We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Vignale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Vignale
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
NH, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stunning accommodations, this hotel had an elegant rustic feel. It was easy to find as it is right on the 429, room was very clean. The breakfast buffet had eggs, meats, cheese, pastries, cereal, several loafs of fresh breads to choose, juices, tea/coffee, and fresh fruit. Every morning we sat by the pool that had a gorgeous view and before dinner there were several places to sit and relax drinking wine. The service was great except for the girl who ran the tastings in the wine room, their house wine is fabulous and they have free tastings daily. Its right in town so you can walk to shops and restaurant, they can set up tours for you. We visited late Sept, the pool was not heated as advertised but we still swam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    128
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
61
316
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for five nights in September and had a lovely stay. We were initially given a room across the road in the annexe - we didn't really like it though, as it was a family room (2 bedrooms) which we didn't need and we didn't like being away from the main building. We asked to change rooms and the room we were given was much nicer - a lot more character and a nicer bathroom too.

The best big about the hotel is the view (our room faced the road but from all communal areas we could admire the view) - of a vineyard and olive grove covered valley, just beautiful. The pool area is lovely and the terrace off the lounges is the perfect spot to enjoy a pre-dinner martini bianco. The bar manager is brilliant - fantastic service and very charming.

All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay (book on expedia for cheaper rates!) and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is in a fabulous location overlooking the Chianti vineyards. Relaxing by the pool and listening to the roosters was unique. Room was comfortable, only problem was the shower curtain in the bathroom didn't do its job and there was a lot of water on the floor that didn't have anywhere to drain. Parking was great, when you arrive, park the car in the 3-car space across from the entrance to unload your luggage and then go park the car. Breakfast was outstanding: everything you could wish for - pastries, cheese, meats, cherry tomatoes, fresh fruit, juices, fancy coffee drinks, yogurt, cereal etc. There is also a wine/olive oil shop where you could purchase some local treats. The interior of the hotel is also very charming with antique furniture and beautifully decorated spaces. Overall a very memorable and romantic stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polentzeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid August and it was just as we thought it would be. Quaint rooms, quiet town, peaceful hotel, with stunning views of Chianti. The town is right across the steet where you can buy some fantastic wines, truffles, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and great prices.

The pool at the hotel is relaxing and the recommendations from the staff worked perfectly. Service was very good, and the breakfast was satisfactory.

I would stay there again and again, as this was my sanctuary.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car with you if you wish to leave the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We ha a great huge suite for us and our 2 kids with a view like on a tacky postcard of the hills of tuscany. The restaurant is outstanding, the stuff is very very nice and the service is great. it is not really a kid's hotel, but even they weren't too bored, as they could jump into the pool.
Ideal for poeple who look for a quite peaceful place to relax. Pretty far to drive to the next city 30 to 45 minutes), but for this you get nature pure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Os Municipality, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We had stayed at a really nice 4 star hotel in Bibbona so our expectations were high. First of all I think we were unlucky with the room. We had booked a superior double room. The first room we got a key to was already occupied (you can imagine our surprise)!!! The next room we got was in the annex (across the street from the main building). The room had an extra bedroom which was totally useless for us. I would have prefered a room with a sitting area. The bathroom standard was pretty poor. The word "Superior" means that the room has a view over the fields and not towards the street. However our room was way at the bottom of the annex which made it really dark. We asked for a new room but everything was full. The room we had, and especially the bathroom could need a make-over.
The breakfast buffet was large and to some extent ok. It was a shame however that they did not have more fresh fruit being in Italy, there was fruit but it was not very fresh. They offered two types of musli, one with fruit and one with chocolate. However both boxes were with chocolate even though the text said it was fruit. One day we came down to breakfast a bit later (at 10.00, breakfast ended at 10.30) and the fruit, bread and yoghurts were almost empty. Compared to the breakfast buffets we had at the 3 other hotels we stayed at during our trip this was the least Italian one, felt much more like one you would get in Germany. We did not have dinner in any of the restaurants so I cannot comment on that.
The hotel had an nice pool area with a great view of the area. Internet was only available in the area outside the reception.
My conclusion is that it felt as if the hotel was on auto-pilot, meaning that they delivered just what was necessary. It felt as if they have had a routine that has worked for many years which might not be so modern today. At least I expect a bit more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The rooms were nice and had great views. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sommelier in the wine shop stayed open a little later than she was supposed to to accommodate our group and package up our bottles that we purchased. She was even nice about it. She also gave us some great recommendations for other things around town. The grounds of this hotel are very picturesque and romantic with lots of flowers and plants - they even have a nice pool. Everything was great here. What a place to relax.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedaveymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
8.1 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Vignale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Vignale

Property: Relais Vignale
Address: Via Pianigiani 9, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#4 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#5 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Vignale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Vignale is an 18th-century villa located in Radda’s centre. It has a pool and features panoramic views across the Tuscan countryside from its restaurant terrace. Rooms are rustic yet elegant.Relais Vignale includes a collection of period furniture, frescoed ceilings, and grand fireplaces. Each room is individually designed, and comes with air conditioning and satellite TV..The in-house restaurant offers a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes and fine local wines. Attentive staff organise tastings in the property’s wine shop.The outdoor pool is heated and surrounded by a floral garden. There is also a TV room, lounge bar and library, plus free Wi-Fi in communal areas.The property is surrounded by the villages of the Chianti Classico wine region. Siena and Florence are both under an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Vignale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fattoria Vignale Hotel Radda In Chianti
Relais Vignale Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing