We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well preserved Tuscan "Castello"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volpaia

Volpaia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
223 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Well preserved Tuscan "Castello"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Volpaia is famous for its food and wine and neither of these disappointed us - excellent. The little hamlet itself is just as charming and offers fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside as well as some perfect Tuscan village photo opportunities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    70
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bike ride up is difficult; down is fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We rode up to Volpaia as an optional ride as part of our 7 day bike tour of Tuscany with Charnes Bike Tours. We had to walk 1 to 1.5 km of the steep 4 km hill. We may have been able to do it but we had already biked 18 km on this the 2nd day of our tour and our legs were not yet accustomed to the long hills. We stopped enough to enjoy the beautiful views on the way up.
Volpaia itself is pretty and doesn't take long to walk around the town.
I love the fact that you can fill your water bottle up in so many places in Tuscany.
The 4 km ride downhill is really fun, especially after wine with lunch.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank R0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Romantic hilltop village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

La Bottega ristorante worth a visit and a stroll around the village.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint Tuscan Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you want to visit a true Tuscan village that is quaint in every way and the locals are super friendly. . .visit Volpaia. Dinner at La Botega is a must. Gorgeous view from the outdoor patio and the food is superb . . .rabbit, wild boar and excellent pasta.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy_ON_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An old school vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful setting. The cost of the tasting is very high. WHile tey give you food and ample wine, it is not worth the price. The wines however are outstanding and worth buying.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrBula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volpaia also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Volpaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing