We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscany elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscany elegance”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband an I shared a wonderful experience at the Palazzo Leopold. Sylvia and her staff made us feel so welcomed and were extremely reponsive to any of our needs. Although we didn't have a rental car, their recommendations for local transportation and private vineyard tours were just what we wanted. The accomadations were outstanding, food was excellent and plentiful. We look forward to our next visit with our children. Anne and Mike Colleary Naples,Florida

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennisac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    136
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
79
345
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our second stay at Palazzo Leopoldo (this time with family too). It's located right in the centre of the beautiful town of Radda and in close proximity to anything you could want to see or do in town. It's an authentic old building and the rooms are spacious and typically Tuscan. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a slight issue with our hot water on the second day of our stay but were provided with an alternative room to shower in whilst they arranged for maintenance to visit. Overall a very pleasant stay and we'd certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and larger windows to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnerall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in Chianti in May 2012. It was truly an incredible experience! The town was charming, the views were spectacular, the staff were friendly and very welcoming providing exceptional service and assistance! From Radda, we were able to travel to Florence and Sienna on day trips - both cities well worth the time to visit. One suggestion would be to take advantage of the local bus to these beautiful cities; that way, no parking hassles, driving stresses, ability to take in the scenery along the way and the pleasure of travelling and speaking with folks that actually live in the area. Tickets can be purchased from the tourist centre or the hardware store across the street. The room at the Palazzo was very large, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The history of the Palazzo is well worth reading about. Without hesitation, we would highly recommend staying in this very central area and at this superb guest house!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

WIth only 19 rooms, Palazzo Leopoldo and its staff will make you feel that you are Italian nobility. Radda offers the perfect central location to tour Chianti; the Palazzo Leopoldo's staff will ensure that you are not only comfortable and well-fed, but armed with directions and their suggestions. Our room was spacious, with incomparable views of the Chianti countryside. Impeccably clean, well appointed and tasteful. Enjoy breakfast, served in the hotel's rustic country kitchen and lovely dining room. Be sure to enjoy an afternoon tea or prosecco on the hotel's balcony, with those amazing views. Next time, we'll use the spa: have you ever swam in a pool located in what was once a wine cellar? Stone walls, modern lighting - would be a romantic, soothing end to any day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetellenNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We traveled with 2 other couples and spent 5 nights at the Palazzo Leopoldo. We originally picked Radda as a hub for traveling around the sites in Tuscany and it was perfect for that. If we return, we will pick Radda again but because of Palazzo Leopoldo! The service, the rooms, the vista were impeccable. We looked forward to visiting the their beautiful breakfast room and array of fresh fruits along with many other choices. If you travel to Radda without a car for the solitude, the food and the views it's perfect. If you go by car to Radda for it's location, its 45 minutes from many other great spots it's even more perfect. Certainly a place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertJR53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Palazzo Leopoldo in Radda in Chianti for 7 nights in May. Where to start…. Radda is a very small hilltop town in the beautiful Chianti hills in Tuscany. The area is actually more hilly than we expected with very narrow and winding roads which are sometimes a bit tricky with oncoming traffic often on your side of the road! Once you arrive in Radda the town is just delightful with a very old town centre closed to traffic and extremely well kept. There aren’t a lot of shops – just a handful, but there a quite a few enotecas which is to be expected with the area being famous for wine. The hotel is lovely and full of character in a rustic medieval /palatial style! You have to walk along to the hotel and get an access card so you can drive in to the pedestrian area to drop your bags off, then drive out the other end and find parking in the surrounding streets, which are often full. On saying that, we never had any trouble finding anywhere free to park, but we were there outside the main tourist season. The staff are all extremely welcoming and helpful and greet you like old friends whenever you came back from a day of exploring. Our room was on the main entrance level off the lounge area, but very quiet as nobody seems to sit in the lounge! We felt like we were staying in a manor house, which in effect is what the hotel was in its previous life. Our room (No 3) was very large with double windows looking over the gorgeous surrounding hillsides, a king size bed, 2 lounge chairs with coffee table and a desk. The main feature was the huge fireplace, but I think it is just ornamental now and not used. The bathroom was small but functional with a modern massage shower. There was no fridge in the room or tea/coffee making facilities. Buffet style breakfast was served every morning in the ancient kitchen and adjoining room. The selection was adequate, but not lavish, with juices, tea/coffee, fruit, yoghurt, basic cereals and home made pastries/cakes. There was a very small hot offering of usually just eggs. If the weather is nice you can take a tray out onto the delightful terrace and take in the gorgeous views. The hotel does not have a bar/cafe or room service menu, but they are happy to make you a coffee or drink on request (for a fee). There is a restaurant downstairs from the main hotel area which is very nice and also an adjoining enoteca (wine shop). The pool is down in the vaulted cellars and is small but charming. There is also a beauty parlour in the downstairs area which operates independently but you can charge the costs back to your room. I had a massage here which was relaxing but not what I would call therapeutic if that’s what you’re after. All in all we had a lovely and relaxing stay at the Palazzo and would urge anyone to experience the charm for themselves.
Tips: We tried nearly every restaurant in Radda and didn’t have a bad meal in any of them, but of particular note was La Botte di Bacco – wonderful food, wine and service and worth going alone for the homemade bread basket! Also had very nice meals in La Perla, La Loggia and the casual and cosy La Bottega Di Giovannino. A visit to the local village of Volpaia and La Bottega Ristorante is worth a trip. Also had fantastic takeaway pizza from a little hole in the wall place (Il Gatto E La Volpe) in Castelllina in Chianti. Day trips to Sienna, Florence and San Gimignano are all easily achievable as well as all the local hilltop hamlets and villages.

Room Tip: Room no 3 was grand with fantastic views over the tuscan hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz-Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Palazzo Leopoldo was home for us for 2 wonderful nights while in Chianti. The hotel itself is great, and the views are amazing. The decor is very well done, and not overstated in any way. What really sold me here was the food. I had THE BEST lamb I have ever tried here at The Palazzo Leopoldo, and I love lamb. That alone is enough for me to plan a trip here on my honeymoon in September. If you are on a romantic trip this place is great. If you are with your family, this place is still great. I'd reccomend The Palazzo Leopoldo to any friends or family that visit this region of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing