We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
264
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach eveningother gueststhe perfect hostclassical musichonesty baritalian hospitalityhome from homecountry housebalcony roomwonderful daysmagical placerestaurant recommendations and reservationstravel adviceowner managergreat thoughtexcellent attentionconsummate host
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 275 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at La Locanda at the end of May. This was the final stay of a two week trip which included The St Regis in Rome, Grand Bretagne in Athens and Perivolas in Santorini. I only mention these fine hotels to put into context the fact that I felt the most relaxed I felt over the two weeks at Guido and Martina's lovely country hotel. I had asked my wife (chief researcher for our trips) to find somewhere 'quiet and remote', and La Locanda is definitely that. After a lengthy trip by car from Naples we arrived with Guido telling us that he had made dinner reservations for us and would call the restaurant to push back the reservation, allowing us to join Guido for a pre dinner Prosecco. Dinner that night in the tiny village (population 37) of Volpaia was incredible. Guido's local knowledge and contacts really enabled us to maximize the short time we had in Chianti, and our one regret is the short amount of time we had to enjoy the hotel and Guido, particularly his home made limoncello!
Guido really is a perfect host in an incredible setting and we are already trying to figure out how we can get back next year for at least a week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Despite awful weather we had a wonderful holiday and staying at La Locanda with Martina and Guido was our best decision. They are great hosts and know the region very well and are happy to help with planning of trips, reserve table at restaurants or wine tasting. You should not miss Martina's cooking on Fridays, Mondays and Wednesdays as well as the Guido's excellent service. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished and the view is stunning. Unreserved recommendation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora B aus F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to La Locanda feeling spoilt and relaxed. The weather was cold, damp, foggy but with some hot sunshine, but the warmth of the welcome from Guido and Martina made up for it. Central heating was very welcome. Views from the room invite you stop and enjoy this very special place. Guido's travel advice is brilliant, from the directions to La Locanda, to the airport and to places of interest he helped smooth our holiday plans. From our first contact with Martina over booking to our farewell with Guido we have had a totally enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to get the views
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandytrip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just been on our third trip to La Locanda, as has been said by other reviewers the track down is a little bumpy but is more than well worth it. The hotel is small but perfect and absolutely charming surrounded by stunning scenery. there is a lovely pool looking over the Chianti hills and the picturesque hilltop village of Volpaia.While the hotel and the location are fabulous what really sets La Locanda apart are its owners Guido and Martina. Both are charming hosts full of information about the area with suggestions about places to see and things to do. Guido will make restaurant reservations and all his suggestions are great but you should stay in on the nights Martina is cooking! If you are going to stay there- lucky you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jandjo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our first stay was in '99 - just after Guido & Martina achieved there dream of opening the best small hotel in Tuscany. We discovered them by accident on the web. And we keep coming back for all the reasons in other reviews here.
We love the white road that leads here from Panzano and have driven it in our very low Healey replica and different hire cars many times.
The new Vueling airline base at Florence means there are direct flights into the airport that lies just 15 mins from the city. Heathrow is just 2 hours by Airbus 319. So La Locanda is just 75 minutes south of Florence in the rumpled, soft hills of Chianti. Surrounded by olive groves, vineyards and farms, you eat what you see. Sleep long and restful. And then wander through the beauty created by Guido & Martina nearly 20 years ago.
It's a home, but with the privacy & facilities of a top hotel. Outdoor pool & sun terrace, free wi-fi, honesty bar, beautiful garden lounge, bedrooms in great condition, linens & towels perfect, air conditioning.
And quite the most beautiful views in the world. Bring a decent camera with a wide lens. Or an easel.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews