We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fantastic holiday in Italy”
Review of Pornanino

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radda in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pornanino
Reviewed August 15, 2013

In June 2013 we were fortunate for or first vist to Italy to find this idyllic spot in Chianti. The holiday promised to be wonderful and we were not disappointed. From our arrival to departure our experience was remarkable. The accomodation was spacious with a well designed arrangement and beautiful simple style which we found much to our taste. The weather was warm around 30 degrees but the house was cool and confortable at all times. Our hosts were particulary friendly and welcoming and their recomendations for the local restaurants were spot on. We loved the pool and the spacious gardens and grounds. We would have no hesitation in returning - thank you Francesca and Matteo for a wonderful holiday. Keith & Barbara Jackson - Manchester England

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Pornanino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Pornanino in October of 2010 for ten days. We were joined by my brother and sister in-law and stayed in Capanino. Although I agree with everything that was said before regarding the place and the accomodations, I feel that the most amazing part was the time and effort and flexibility that Francesca showed us as we were forever changing our arrangements. She was forever kind, flexible, good-humoured and it was eventually a pleasure to meet her, Matteo and the rest of the family. The place is amazing: the olive grove, the hills so green, the location, the laid-back feeling of the area, the greeting you get as you arrive for the first time. There is a part of you that wants to just set up roots and not even go to Florence or Sienna or the rest of the Chianti region that is just a short car ride away. Castellina and Panzano are great places to go to the market and shop for fresh produce. All that info will be sent to you by Francesca. Sienna is a wonderful city and merits more than one visit. Finally, since our visit, I have six bottles of Pornanino Oil sent to us every Christmas. We keep some and they make wonderful gifts for family and friends. There is definitely a special flavor to the oil. Grazie Mille, Matteo and Francesca and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deux_voyageurs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

As luck would have it, I had the opportunity a few years ago to attend one of the weekly 'Olive Oil Seminars' in Franco Lombardi's barn at Azienda Agricola Pornanino, a small olive oil producing farm in the heart of the Chianti region of Tuscany. The barn was packed with visitors from a variety of countries who came to listen to Franco explain the many virtues of his 'liquid gold', made from his olives using traditional methods that go back thousands of years.

After the seminar, I talked to one of the other attendees who was renting one of the two houses on the property for the week, and he invited my wife and I to come walk up the hill to see the Capannino (the larger of the two houses). It looked like the perfect place to use as a base to see the Chianti area, so we booked the house for two weeks the following year for ourselves and another couple. Capannino has all the comforts two couples would need for an extended stay: comfortable beds, living room with comfortable furniture, full service kitchen, dining area, laundry facilities and Wi-Fi. On several evenings, we made our own dinner and ate outside on the thatch-covered patio. It was such a perfect two weeks, that my wife and I decided to return during the olive harvest and stay in Leccino (the smaller, one bedroom house) for a week. Leccino is just a smaller, cozier version of Capannino - perfect for one couple.

Pornanino provides a true country experience, located in a small secluded valley about half way between Castellina and Radda (two must-visit tuscan villages in the area) - and a short drive to both Siena and Florence. Francesca (Franco's daughter) and her husband Matteo (who now runs the farm) live on the property and will provide useful information on things to do in the area. And if you just want to chill and relax, the two houses share a beautiful, recently revamped infinity pool with stunning views of the surrounding hills. Matteo still hosts his weekly olive oil seminar in the barn - which now also houses a fully functioning traditional Frantoio (olive oil mill and press). Franco got tired of hauling his olive to a cooperative olive mill every year and installed his own modern (yet traditional) facility in his barn a few years ago. Make sure that you attend the seminar while you're there, and go home with a case of the best olive oil you'll ever taste.

We have been back to Pornanino several times (almost annually), and I highly recommend either house for a memorable stay in this most beautiful part of Tuscany.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SignorTerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at Pornanino several times, in both remodeled barns. The larger sleeps four in two separate very nice bedrooms. There's plenty of bathrooms and a large kitchen which opens into the large gathering room. The smaller rental is perfect for two and includes everything you need. Both places are just so perfectly Tuscan with gorgeous valley views. The owners/host are wonderful, friendly, smart, honest, helpful people who just happen to own the olive farm which surrounds the rentals. They live in the house on the grounds and their daughter & son & families live close by. When you stay at Pornanino, you have access to laundry and a swimming pool. But the part I like the best is the location. This beautiful spot is between Radda and Castellina. It is a great place to stay because it is so centrally located. Siena is only half an hour away. After a day of exploring Chianti, it's so nice to come "home", cook some dinner, and then sit outside with a glass of wine. I just cannot say enough nice things about Pornanino. Plus, you can attend the seminar about olive oil. I never knew there was so much that I never knew about this liquid gold! And, in my opinion, they do make the best extra virgin olive oil in Tuscany. I will be returning this June because I just can't stay away.

Room Tip: Either remodeled barn is perfect - it just depends on whether you're a couple or two couples.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzybelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We all agreed that this was the best vacation we have ever had. The property is beautifully keep and the Lombardi's are wonderfully hospitable and make you feel like a part of their family. They went out of their on several occasions to help us in ways far beyond what would be expected. We plan to return again soon. If you want to see Tuscany, you simply can't do better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike_Bogies_Giordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank サト777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristofh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
1.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
848 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
544 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
547 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
525 reviews
2.7 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pornanino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pornanino

Address: Localita Pornanino 72, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $113 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the rolling hills of the Black Rooster area, in the very heart of Chianti, between Radda, Castellina and Vagliagli sits Pornanino, a lovingly restored estate surrounded by 36 hectares of olive groves and wooded hills. The rivers Arbia and Serchio mark the boundaries.The owners had taken on the role of producer of top-quality olive oil with great passion and conduct weekly seminars and tastings on the subject. They have carefully restored the main house and two stone built barns, Capannino and Leccino cottages, renovated to excellent standards and appointed with the same warm style as their own home, with antique furniture enhancing beamed ceilings and cotto floors.Pornanino is accessed by 5km of very well kept unpaved road. The medieval town of Castellina in Chianti with restaurants, wine shops, coffee bars, supermarket, grocery shops, post-office, banks and other shops is 5 kms away, Florence 32 kms and Siena 18 kms. San Gimignano, Volterra, Arezzo, and many other attractive towns are within an easy drive. The property is 9km from Radda in Chianti, another lovely hill-top medieval town with cobbled streets and also a good choice of restaurants and bar.Il Capannino (sleeps 4), is a self-contained cottage in front of the main house, completely refurbished to excellent standards with antique furniture. Guests enjoy the large central room with open fully equipped kitchen at an upper level, dining room and living room with open fireplace. At every hour of the day light floods this very attractive space, which is immaculately clean. A few steps up there is a corridor leading to the two double bedrooms that are one above the other (note that one of the bedrooms does not have a door but remains very private as the inside of the bedroom is not visible. ) and a study with a door; two bathrooms, one with a tub and hand-held shower and the other with a shower. A large arched glass door opens onto the pergola covered terrace for dining outside ‘al fresco’. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pornanino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing