We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed again at the Leopoldo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here again for Radda nel biccherie in June. Can't fault this hotel. Perfect location with wonderful views from the terrace . Very nice large bedrooms. The staff are excellent. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here mid-June 2013. We were two couples (us and the in-laws) and stayed in the four person room with the private balcony (great value). The hotel, and especially the room, were beautifully furnished. The views from the terrace were incredibly picturesque and postcard worthy. The service was also fabulous - the two men working at reception were always friendly and happy to answer any questions we had or find any info we needed. The breakfast was also tasty with cappuccino and eggs to order in addition to all the fresh fruit, pastries, cakes, meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurts ... you name it! We used both the indoor pool, which was small, but really neat, and the outdoor pool located at the sister hotel and both were well-maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Leopoldo as part of a hiking tour through Tuscany. The location in Radda in Chianti is charming & there are great vistas everywhere, especially on the back terrace where you should definitely have breakfast. The rooms are clean, huge & well-appointed. Sometimes, the showers are tempermental when it comes to warm water, but this was a minor point. The highlight of our stay here was a cooking lesson by Chef Lorenzo of Gastronomia Biagioni- presenting piatti tipici of Tuscany. He is enthusiastic, warm, approachable & a great teacher! The meal was divine! You learn a lot about the local ingredients, histories of dishes, and get great pointers on preparation/technique. Don't miss out on this experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a room on the top floor with a spectacular view of the chianti hills. I've stayed here before and find it to be very good value. The decor is simple and rustic - distressed wood and terracotta tile - the room was large, quiet and clean. Comfortable bed with nice linens. There was lots of hot water and good pressure (which can sometimes be a worry when staying at or near the highest point in a Tuscan hill town). You can drive right up to the front door to unload bags (if the gate to the historic centre is closed, get the pass card from the hotel staff). Free parking is outside the walls of the historic centre in the spots designated by white lines. Excellent dinner at nearby restaurant La Botte di Bacco (particularly the maiale with honey and chili pepper).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquadotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were booked into this hotel as part of a package Vespa tour through Tuscany. Not knowing what to expect, we arrived to find a property that far and away exceeded our notions. The decor was old world and fit the character of the village; the staff is wonderfully attentive and the rooms were large comfortable and WARM!
Being a bit of a foodie, the kitchen where breakfast was served was amazing. Old stone, large gas range, huge working island...it was really a picture of perfection. Unfortunately, my cameras did not do it justice. Breakfast was well prepared and the setting was excellent.
Do Not Miss the outdoor terrace (south facing) so you have wonderful sunshine in the afternoon...A great place to sit with a bottle and plan tomorrow's adventures!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Contrary to "Maestro's" contention (on Seinfeld) that there are no vacancies in Tuscany, this is a great one. My wife & I stayed at the Leopoldo & found it charming. After reading some other reviews I concur that the rooms are large with comfortable period furnishings, the baths are modernized & very pleasant (loved the heated towel racks), the staff is very helpful & the breakfast is wonderful (if you get there early before the eggs are gone). It's a place to relax & be away from your cares. There's not much going on in Radda or the hotel so if you're looking for an exciting, adventurous vacation this isn't the place. It's more "laid back". A place to read a book over a glass of chianti & a place to base your sight-seeing excursions around the Tuscan region. Since it was our first trip to Italy & on a tight schedule we thought Radda was a little too far off the beaten path. We "wasted" a lot of time driving to Florence, Siena, etc., but the countryside views are spectacular & there's a winery around every corner so I really shouldn't complain.

Room Tip: There are few restaurants in Radda & they're not open every night so ask the staff where to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MizzouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Radda in Chianti and is a very nice, clean, with character and nice and very helpful staff. Rooms have good furniture although not new, and bathrooms have more modern fixtures. Beds are very comfortable. As mentioned, staff are helpful and tries to accommodate guests: we mentioned our room was very noisy each early morning due to the outside street noise and they have moved us in another less noisier room the next day.
Because the hotel is located in the heart of Radda, it is quite noisy early in the morning when shop owners open their businesses. The streets are narrow and the the stone only buildings and pavement, makes it very noisy. If you want quiet setting or secluded, this is not the place. This isn't obvious in the website description and we thought it was a more secluded place. This is the only reason I gave a 4 rating instead of 5.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
545 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
582 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $116 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing