We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Fantastic Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Palazzo Leopoldo was once a noble home which has been turned into a hotel while still retaining the grace and charm of the Villa.

All the staff are extremely polite, patient and helpful. We observed some other guests being very rude to concierge, however, the staff remained very humble, polite and helpful.

The breakfast buffet is very generous and extremely delicious. The kitchen staff are very attentive and a real joy.

The hotel and staff cannot be faulted in any way - perfection in every respect!

The hotel is very good, but it is the staff that make it a great stay. A+++

Radda is ideally placed to visit the many towns in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Love_Itally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    130
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
75
331
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

My husband and I just returned form a 9 day trip to Italy where without question, the best experience all round was had at this hotel and Radda itself. The staff were the most courteous and helpful that we encountered anywhere on our trip. We were told of a weekend wine tasting festival in nearby Greve which was one of the highlights of our stay in Italy. Everything at the hotel was perfect - the ambiance, the Old World charm and design, the location , the breakfast - all a delight. You won't be dissappointed with a stay here. This is in fact the only hotel out of four that we would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCTravelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Great hotel with fabulous old rooms. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Chianti countryside if the weather permits - which it probably will. Our rate didn't include breakfast but we found it reasonable value at 9 euro. Lots of restaurant options in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyonheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed in the charming town of Radda in Chianti during the middle of our trip to Italy. Palazzo Leopoldo was the highlight of our trip. Radda is a great home base for travel in Tuscany. It is an area with breathtaking views, wineries, and restaurants. It is between Florence and Siena. Palazzo Leopoldo had the combination of wonderful history with modern amenities. The breakfast was the best we had in our entire trip with broad, panoramic views on the back patio. Conchetta ( a Penelope Cruz lookalike!) and Martina couldn't have been more helpful and gracious. We went to Florence, Rome,and Venice which were amazing but it was Palazzo Leopoldo and the Tuscany region that will be most memorable.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

My new husband and I just stayed here for the first 5 days of our Honeymoon, and we found the location, property absotuely perfect!! We rented a car and made day trip to Sienna, San Gimignano (a MUST) and just traveled all over Tuscany getting lost in the vineyards and stumbling upon wonderful castles, medieval towns, and gelato!! ;) I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially couples. Radda is a great town, with many quaint shops. There's a restaurant down the street on the corner that had the best Bruschetta!! If in the area, definitely go to L'Ultima Mulino restaurant, very very good!
The hotel's little country kitchen and amazing breakfast is a great bonus--fill up before hitting the roads!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmrunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We have just got back from a couple of days in Radda staying at the Palazzo Leopaldo, which was a delight.
Radda is a great little village in Tuscany which allowed us to drive around to all the main areas of Tuscany and the Palazzo was the best place to stay.
The staff are very friendly, the rooms excellent, the breakfasts are a delight to behold and the views are superb.
The restaurant attached to the hotel is excellent, really good venue and food.
Finally, must mention the attached spa, my wife and I both had a 'stress relieving' massage which was tremendous.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryLee316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty1973, Manager at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Dear Mr Lee,

thank you very much for your beautiful words about Palazzo Leopoldo.

We were so happy when all our efforts in order to warmly welcome our guests are satisfied.

We hope to have yuo s our guests in future!!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2009

Palazzo Leopoldo was one of our stays during a week-long romantic tour of Tuscany with my girlfriend. We absolutely loved everything about it, from its central location in the middle of tiny Radda, to the wonderful staff who are extremely courteous and accomodating, to the entire experience of staying in an authentic, Tuscan palazzo. What do I mean by authentic? You feel a sense of the past in this hotel, from the medieval-looking carpets/tapestries to the stone steps, to the tiny chapel on the 2nd floor. Yet at the same time you have all the modern amenities you'll need - we had a wonderfully modern shower with horizontal massage jets that would be the envy of most showers in the world; a heater/airconditioning unit with remote control; a full kitchen, etc. (there's even a computer for public internet access available).

The hotel (and our room) was immaculate, you can tell the staff care about this place and take great pride in cleanliness and atmosphere. Honestly, the photos you see on the hotel website do not do it justice! The breakfast spread is amazing - croissants, rolls, cereal, cheeses, olives, deli items, I'm getting hungry just writing about it.

Now, let me set a few things straight concerning a negative review of this hotel written in October of 2007:

1 - The hotel does *not* need TLC, nor is it drab - it is a 700 year old palazzo that was completely gutted and renovated only a few years ago. You will find tremendous attention to detail in the way the rooms, hallways, and public areas of the hotel have been restored. This hotel positively oozes with old world charm, you often feel as if you've stepped back in time and are staying in a tiny medieval castle.

2 - Location - if you stay in a hotel in the middle of Radda in CHIANTI, then you are likely there for CHIANTI, meaning you are there for wine-tasting! This hotel is an EXCELLENT, quiet base for exploring countless vineyards, wineries, and farms as well as the other Chianti villages such as charming Greve and Castellina. You absolutely *must* have a rental car to navigate this area, but if you've done your research then you already know that Chianti is a remote area tucked in the hills amongst spaghetti-like winding roads (a navigation system is absolutely critical if you wish to really enjoy Chianti).

Furthermore, it was easy to get to towns like San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, Siena, etc. - be warned however that you will have to deal with those crazy windy roads, and you'll always be traveling for at least 30mins to 1 hour. The upside is that you will be driving through some of the most beautiful countryside in the world - your breath will literally be taken away as you round a bend and get a new view of the often perfectly tended landscape.

I could go on and an about Chianti and Palazzo Leopoldo, but I'll just summarize by saying that this is a fantastic town & hotel if you're looking for a peaceful, quiet, country-like getaway surrounded by historic wineries and lovely countryside.

  • Liked — Comfortable, large rooms; overall decor
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WisetravellerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty1973, Responsabile Gestione at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Dear WisetravellerNYC,
we warmly thank you for all the wonderfull words written about Palazzo Leopoldo.
We have a real passion for our job and we are extremely happy and satisfied when a guest can personally feel it.
Looking forward to having you again as our guest!!
Best regards
Martina Rustichini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing