We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem of wine country”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very charming old building with fresco-like pictures on the walls and ceilings. Our room was overlooking small "piazza" with murmurous fountain and old church. Beautiful peaceful view taking you two-three hundred years back. Living conditions – perfect. Plus – you can use indoor pool in the nearby hotel, wich was absolutely fabulous. Keep in mind that you can not drive right to the hotel doors. Town center is closed for traffic, so you have to walk about 200 m. Parking might be a problem only on a busy weekend, but after couple of circles around the center (which diameter is probably no more then 400 m) you'll definitely find your lucky spot.

Room Tip: Take one overlooking a square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiKaKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    58
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
120
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

An absolutely wonderful room awaited me and my father beyond the bland reception area. We booked a twin room, which turned out to be a huge room with two beds and a further separate room with a chaise lounges comfortable enough to sleep on.
The ceiling was wood an original wood one, with beams and a roof light, which I opened to view the surrounding valleys(the hotel is on top of a hill so the views were for miles!)
Lovely breakfast, which one can eat out on the quiet residential centre street of this quiet little town.
I slept well, only woken up by the noise of birds jumping around on the roof and pecking at the thatch- which was actually quite nice in a way!
While there was little to Radda in Chianti, I would go back just to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor for the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I and our young adult son stayed at this hotel in July. The staff were welcoming, and when we were initially shown a room without any window, they immediately changed our one room to two adjoining rooms with windows. The rooms were large and comfortable, however, they had installed shower taps and nozzles that were supposed to enhance the showering experience, however, they took up so much space in the shower, there was no room left to move. This is the only negative part of our stay here.
The hotel is located in a beautiful little street in a picturesque town in Tuscany and we had a wonderful time while we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtticusShmatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and it was so lovely! The room was big, clean, great air conditioning and had a very romantic feel to it, with a beautiful hand painted mural on the ceiling. The staff was very nice and helpful. San Niccolo in Radda is just a lovely place to stay if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome (or similar) and want to relax, enjoy free wine and oil olive tasting in the shops, and experience local markets and great cuisine! Would highly reccomend this!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We arrived at Palazzo San Niccolo after a rainy hike from Lamole. Our room was booked through David Charnes Tours as part of our self-guided hiking package and we were not disappointed. Quite the contrary. The hotel was a delight, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms charming. Our room overlooked an alleyway of medieval cobblestones. The ceilings were painted with lovely frescoes. Off the bedrooms are comfy sitting rooms decorated in a similar manner. While resting our weary bones in the sitting room, to our surprise we were presented with champagne, quite an unexpected treat.
Radda is a gem. We only had one night in the town but we made the most of our short visit. The Niccolo is situated ideally in the main square, surrounded by nice shops and places to eat. You can hear the church bells chime the hours.
Breakfast included an array of cheeses, meats, rolls, and bread nicely arranged in a breakfast room overlooking a patio on the square. Delicious coffee.
My compliments to the staff of the Niccolo for their friendliness and helpfulness. We regret our stay was so short. And special thanks to Tania for arranging our transport to Greve.
Be sure to stay at the Niccolo when traveling to Radda.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Beautiful small hotel in the main square of Radda. Our room`s window had s view to the main door of medieval church. I could hear singing of nuns on Sunday morning.
Room was tinny, but very cozy and clean.
Staff was very professional and helpful. Their suggestions for our sightseeing program were perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolantaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel right in the center of Radda. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Our room was quite large right at the corner of the "main" street and the fountain. A very patient & helpful young lady at he desk made several phone calls to assist in selecting a restaurant as our first two choices were closed...with no explanation or sign in their windows.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo San Niccolo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo San Niccolo'

Property: Palazzo San Niccolo'
Address: Via Roma 16, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#6 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo San Niccolo' 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Niccolo is the right place to be ravished by Tuscany charm: precious materials, authentic frescoes merged in a magic atmosphere to offer you an unforgettable experience, full of comfort and top quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo San Niccolo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo San Niccolo` Hotel Radda In Chianti
San Niccolo Hotel
Palazzo San Niccolo' Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing