We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Villa in Chianti: Casavecchia at Castello di Volpaia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello di Volpaia
Reviewed May 6, 2008

My husband, myself, and our adult children/spouses spent a week at Casavecchia, a villa that sleeps 8. It was a 4-bedroom, 4.5-bath restored farmhouse with fabulous views across the wine estate from a wonderful terrace that we frequented often. The bathrooms were very nicely upgraded and 2 of the bedrooms were medium size with 2 large sized. The best thing about the villa, however, is that a housekeeper/cook is included in the price for 8 hrs. each day from Monday-Friday. It was so special to tour all day, then come home to wine glasses set out and appetizers prepared for cocktail hour. The dining room table would be set and dinner was ready each evening with whatever courses we selected. We stuffed ourselves each night on delicious food and then sat around visiting while Donika cleaned up the kitchen. She was friendly, helpful, and a delight. It just doesn't get any better!!

Volpaia village is a 12th Century village owned by the winery. They have apartments and other villas for rent. Casavecchia though was just perfect for us.

6  Thank TexasGal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed in the Chianti Classico apartment in Volpaia and really enjoyed it. This is a self-service apartment with a living room, bedroom and kitchen. The apartment is in the fortified town of Volpaia. Two restaurants and a bar/eatery are also in the town.

We very much enjoyed staying in this historic property and used it as a base to explore the entire Chianti region. Check in/out was easy, we were directed to the office by the manager of the tasting room. During our stay we were also treated to a private tour of the winery and the olive oil production areas. The winery is "hidden" inside the ancient buildings of Volpaia.

Volpaia is a 10-15 minute drive from Radda which has a nice supermarket to stock up with coffee and other necessities.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gdifra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isanoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank bee1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank NicolaR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrizia1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
576 reviews
2.8 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
906 reviews
2.1 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Volpaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Volpaia

Address: PIazza della Cisterna | Loc. Volpaia, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $142 - $731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Volpaia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Volpaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Volpaia Hotel Radda In Chianti
Castello Di Volpaia Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing