We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven not far from Siena”
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Only 30 kms from Siena, and a little further from Florence, this Tuscan medieval village still has its medieval walls as well as good cafes and some fun shopping. The rooms, including ours, at the rear of the Relais Fattoria Vignale and in the Annexe, look across vineyards and woodland. The hotel was originally the manor house of a large vineyard and is the traditional Headquarters of the Consortium Vino Chianti Classico. The building retains many of its original architectural features and is a charming and comfortable place to stay. The coffee table in one of the sitting rooms is a feature. There was the occasional crisis at breakfast about lack of cereal bowls which seems odd for a large hotel, but the staff was helpful and friendly, if occasionally "Fawlty Towers" and would highly recommend for a peaceful stay close to a range of wonderful walks, historic buildings, churches and of course, wine centres.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the main building probably have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndleyLyndley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 597 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was one of the most brilliant stops on our recent vacation. We had all of our meals at this hotel (something we NEVER do) because quite frankly we were in gastronomic heaven. If you're looking for 100 menu items you may find yourself in want.. The menu is small, but everything is truly befitting of Tuscan cuisine at its finest. That's before we mention the breathtaking view of the Tuscan countryside. Very quiet and romantic.. Has an "off the beaten path" feel.

The service is outstanding. We were badly delayed arriving due to trouble getting out of Venice (yes the dazzled tourists missed the train).. nonetheless, 1 sketchy private cab ride and we were back on track. Trouble was we were to arrive around 3AM. 1 phone call to advise them and they had a top notch welcome still waiting for us when we finally arrived. The room was huge and had an amazing rustic feel - perfect for the setting.

Tomaszo was our brilliant waiter and he is a wonderful sommelier.

We also enjoyed a wine tasting that was free of charge and done on premises. The only thing we couldn't taste was a brunello. Fair enough.

The only suggestion for improvement would be to install a couple network repeaters so that the free wifi is accessible in rooms also!

Wonderful choice for a romantic getaway. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepdownNyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights here during our honeymoon (June 2012). What a wonderful experience! Location is great - right in town of Radda but back side of property faces vineyards and rolling hills, making you feel like you're way out in the country. We had a suite (room 73) which was huge (bedroom, sitting room, and large bathroom) and had a small private balcony with a table and chairs where we shared many bottles of brunello. Service was great - we felt like we were coming home to our family each night (unlike our next hotel in Camogli - which really made us miss Vignale - that's another review!). You will not be disappointed if you stay here. We are already plotting our next trip back :)
Holly, NYC

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Relais Vignale in Radda this May. The staff was wonderful and very helpful in giving us recommendations. Our room was very clean with an oversize bathroom. The hotel has beautiful views over looking the tuscany countryside. Radda is a charming town and close to magnificant wineries. I recommend Meleto Castello for sure!!! The breakfast was included and very extensive. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return again someday. My husband also left his expensive camera lense in the room and they politely mailed it back to us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcarroll2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Radda is a small and charming town in Tuscany - great place to relax during holidays.
The hotel is situated in a very old building but it's well maintained and has all the amenities. The terrace, swimming pool and restaurant areas overlook the stunning tuscanian landscape, which makes the hotel wonderfully placed. Having breakfast while enjoying the sunrise over windeyards and hills is fantastic.
The staff is very friendly and they talk many languages, which makes you feel like at home.
We were very satisfied with the hotel - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulkaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our 2 nights at the Relais Vignale in Radda in Chianti. While it was in June 2012 and very warm (80s-90s F), the pool was a comfort to have. The rooms are advertised to have air conditioning, but unfortunately--it blew hot air into the room--making it more humid and uncomfortable. Sleeping with cold washcloths was not our idea of AC. Despite the heat, the rest of the hotel was charming. Wifi available in the spacious lobby/seating areas. Very friendly staff who speak English. Gave recommendations for local winery tours. A short walk into town center/tourist information. The restaurant has a good dinner selection, and very knowledgeable wait staff on wine. Breakfast was extensive and included. Bathroom was large and shower was decent size. Only downfall would be the warm room.

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor, which may have contributed to the poor AC unit quality (the type that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights.Radda in Chianti is a small town located on a hill in Tuscany, between the two main cities of Florence and Sienna. The town was small and quiet. The hotel was in a very good location. The room had a widow opening on a breathtaking scenery, typical of Tuscany. The room was quite comfortable and clean. We liked very much the town which had both the flair of rural Tuscany, but was also near the big cities. And if Radda, surely Relais Vignale.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vejavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
567 reviews
2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#3 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $117 - $1,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing