We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$139
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo San Niccolo'(Radda in Chianti)(Great Value!)
$118
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CDH Hotel Radda(Radda in Chianti)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Sant'Uberto Country Inn(Radda in Chianti)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Relais Vignale(Radda in Chianti)
$156
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa(Radda in Chianti)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castello di Volpaia(Radda in Chianti)
$110
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Livernano(Radda in Chianti)
$175
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Podere Le Noci(Radda in Chianti)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
249
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach eveningother gueststhe perfect hostclassical musichonesty baritalian hospitalityhome from homecountry housebalcony roommagical placerestaurant recommendations and reservationstravel adviceowner managergreat thoughtexcellent attentionconsummate hostlovely bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 259 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed a week in the Locanda near Radda. It needs some time to find it over dirt roads (don't come with a Porsche) but then you can stay in a place full of quiet. We had a room with balcony and a very nice view. Looking around you see Volpaia and the wonderful scenery of Chianti. The Locanda itself is a country house with a big enough pool and very well looked after garden. The rooms were cleaned every day in perfection. But the best at La Locanda are Martina and Guido, the owners. The second day i felt as i knew them forever. They have the rare gift to let you feel like friends and at home. 3 evenings a week Guido cooks (superb). These were our favorite evenings, because then we hadn't to go out and could enjoy the dinner with a great wine of the region and other guests who were around. When we left we forgot something at La Locanda and the next day Martina advised me of that and sent it by post. Thank you very much Martina and Guido, for the wonderful days at La Locanda. O couple told us the first evening, they were coming already the sixth time. Now we know why. Perhaps once we will say the same to other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfr_public
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a time it was! We've been to Radda many times, so close to Locanda....but never opted to go to stay with Guido and Martina....but this time we gave it a try!!! We loved it...the calmness, the beauty, the views, the hospitality, the early evenings with proseco, cooking classes in nearby Volpaia, day trips into hill town Radda and Panzano,the gentle hike thru the vineyards to Volpaia for lunch....we could go on and on...and yes, we opted for the dinner that Martina so wonderfully made on Wednesday...loved meeting the other guests each evening before we all headed out...A superb spot...relaxing...the perfect respite for the one like us who goes, and goes....and just needs to unwind. Thank you!!!It was indeed amazing! We will be back to this tranquil oasis!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wedge6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've recently returned from our fourth (or is it fifth?) visit to LaLocanda in as many years. The track down may be little bumpy (you soon get used to it and our 2 seater sports car has never had a problem), but we know, once there all the cares in the world drop away from our shoulders as Guido and Martina warmly welcome us. The first thing we do is drink in the magnificent view which encourages you to simply stand and gaze. As hosts, Martina and Guido are perfect and are always on hand to offer advice, recommend and book restaurants and help in any way, but they also know when to leave their guests in peace. Should you need them, they will never be far away.

An early evening glass of prosecco or red wine and some hot nibbles is offered daily so guests can get to know each other, make new friends, or you can take it at peace in the garden or by the pool.

Each morning before breakfast (as exercise to stave off the huge lunches!) we walked to the top of the drive and back. Every morning we saw deer and stag, sometimes they would stand still and watch us carefully for a while. They may be a nuisance to Martina and eat her roses, but it is wonderful for us to see them!

Martina's cooking is not to be missed and it is worth dining in (she cooks 3 evenings a week). Lovely fresh, in season and delicate food. All served by her very able waiter, Guido (!), who is also able to recommend good Chianti wines to drink with it.

Our favourite room is number 6 upstairs from which has the most breathtaking views across the valley towards Volpaia and Radda. In particular, the views of early morning mist and one of which I never tire. But, should this be taken, we would be very happy in any of the other rooms. They are all beautifully presented and the maids keep them spotless.

Wherever else you are travelling in Italy, make sure you take time out from your trip to come here. To drink in the views, the wine, the warmth of Martina and Guido, their hospitality and, above all, to just sit and be.

We've certainly fully recharged our batteries, until next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiffgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arriving at La Locanda Country House, our first impression was one of tranquility, warmth and peace, its remoteness enhancing its appeal. Situated in the rolling hills of Chianti, the old stone buildings have been beautifully and lovingly restored using local stone and terra cotta tiles. A crystal clear pool provides a wonderful way to refresh after a hike in the hills and through the wineries. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with terra cotta tiled floors and rugs, plush chairs, a desk and a large bathroom. The careful attention to detail creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Some rooms boast generous verandahs overlooking the picturesque valley and others have a large separate lounge with plenty of room for a third bed. The main house has a kitchen, bar, dining room and an inviting lounge room, where Guido serves aperitifs and canapés each evening. Drinks, wine, tea or coffee are available at any time and the lounge room has many fascinating books to be enjoyed from the comfortable chairs. A covered terrace provides an idyllic spot for a sun-drenched breakfast or drinks in the glow of a brilliant sunset on a warm evening.
Guido and Martina warmly welcome you as old friends into their home. Nothing is too much trouble. On some evenings Martina cooks a beautiful 3-course meal, served with excellent wines from the region. On other evenings Guido recommends and makes reservations at restaurants in nearby villages. Guido offers suggestions and maps on the highlights of the region to be visited by car, bicycle or on foot. If you are feeling a little adventurous, the twenty-minute walk to Volpaia for dinner on a starlit evening is not to be missed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at La Locanda and will certainly recommend it to our friends. We would particularly like to thank Guido for going “above and beyond” when we had a problem involving our car. His assistance and advice was invaluable and very much appreciated.
A beautiful guest house in an idyllic location with warm and welcoming hosts – what more can one ask?

Room Tip: For couples, the rooms with a balcony overlooking the valley are beautiful. For three, the rooms with a separate lounge offer plenty of space.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

In such a crowded place as Tuscany it is a pleasure to find something so far off the beaten track. But don't let that thought make you think you will be uncomfortable. La Locanda has to be one of the nicest, civilised and charming places I have ever stayed. All this is due to the urbane charm and sophistication of Guido and Martina who own La Locanda. Two more genial hosts you could not find anywhere.

Martina cooks a set dinner 3 nights week and it is well worth having. Simple, beautifully prepared Italian food accompanied by a very well chosen list of local wine.

All in all a stunning location, lovely rooms, both bedrooms and public rooms and beautiful pool. It was easily warm enough to swim in early October. Don't hesitate - go now.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor have lovely private balconies from which to sit and admire the stunning views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gliffaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews