We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view but a small window”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Room with a view but a small window”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Loved staying in the middle of Radda, small hotel that has a good mix of heritage and comfort, staff excellent and very pleasant, room on top floor with a great view out of a small window, but did have a skylight so had cross flow ventilation, at this time of year no air conditioning needed. Good king size bed and high ceilings with big timber beams. Large room but, Small shower with tricky controls. Bonus of an indoor pool not expected in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    139
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
80
352
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at the Palazzo Leopoldo with my parents for approximately 5 days. Although it was a little hard to find using our Tom Tom GPS, we were not disappointed in the least upon arrival.

Our room was located on the second floor and because we were 3 people, we got quite a large room with a queen size bed and pull out couch. It also had a kitchenette with dining table and nice sized bathroom with a make-up vanity right outside. Our view from our room made it that much better. We had a view of the terrace below and the rolling hills of Tuscany. It was breathtaking! The rooms decor was very old world Italian with terracotta floors and dark wood beams on the high ceilings. It felt very authentic which is exactly what we love.

The area that the hotel is located in is excellent for a number of reasons. We were a short distance from cities such as Siena, Florence, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, etc. We managed to do a number of visits while having a pied a terre in Radda in Chianti at Palazzo Leopoldo.

The hotel staff was very friendly, although one night we stayed out past midnight and upon out return the front doors of the hotel were locked and we couldn't get in. We waited a little while before someone showed up to open them for us. Slight hiccup, but nothing to worry about.
There is a computer that guests may use and wifi if I remember correctly.

There a number of good restaurants in the area to choose from with authentic Tuscan dishes. We enjoyed every one of them. Excellent shopping as well. Take advantage of the numerous leather goods at decent prices, I did!

All in all, the Palazzo Leopoldo was extremely relaxing and made our stay that much more pleasurable. We often spent our evenings on the terrace where we got a lovely view of Tuscany. The area is very quiet and peaceful, great place to end a long trip. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarPags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Part of our group stayed in this hotel and enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and good location. Bathrooms are small but too be expected. This is a very small village in the midst of Tuscany away from the crowds and with the locals. Several small shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Showers are small so be sure and ask for a room with one that maybe larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peach8054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Palazzo Leopoldo for a week in August 2013. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We were given a tour of the hotel and they described all services and amenities available to us. There is a very cool pool under the hotel and guests are allowed to drive to a fantastic outdoor pool at a neighboring hotel about 5km away. My daughter loved the "palace" and the pools were an added bonus for her. We had 2 large adjoining rooms with tall ceilings and nice, comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was incredible. Lots of delicious food and I liked that the waitstaff remembered our coffee preferences (important for visitors form Seattle.) Breakfast on the balcony will remain one of my favorite memories of Italy...with the church bells ringing in the distance. Parking is the only challenge, but walking to and from this delightful lodge through the beautiful town of Radda is hardly anything to complain about. We stayed in Radda while visiting Florence, Sienna, Le Cinque Terre and the surrounding areas. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seatown7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Frankly, we were very disappointed in the Palazzo Leopoldo. I feel that the online photos were very misleading, since we expected the facility to be decorated in the advertised style. Instead, our room was indifferently decorated and very minimalistic. I agree that valuable antiques should not be "on loan" to the general public, but the hotel shouldn't have advertised the rooms as containing "magnificent furnishings". We were expecting elegance, and experienced mediocrity. I booked by phone--and was "upgraded" from a "Junior Suite" to a "Suite" for the same price--a hefty 239 euros--NOT including breakfast...a very overpriced room for nothing in the way of outstanding furnishings or comfort. The hotel should have charged more reasonable prices for their rooms during this "off" season, since the town of Radda was basically closed during the Christmas holidays...not even the Tourist Office was open (and that was the same story in Gaiole in Chianti and Castellina in Chianti as well...) The front desk didn't have too much in the way of tourist information either. I had anticipated relaxing in the "indoor heated pool"--only to find out that you had to go down many stairs and go outside the main building just to access it...it was pretty, but not inviting during the cold wet January weather-not worth the jaunt...Neither the hotel restaurant nor the wine bar were open during this time period.(and the hotel was full of guests...if you're going to close all food facilities, why wouldn't you close the hotel as well?) Room service orders were delivered to the hotel by a restaurant down the street! We have no idea how the breakfast was served--opted for coffee and brioche at Bar Dante. The hotel advertises "private parking"--NOT--you could park anywhere in any available non-resident space outside the town wall--nothing was reserved for hotel guests, which was OK for January, but not for the summer tourist months when parking is at a premium.Yes, we knew that the Chianti tourist season runs from April through November, but we chose a romantic "getaway"--and we ended up "getting away" early--and booked a room in San Gimignano (where EVERYTHING was open) and stayed two nights there for less than the price of one night at the Palazzo Leopoldo! Save your money--or spend it more wisely than we did! (I'm not a novice tourist...I've lived in Italy for over 35 years! Should know better, I guess....)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
I’m very sorry you did not like your stay, actually reading carefully the review looks like you expected something different.
Palazzo Leopoldo is an Old Manor House very, very particular, the rooms are different from each other; rooms are full of particular and unique furniture.
The pictures in the web site are of the Palace, of course, with our new website we will have the opportunity to upload in the next week all the pictures of each room to give the guest the possibility to realize in advance the particular size and furniture of the room booked. We prefer not to answer regarding off season in Radda, we just say that in any touristic place there is an low - high season. We experienced that the guests travelling in off season likes the quiet village of Radda in Chianti, otherwise they would visits Radda in Chianti during high season.
I hope to see you once again in high season and don’t worry you will not have to look for a parking place since we have our private (in low season guest appreciate also that they don’t need to use our parking since all the parking area of Radda are free).
Cordially,

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 6 nights here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to their suite for our stay. It was huge, complete with a mini kitchen, table and 4 chairs, sofa and private terrace. The suite is sweet! The staff who work here are really helpful and kind. They helped with information on taking the local bus to Siena and arranged a day to Castillo Brolio. The breakfast is an additional cost but was delicious. Along with the regular fare they had scrambled and poached eggs with cappuccino’s to order!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakesbackdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel and loved it for several reasons: the location, close to shopping, many restaurants and bars where you could enjoy Italian wines. We love to have a great restaurant with wonderful food. The very large room, comfortable and quiet, beautiful views of the mountains and vineyards. Optimum breakfast, staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Arriving in Radda in Chianti, Italy,you park your car and get the street that is written in a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celita Louback W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
525 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
667 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
553 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Spa Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing