We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Locanda
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a time it was! We've been to Radda many times, so close to Locanda....but never opted to go to stay with Guido and Martina....but this time we gave it a try!!! We loved it...the calmness, the beauty, the views, the hospitality, the early evenings with proseco, cooking classes in nearby Volpaia, day trips into hill town Radda and Panzano,the gentle hike thru the vineyards to Volpaia for lunch....we could go on and on...and yes, we opted for the dinner that Martina so wonderfully made on Wednesday...loved meeting the other guests each evening before we all headed out...A superb spot...relaxing...the perfect respite for the one like us who goes, and goes....and just needs to unwind. Thank you!!!It was indeed amazing! We will be back to this tranquil oasis!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wedge6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
125
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We've recently returned from our fourth (or is it fifth?) visit to LaLocanda in as many years. The track down may be little bumpy (you soon get used to it and our 2 seater sports car has never had a problem), but we know, once there all the cares in the world drop away from our shoulders as Guido and Martina warmly welcome us. The first thing we do is drink in the magnificent view which encourages you to simply stand and gaze. As hosts, Martina and Guido are perfect and are always on hand to offer advice, recommend and book restaurants and help in any way, but they also know when to leave their guests in peace. Should you need them, they will never be far away.

An early evening glass of prosecco or red wine and some hot nibbles is offered daily so guests can get to know each other, make new friends, or you can take it at peace in the garden or by the pool.

Each morning before breakfast (as exercise to stave off the huge lunches!) we walked to the top of the drive and back. Every morning we saw deer and stag, sometimes they would stand still and watch us carefully for a while. They may be a nuisance to Martina and eat her roses, but it is wonderful for us to see them!

Martina's cooking is not to be missed and it is worth dining in (she cooks 3 evenings a week). Lovely fresh, in season and delicate food. All served by her very able waiter, Guido (!), who is also able to recommend good Chianti wines to drink with it.

Our favourite room is number 6 upstairs from which has the most breathtaking views across the valley towards Volpaia and Radda. In particular, the views of early morning mist and one of which I never tire. But, should this be taken, we would be very happy in any of the other rooms. They are all beautifully presented and the maids keep them spotless.

Wherever else you are travelling in Italy, make sure you take time out from your trip to come here. To drink in the views, the wine, the warmth of Martina and Guido, their hospitality and, above all, to just sit and be.

We've certainly fully recharged our batteries, until next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiffgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arriving at La Locanda Country House, our first impression was one of tranquility, warmth and peace, its remoteness enhancing its appeal. Situated in the rolling hills of Chianti, the old stone buildings have been beautifully and lovingly restored using local stone and terra cotta tiles. A crystal clear pool provides a wonderful way to refresh after a hike in the hills and through the wineries. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with terra cotta tiled floors and rugs, plush chairs, a desk and a large bathroom. The careful attention to detail creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Some rooms boast generous verandahs overlooking the picturesque valley and others have a large separate lounge with plenty of room for a third bed. The main house has a kitchen, bar, dining room and an inviting lounge room, where Guido serves aperitifs and canapés each evening. Drinks, wine, tea or coffee are available at any time and the lounge room has many fascinating books to be enjoyed from the comfortable chairs. A covered terrace provides an idyllic spot for a sun-drenched breakfast or drinks in the glow of a brilliant sunset on a warm evening.
Guido and Martina warmly welcome you as old friends into their home. Nothing is too much trouble. On some evenings Martina cooks a beautiful 3-course meal, served with excellent wines from the region. On other evenings Guido recommends and makes reservations at restaurants in nearby villages. Guido offers suggestions and maps on the highlights of the region to be visited by car, bicycle or on foot. If you are feeling a little adventurous, the twenty-minute walk to Volpaia for dinner on a starlit evening is not to be missed.
We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at La Locanda and will certainly recommend it to our friends. We would particularly like to thank Guido for going “above and beyond” when we had a problem involving our car. His assistance and advice was invaluable and very much appreciated.
A beautiful guest house in an idyllic location with warm and welcoming hosts – what more can one ask?

Room Tip: For couples, the rooms with a balcony overlooking the valley are beautiful. For three, the rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

In such a crowded place as Tuscany it is a pleasure to find something so far off the beaten track. But don't let that thought make you think you will be uncomfortable. La Locanda has to be one of the nicest, civilised and charming places I have ever stayed. All this is due to the urbane charm and sophistication of Guido and Martina who own La Locanda. Two more genial hosts you could not find anywhere.

Martina cooks a set dinner 3 nights week and it is well worth having. Simple, beautifully prepared Italian food accompanied by a very well chosen list of local wine.

All in all a stunning location, lovely rooms, both bedrooms and public rooms and beautiful pool. It was easily warm enough to swim in early October. Don't hesitate - go now.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor have lovely private balconies from which to sit and admire the stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gliffaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here in late August and were absolutely blown away by the location & charm of this accommodation. There is simply no terrible site, everywhere you look is just pure unadulterated beauty. It was remote and the nearest town of Volpaia was a delightful small town of only approximately 52 people, but this is what adds to its charm.
Guido & Martina were extremely hospitable and generous hosts, whose wealth of knowledge of the local area was terrific. A wealth of information from where to eat, to what to see & where to visit.
The accommodation itself was extremely stylish yet very subtle, down to the embroidered bed sheets! Attention to detail of our room fantastic, choice of furniture to colour schemes all worked in well with the surrounding landscape. And what can I say about the view, just WOW!
We had dinner here (which is an option on a select few nights), and it was sensational, as good as or better than any of the restaurants we dined at during our stay – speaking of which you’d be amazed at the quality of restaurants only a 15 minute drive away from this accommodation. Quality that you would except in any 5 star restaurant, but here in the back drop of Tuscany.
For anybody contemplating visiting Tuscany, please, please try something off the beaten tourist trodden track, come to La Locanda, and enjoy wonderful accommodation & hosts, quality eating and drinking and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our third or fourth visit to La Locanda? A beautiful place. With a wonderful couple, Guido and Martina who look after you. They will make sure you are well taken care of. Every need you have is met. Every question you have, they have an answer. They know all the best restaurants and places to go in Tuscany. They will make your stay with them and your stay in Radda one you will never forget. Plus you will come back again!

Room Tip: Be prepared for the "dirt road" from Volpaia to get there. The first time you drive there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

A true and complete escape to the Tuscan hills. A beautiful understanding of what 'time out' means in this hidden gem and Guido and Martina display a true sense of hosting, quietly but expertly. The rooms are so carefully styled and so welcoming and it's clear that attention has been paid to every single detail.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenconstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
6.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
5.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.0 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda

Property: La Locanda
Address: Localita Montanino SNC, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda is a charming small country inn with 6 rooms and 1 suite in the Chianti Classico countryside. It is located in a fantastically panoramic position, on the top of a hill overlooking the hamlet of Volpaia and the valley of Radda in Chianti. It is carefully run by the owners Guido and Martina Bevilacqua. Swimming pool and terrace for breakfast and al fresco dining on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Hotel Radda In Chianti
La Locanda Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing