We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View and Friendly Service”

La Loggia del Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spectacular View and Friendly Service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The views from this hill top restaurant are just spectacular. You really get to breathe in the atmosphere that makes the hills of Tuscany one of the most photographed vistas in the world. The background of vineyards and olive groves makes you feel like you are part of one of those beautifually photographed Italian romance movies. The menu of this fulll service restaurante and pizzaria is varied and full of local culture. You have to try the Picci Pasta with meat sauce regardless of what else you have.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    105
    48
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“It was enjoyable..and open1”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived in Radda when just about everything was closed..in late November. The hotel told us nothing much was open but we explored and found this place..went twice. It was hidden..ad to walk down some stairs off the street in the main area of Radda. It was really nothing special upon entering. Its certainly a very local place and the owner (I assume he was the owner..salt and pepper hair, in his 40s or 50s) was very nice. He makes his own olive oil which we bought from him although he doesn't really sell it. He was very accommodating though our language issues were a bit of a problem. The first time we went, we had previously had a big lunch and were not too hungry. Got there about 9 pm..he stayed open for us to get soup and pizza and wine . First time I got a fabulous homemade pizza margarita. Second time my husband and I shared a salad of pear, melon, olive, parmesan and lettuce. It was great. He had pici with sausage, bacon, mushrooms and tomato (later the heart attack,,).I forget now what I had but it was pasta and it was really good. Typical local atmosphere ..not spectacular, but very enjoyable . Two locals came in pretty late and he was happy to stay for them too. I just looked back at my rating and I can't really rate it 'average', and the next step up is 'very good'. It wasn't average, because the food was better than average..the atmosphere was 'average' but I don't want to do them an injustice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food, very friendly host/owner and great service too”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Dinner here on a Saturday evening was truly excellent and the entire evening experience made our visit to La Loggia del Chianti the best we had in two weeks in Tuscany, which included one week in Florence. The food was great: the cold cuts were very tasty as was the bread offered. One of the few restaurants that actually brought the olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the table right upfront with the breads. The beef file was "advertised" as being in red pepper souce, but it actually was in butter peppercorn and was excellent. The pizza my better half ordered, and of course I sampled, was the best I ever had, but please note they serve pizza only during the weekend dinners (don't know the reason); if you get there and it happens they offer the pizza, don't hesitate! Tiramisu was very close to the best I had at another place in Lucarelli. List of wines was pretty good and 375 ml bottles were also offered. The house aged grappa was the best out of a number of restaurants in the area. Price was good for the food served and for the very good service which was perfect: well balanced low key and attentive as needed. Don't miss this restaurant if you are in Radda in Chianti! I highly recommend it. Did I mention you won't break the bank to pay for this excellent meal? (I.e., great value too)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

It was the best food we had in Italy, the hospitality was second to none as the owner, cook was very gregarious by showing my husband how the grill/pizza oven works, along with his wife and son, who we shared Grappa with at the end of the meal, which we love. Only sorry we found it on our last night but we plan to visit next time we'er in Italy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great experience! The food was excellent. Our choices included the ribollita, the fantasia salad and pear salad. The pici pasta is a great choice - a Tuscan pasta dish.The pollo primavera was outstanding. The pizza is amazing - size and quality! (Pizza on weekends only). Great choice of Tuscan wines and others. The hospitality is second to none as the owner/ cook / host - Michele is a gregarious, warm character along with his wife and family. We have been to the Loggia more than once and keep going back. A great view of the Tuscan countryside and wineries in the distant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pellegrino F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Loggia del Chianti also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Volpaia, Radda in Chianti
 

Been to La Loggia del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing