We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”
Review of Porth Tocyn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwlchtocyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porth Tocyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed two nights in very comfortable rooms. The continental breakfast option did not exist despite being advertised. There was no bread or pastries, no cheese, meats or boiled eggs, only cereals and fruit. I was suprised and disappointed. Breakfast charges should be included in a hotel charging at this level. I also found the dining room too small with not enough room between tables. Dinner was pleasant enough but fiddled about with on square plates with all sorts of concoctions dotted about. A touch of 'Bouquet/Bucket' going on here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hkcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 195 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a 3-day break at the Porth Tocyn with our children (5 and 7 years). It was absolutely magical. The children had an excellent time in the extensive gardens, fabulous outdoor pool and were spoilt rotten at the high teas. My husband and I were able to relax throughout, enjoying a tasteful and comfortable room, and superb food and wine. We went to the quiet beach most days, which is only a five-minute walk away. I would say the owners know how to make your stay personal, special and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night mid week special at the Porth Tocyn .Having not been there before it was a lovely experience .Nick and his team made us very welcome,He does have a rather dry sense of humour but thats what it is,its certainly not rudeness unless you call a lack of fawning obsequiousness rude .Nick and all his team were always pleasant and very polite..Our room was recently refurbished and was beautiful and light with views over the bay .The weather was mixed but the hotel was always welcoming with a nice fire in the lounge ( yes even in August).
The food is sensational ,high quality and imaginative using good local ingedients ;fish and sausages to name but 2 .They do have a policy concerning young children in the dining room and I certainly welcome that.I don't want to have my dinner spoiled by children running around and demanding attention at 8 pm at night.It's an unfortunate fact that alot of parents do not seem to know how to teach their children how to behave in a civilised environment .For those that do this hotel is perfect. I would say that the hotel is family friendly ,there is a childrens play room with games and a TV and the children who were there during our stay made the most of that and seemed content and well behaved.
The rest of us enjoyed the bar and the peaceful lounge.
The hotel is set on the headland over looking Cardigan Bay and the views are stunning.The garden is extensive and the pool warm and refreshing .
It's not a cheap hotel but its not over the top and compares favourably with theTrefeddian at Aberdovey which although cheaper than the Porth Tocyn does not compare in quality of accomodation or food. We loved it ,thought it decent value and will return, no question of that .

Room Tip: sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steelman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and 22 month daughter booked this hotel because the website describes the hotel as a leader in the family market, and where children do not need to feel uncomfortable. This isn't what we experienced.
I spoke to a nice lady on the phone before we arrived and confirmed we would be having dinner in the restaurant. She asked if our little one was joining us, to which I said she would be. So we arrived at the hotel thinking we would be eating there and wouldn't need to book a restaurant elsewhere.
Our first experience of Nick, the rudest hotel owner i have met, was when we asked asking if there was a key to our room. Recognising our accents Nick commented that we weren't in Liverpool now. Completely offensive. Whether we were in Liverpool, Wales, London or Scotland I would expect a key to my room! Then we checked what was available for our daughter to eat and asked if it was still ok for to dine with us. His answer was as offensive as his first comment, saying that absolutely not as other diners wouldn't want ankle biters hanging around whilst eating. Firstly she wouldn't be crawling around and secondly I had confirmed this on the phone. But apparently only children 5 years and over we're welcome in the restaurant. Nicks suggestion was the we put her in the children's room.... Unlikely that a 22 month old would stay in there safely on her own. Or leave her in the hotel room with a monitor, which i was uncomfortable with. So all in an unpleasant stay and not the family friendly hotel that it advertises. Won't be returning or recommending to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
19  Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Popped in at Porth Tocycn for a quick lunch with wife daughter on our way home to Harlech on a miserable day in July. We ordered lunch and took the risk of sitting outside, low and behold the sun came out and we had really good food and properly chilled wine & water sitting watching the yachts sail in the distance. Well done

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owainHarlech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Beautiful location, staff very helpful and entertaining. Very accommodating for the children. Previous review mentions bad manners and loss of deposit. My father died unexpectedly this year - you should have travel insurance for these eventualities. Small businesses are struggling at present and last minute cancellations and poor reviews can destroy a business so please be careful what you post!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrWideboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This our third time visiting and booking Porth Tocyn, we stay in the family house in Abersoch and have over many years visited many of the restaurants in the area. Every time we go to this place the menu is different, exciting and full of "WOW"

My wife had Black Spotted Sea Bream with seagrass and I had Pheasant . Both meals were fabulous and the puddings were delicious.

We returned for lunch a couple of days later which was also delicious my wife had fish pie and I had welsh sausage and a very tasty mash potato. It was worth every penny.

Just to balance some of the negatives put on here , we've visited this place many times over the years and I've never found nick rude nor have we ever had a problem with our bill, nick and his staff write out each bill in agreement with what you while you are there so I fail to see how you can agree to having something you haven't had.If there's a mistake (and everyone and anyone can make a simple mistake) it should be raised there and then.

The service is extremely polite and second to none.

Room Tip: We've never stayed in a room so can't comment on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwlchtocyn
12.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
24.8 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,364 reviews
13.5 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 2 in Portmeirion
1,526 reviews
17.3 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
720 reviews
13.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth Tocyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Tocyn Hotel

Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch LL53 7BU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bwlchtocyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bwlchtocyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Porth Tocyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Porth Tocyn Hotel Bwlchtocyn
Porth Tocyn Abersoch
Porth Tocyn Hotel Abersoch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing