We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of le Bonatte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
le Bonatte
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Together with a few couples we spent a gorgeous relaxing week at Agriturismo Le Bonatte in Tuscany.
Property is equipped with pretty everything you need. It was built in the 17th century which triggers imagination (especially after having seen its old wine cellar in the basement of neighbouring building). Newer, semi detached part where we stayed, was put up around 100 years ago.
There is also a separate cottage for a couple who wants to enjoy a calm week or two on its own.
Everything is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Walls made from thick stone, the living room was always chilled regardless the outside temperature.
There is a roofed terrace in the rear where we used to sit late evenings, tasting domestic wine (fabulous) as well as staring at hundreds of amazing firefly appearing for some time and then fading away. Terrace overlooks a typical Tuscan valley and also the pool which did let us survive in high temperatures.
Sometimes we had some guests around – the pheasant couple tip toeing very close to the pool and screaming from time to time.

We experienced a lot of warm hospitality from the landlady - Gioia who was always helpful and giving pieces of advice on where to go and what to see as well as many other things.
Moreover, we tried typical Italian cuisine meals prepared by Gioia who appeared to be a fantastic professional cook.

We all felt at home indeed. I undoubtedly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrier3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous two-week family vacation in Tuscany. Le Bonatte was the perfect place for our group of 10, which ranged in age from 17 months to 73 years. The house is well furnished, spacious, comfortable, and equipped with everything one could need. The property is beautifully landscaped, and we loved overlooking the vineyards from which Le Bonatte's delicious Chianti Classico comes. The owner, Gioia, who lives next door, was extremely warm and helpful. She is such a terrific resource. And she is a wonderful cook. We had her make three dinners for us, and these meals were truly among the best we experienced on our trip. Radda is a lovely town, with a supermarket, great restaurants and shops, and perfectly situated for exploring Firenze, Siena, and the small towns of Tuscany. We loved Le Bonatte and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a Tuscan vacation with their family or friends. As an added bonus, it was much less expensive than similar properties we considered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geeyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This Agriturismo is a great spot to stay in Chianti. The property is in a peaceful location just outside the center of Radda and has great views of the surrounding countryside. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment, which was comfortable and well furnished. The owner, Gioia, is very warm and welcoming and took the time to show us her wine and olive oil production as well as tell us about the local area. You can tell she is very passionate about what she does and knowledgeable about the region. We will definitely stay here again if we make it back to Chianti.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NWtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed as 2 couples in the smaller apartment which is a stone building with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a kitchen/living area with a 2 seater couch and stone fireplace. The apartment is self catering with a full oven, and we were easily able to collect groceries from nearby Radda to feed ourselves and save a bit of money, and have the convenience of not always having to go out in search of our next meal.

Outside this apartment, there is a private terrace which gets all day sun (in May anyway), where you can sit and look down over the valley. Just around the corner of the building is the pool, and
a grassed area with sun loungers.


You do really need a car to take advantage of being in the heart of Tuscany. Florence was an easy day trip, only 1 hour away, and we followed Trip Advisor's parking advice with no problems. Make sure you visit Volpaia and eat at the restaurant next to the church. San Gimignano was only 1 hour away and well worth a visit. Lots of shopping there.

The best thing, and what set this place apart from other nice places, is the warm hospitality of the owner, Gioia. She speaks great English, is very helpful when you need her, but not intrusive, just leaving us to 'get on with it'. Upon arrival she handed us a desert she had made for us as a welcome gift, and the next day, she fed a large party of friends, and we got invited too! It was a fantastic meal and we felt privileged to be included.

This place was a perfect respite after 6 days in busy fantastic Rome. We needed to be calm and restful, and free to explore the beautiful district of Tuscany at our own pace. There is so much choice for eating, so many fantastic wines to try and vineyards to visit, but it all happens at a calm, measured, country pace. Exactly what we needed! We will recommend to all our family and friends as the perfect place to stay in Tuscany.

Oh, and the property has free WIFI. Apparently, many of the Tuscan villas and apartments do not. Be aware however, that the signal does not reach directly into the smaller apartment (too many stone walls) so we had to walk 10 metres to get a signal. No problem though. We were grateful to have access to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We have stayed at Le Bonatte three times over the last 6 years, and highly recommend it as the prefect base from which to explore Tuscany.
Radda is a beautiful village half way between Florence and Siena, and surrounded by other wonderful villages.
Le Bonatte offers 2 apartments, and a whole house which can sleep about 10 people. The apartments are modern, and the house is a wonderful old farmhouse full of lovely old tuscan furniture.
Gioia Milani runs Le Bonatte and she is a gem! She speaks good english, and has worked in the tourism industry there for many years, and hence knows almost everyone in the area. She is really helpful and will make your stay all the more pleasureable.
Le Bonatte is also a working farm growing grapes and olives to produce their own wine and oil. This year we were there in late September when they were harvesting the grapes and we even went and helped them for 1/2 a day which was a great experience you can't get when you stay in hotels etc.
This place is fantastic!!!!

  • Liked — The location, the owners and being able to cook for ourselves.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.2 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to le Bonatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about le Bonatte

Property: le Bonatte
Address: loc. Bonatte, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your le Bonatte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bonatte Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing