main Abersoch beach but in a very quiet area there is nothing else there.
.As for the hotel, the room we had was very nice with a lovely sea view.We didn't eat in the restaurant at night as they have a no children policy.
Breakfast was all local produce tasty but very small one sausage and one rasher of bacon!
On the whole would I stop there again? No

But for a couple looking for a quiet hotel in a great setting it's nice (if you have got lot's of money!!!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simplyredBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We where told that the ' ankle biters ' , where not welcome in the evening?? Place was full FOP's and Cougars .....
Stayed for one extremely expensive round of drinks, and left as we got the feeling we where in the way...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A group of friends and I stayed at this hotel for a walking holiday. I travel regularly and it was really refreshing to stay at a local, top-quality hotel. The room I stayed in had a fantastic seaview, was well equipeed and very comfortable. Love the tea brought to your toom in the morning! Breakfast was delicious, amazing dinners and the staff were delightful. Nick, the owner, was always around monitoring quality and Justina and Siobhan were great at providing personalized service. Great location for gorgeous walks without having to get in the car. And the petit fours after dinner were amazing.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth the extra cost - mine - room 23 was spacoius and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was my first visit this year and have no doubt it won't be my last. Stunning place. Wonderful guests to sit and have a drink with after dinner. All in all it really worked for me with all credit to Nick and family. Long conversations with other guests sat by the open fires really made me understand this wonderful place. I took my mum for 3 nights and we both loved it. I would go back alone if I was stuck for a break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have been visiting this fine country house sea side hotel for close on 40 years, during which period I am pleased to report that little has changed, save that the ownership, and management has been passed to the previous owners son and his wife.
Nick Fletcher - Brewer is a legend in his own lifetime, an eccentric and highly amusing character (Basil Fawlty?).
Fawlty Towers though it is not, being very efficiently run by Nick and his wife Louise.
The Hotel is situated 10 minutes drive from the centre of Abersoch village enjoying an elevated position on a peninsular, and offers breathtaking views across the beaches and boat moorings of Abersoch, Cardigan Bay, with the Snowdonia National Park beyond forming the back drop.
Accommodation wise, this is not a Hilton nor even a Hyatt thank God!
Bedrooms are very comfortable with bathrooms adequately equipped most enjoying the said outstanding views.
The Hotel restaurant is a highlight, offering carefully chosen and prepared dishes from a menu which changes daily, mostly prepared from fresh local produce. Always served by smart, efficient, courteous and well trained staff.
Tip: If you are considering a stay drop Nick an email in advance to request a fresh Lobster from Cardigan Bay!
Before dinner, admire the amazing views from the lounge bar whilst enjoying an aperitif along with Louise's home made cheese biscuits.
After dinner, retire to the chintzy lounge furnished with antiques where the log fire enhances the atmosphere in which to enjoy coffee and home made petit four, accompanied perhaps with a fine Cognac or Port.
We just love the the whole relaxing experience and charm of this lovely hotel..
Tip.Request a room with a sea view, it's definately worth the extra charge!

Room Tip: Always request a room with a sea view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
12.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
24.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,364 reviews
13.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,527 reviews
17.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
720 reviews
13.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Tocyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing