We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Palazzo Leopoldo was home for us for 2 wonderful nights while in Chianti. The hotel itself is great, and the views are amazing. The decor is very well done, and not overstated in any way. What really sold me here was the food. I had THE BEST lamb I have ever tried here at The Palazzo Leopoldo, and I love lamb. That alone is enough for me to plan a trip here on my honeymoon in September. If you are on a romantic trip this place is great. If you are with your family, this place is still great. I'd reccomend The Palazzo Leopoldo to any friends or family that visit this region of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    122
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
298
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We flew to Pisa and drove straight to beautiful Radda for our first 4 nights of our honeymoon. We had the pleasure to stay in room 3 which is very grand and special. Traveling with our toddler of 2 years old, the fact that we could have dinner at the wonderful restaurant next door to the Palazzo, was just perfect. All the staff we met were so kind & helpful. The breakfast was a delight in every way and especially taken on the grand terrace with a nice view. Radda is a very charming hilltop village from which you can do so much. We loved our trips to Brolio castle and wine tasting, to Castellina and San Gimignano ( 1 day trip) and Siena (40 min) Also we had a swim at the pool of sister hotel Molino(?) We and our toddler loved this place and we would love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joycelukkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Perfectly situated in the middle of Radda. This is a very clean and relaxing hotel with great views. Silvia our excellent host made our stay even more enjoyable. We will be coming back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chianti1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel and location could not be more perfect for a Tuscsan holiday. The hotel is charming in character and staff (esp the lovely Silvia) She went out of her way to make our stay extra special. The room was perfect, and very clean. We also took part in the cooking course at the hotel which was a wonderful experience and would highly reccomend it to any guest considering it.
The town of Radda is so quaint yet there are several fantastic restaurants all within walking distance of the hotel so you don't need to drive anywhere in the evening. Great views of the the Tuscan hillside and great little booutiques and deli's to discover. One of my favourite holidays!

Room Tip: We were in room number 3 and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolly2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in room 11 and it was wonderful. Had a beautiful view of the fantastic countryside. Was so relaxing to wake up in the morning with the birds singing, sun shining and the picture perfect view. This was the last stop for us after a week in Tuscany and it was most definately saving the best for last. The location of the hotel is perfect. We arrived at 2pm and were able to check in straight away. The staff were so friendly. We had stopped in a winery on the way to the hotel and had a lovely bottle of wine we wanted to try. I asked for a corkscrew and glasses and the friendly guy at the desk suggested we sit on the terrace as the weather was so great. We were the only ones on the terrace and it was like having our own private roof garden. What a perfect way to spend an afternoon. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Was a lovely touch to have free water in the mini bar for us, expecially as it was very warm the 2 nights we stayed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The town itself is small but so relaxing after all our previous travelling and driving. Would definately come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: make sure you request a room with a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meloc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The town of Radda is extremely quaint and charming and a great location to stay in when visiting the area of Tuscany. The Palazzo Leopoldo had comfortable spacious rooms which made you feel as if you were in a cozy quaint farm house. Our room had a mini kitchenette bar which you could use to prepare food, or eat in if you chose to. Rooms were private and the hotel offered a nice sitting area, and breakfast area for guests to use. There is also a terrace that is great to have breakfast, or wine on if weather permits. Being in the country, this hotel has a rustic decor, but it is done tastefully.
Breakfast was prepared fresh each morning and offered your standard Italian eats, but all were delicious.
We had a rental car for this portion of the trip and parking was never an issue. We were able to park around town and get a spot.
The hotel helped us arrange a personal wine tour to other wine regions which was fantastic.
For the most part, most of the help was very nice, and attentive. There was a few issues we came across when trying to check out early (but not early per their time) in having one of the attendants help us. It was not great to receive an attitude that early in the morning.
On the whole this hotel was very nice, clean, and comfortable. We liked the location at it was close to Greve and easy to get to Gaiole. The town has a lot of good restaurants to visit such as La Botte di Bacco and La Perla.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Everything is excellent, brilliant staff, stunning rooms, great location, filling breakfast etc. highly recommend a stay here. Parking could be an issue in peak times.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa

Property: Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Address: Via Roma 33, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Leopoldo Hotel Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Radda In Chianti
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing