We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cooking class the second time around”

Castello di Volpaia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The wines produced on the estate of Volpaia are among the best in the Chianti Classico area, and the cellars are well worth a visit.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cooking class the second time around”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Six years ago our group of 10 visited the Castello Di Volpaia cooking class while staying at Castello Di Casole and has a great time cooking a lunch we had prepared. We returned again for a dinner class and dinner with our host Giovannella. The class was fun and the dinner with Giovannella and the stories we shared were great. To learn the secrets of Tuscany cooking this is the perfect way to spend a half day.
The tour of the winery was very interesting and the olive oil production, all hidden in old buildings was very fun to see.
We will return again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois 60044
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a beautiful, tiny hill town.”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Lovely tiny hill town which is now a winery. Fabulous views and wine tastings. Up a rather windy road, but a well paved one.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank meatthebluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful village with stunning scenery and excellent restaurants”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We visited Volpaia on a wine tour of Chianti Classico. We took lunch at La Bottega in the centro storico and everyone of us thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous cuisine and wines. For those who are into historical sites then this is the place for you. Also a very peaceful place too where you can sit back and enjoy a glass of wine or two in spectacular surroundings. After lunch we travelled by minibus to Lamole on the white back road (Strade Bianche) which was a great adventure.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank UK_Wine_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, VA, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery and great wines”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This winery is in the hills of Chianti and it is extremely beautiful. It has two great restaurants, a tasting facility and has its own beautiful church and is essentially a Castle. There are guest rooms for rent as well. It would be a beautiful place for a wedding. The wines were great and we did a lot of tasting there. We walked around the grounds and took a lot of pictures. The food was also fantastic and we ate out on a terrace with awe inspiring view of the hills of Chianti. We did not do a tour like we did of other wineries, but this was a great find. I would highly recommend this winery.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank phillip_norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Giovenella was outstanding - the perfect host!”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I had one of our best days on our honeymoon at giovenella's cooking class. We were with another couple and spent a good four hours with our impeccable host. Cooked several beautiful dishes and got a real insight into the history of volpaia. Great tour of the winery and olive oil production too...but the food, wine and company was outstanding.

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyBoy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Volpaia also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Castello di Volpaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing