We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing anniversary”
Review of Livernano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Livernano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 5 days in Livernano to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was an unforgettable time for us with beautiful nature, with view on the Toscany land and amazing hotel area. The staff very attentive, helpful, they did everything to make our time unforgettable. The food was excellent, every evening prepared different four courses from fresh local ingredients. We could taste different local wines and enjoy the view from the terrace. The hotel is in very good location, Florence and Siena can be reached by car easily. We definitely will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagitg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed with our closest family in Livernano for a couple of days to prepare and celebrate our civil wedding that took place nearby. From our arrival until our departure Daniela and staff did everything they could and even more to make our stay so special and unforgettable!

Yes you have to pass a sandy road to get there, but once you arrive it’s all worth the effort! The remarkable silence, the beautiful nature, the infinite views, the spacious rooms and suites, the food (with many products from their own garden) , their famous wines of course and the staff succeed to create a relaxed atmosphere where we and our guests felt welcome immediately.

Just as last year it’s a pitty we had to leave… see you again Livernano :-)

Thank you Daniela and staff for the amazing time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_Lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We just got back from our 2 nights stay in Livernano. Everything was great. The room was clean and dinner very delicious. The staff paid like always much attention and we had everything we needed.The location in the middle of the wine area is very extraordinary and far away from the regular locations we used to stay.
It was right bevor the main season and we had the chance to enjoy this place all by ourselves which made us the " King and Queen " of Livernano ( like Daniela used to say ).
We highly recommend Livernano.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 79Coccinella_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are reading this, then I guess you are also fond of the nice things in life, like good food, good wine and the sheer pleasure of being in this lovely part of the world. Well, if you come to Livernano you will experience all of those things in spades!

We have stayed in many Agriturismos over the years and, yes, they are mostly very good indeed. However, some of them just stand out in your memory several months down the line, and of all the places we stayed last summer, we are still talking about Livernano.

So why is it so good? Well, first of all, after the car adventure of getting to it, you certainly feel that you are in the heart of Chianti Classico, and also that you are a little bit off the beaten track, which is nice for 2 reasons. First, people have to make a more determined effort to come here, which means that its not just a casual stopover on a bus tour. When we were there, we shared the whole pace with 3 other couples and a small group of wine experts from Norway, who were looking to export Livernano wine through their company. Yes, the wine here is seriously good, and you dont just need to take our word for it, these experts also agreed.

Secondly, the peace and quiet here is something to behold. The rooms are done up in a traditional style, but with all the mod-cons thrown in, and the bed was by far the most comfortable bed we ever slept in! It was pure heaven, and with silence all around, we slept like babies. All the rooms are a bit different and we even got to see one of the suites, which is just something else! Well recommended!

The staff here were simply wonderful and gave us plenty of ideas of what to do in the area. The grounds and pool were all very well maintained, and there is even a stunning little chapel, so this place is perfect for that relaxed Tuscan wedding people dream of. There certainly will be no shortage of wine!

We did a wine tasting tour of the Livernano cellars while we were here, which is a short drive away, and although we've done tours before, it was one of the more interesting ones. The guy who showed us around was so passionate about his work, it was inspiring, and you could certainly see why their wine is so highly regarded. Great tour which is not to be missed.

So, if you want a comfortable, relaxing stay, with great people, great food, great wine and great memories, go and find Livernano, its well worth the journey.

Room Tip: Try the suite, it is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We discovered Livernano at the end of 16 days traveling about Italy - just what we needed.Service, amenities and ambiance just incredible -a true Tuscan experience. Google Maps took us right to the door. And we had no problems exploring the magnificent, breathtaking countryside and enjoyed coming back to Livernano for an incredible meal each evening. Don't miss the tour of their winery also. You need a few days in that area - the Radda area of Tuscany is the heart of Chianti country. The local villages are treasures to discover too. The staff at Livernano can help plan your days with you so you don't miss a thing.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Sauvignon suite - just incredible - however all the rooms are unique, with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four days at Livernano. In a surprisingly separate part of Chianti, it was beautiful particularly in the morning. Finding it in the first instance was a problem if only because we were coming from a direction not addressed in the instructions and because our sat nav was not up to the task. However, on arrival we were shown to our room which really exceeded our expectation.

Breakfast was good but we were so impressed by dinner on the first night that we opted to eat there every night. It was very, very good. The service generally was very good but for Daniella who runs things and who is a larger than life personality, nothing is too much trouble.

From Livernano we were well placed to explore Chianti by car. A car is a necessity although one morning we enjoyed a really delightful walk into Radda.

For couples in particular, we can heartily recommend Livernano.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms on the website are realistic and really helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaundersandMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 5 days at Livernano and It was everything you could ask for in an authentic Tuscan experience.

The rooms are amazing, if you can book a suite try for baronale or savingnon, but I stayed in a smaller room, Merlot and was just as happy. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated, with anything you need.

The property itself is breathtaking! The owners have restored everything with loving details. It's is out of a story book from the piazza to the chapel. Every morning I woke up, I had to pinch myself.

The food was a foodies delight -while the menu is chefs choice, I had no complaints. If you really want something particular, you just need to request it the day before. They will accommodate if they can. Chef Andreas' pasta was the best I have ever had. The produce straight from the gardens could not be fresher.

Wine- all I have to say is delish! Whether you like light and fruity or smooth and rich, they have it. I sent home 2 cases!

Finally, the staff- cannot say enough- sweet, warm, friendly, accommodating, bend over backwards kind of people. Daniella, I wanted to pack her in my suitcase and bring her home, she was so nice and helpful: maps, directions, recommendations and ever an emergency trip to the dentist.

Livernano is the best kept secret in Tuscany. 20 minutes on dirt roads in the middle of Tuscany- but worth every bump! We did day trips to Florence, Siena, volterra without issue.

I returned home yesterday and am already looking at flights to go back- I cannot wait!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nlefprr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
879 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
596 reviews
4.5 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livernano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livernano

Address: Localita Livernano 67, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $173 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Livernano 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livernano is a truly ancient place. It was first inhabited by Etruscans, whose culture reached its high-point in Tuscany over 2500 years ago, around 500BC. The hamlet was later occupied by the Romans, who gave it its name. Long after the cessation of Roman rule, Livernano served as a fortified border post during the interminable wars of the two great mediaeval city states in Tuscany, Siena and Florence. Our small, beautifully preserved Romanesque church dates back to the 11th century. In the 17th century, when the territorial wars between Siena and Florence had finally come to an end, Livernano turned into a quiet farming village. At the end of WWII, when the ancient system of share-cropping (mezzadria) was abandoned, Tuscany suffered grinding poverty. The beautiful countryside, tended by humans for millennia, became almost entirely depopulated. The last farmers left Livernano in 1953. The hamlet regained new life in 1990, when the complete restoration of the entire estate was begun. Today, Livernano is once again a working farm, producing fine wines, excellent olive oil and honey, vegetables and fruits. On 38 acres new vineyards were planted with 9 different grape varieties. In the ancient olive groves, new trees were planted and we now tend close to 1000 trees, all of native Italian varieties. The remaining 420 acres consist of beautiful mature woodland that surrounds the hamlet on all sides. Three houses have been completely redesigned and furnished with local antiques to accommodate guests. Although situated in splendid isolation amidst forests, vines and olive groves, Livernano is close to many local towns, historic sites, fine restaurants, and famous wineries. The shopping and cultural centres of Florence and Siena are only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Livernano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livernano Hotel Radda In Chianti
Livernano Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing