We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Major Let Down”
Review of Il Paggino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Paggino
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A beautiful location but badly let down by a couple who had no idea how to look after there guests. The acommodation was dirty the kitchens ill equiped and whilst with comparatively little effort things could have been good we felt badly let down. Returning to our apartment each day was a let down and even a visit to the swimming pool produced a dirty facility which was completely unattended whilst we were there and left us with no desire to swim.
This could have so easily been an excellent holiday but turned out to be a major let down. THIS YOUNG COUPLE HAVE A GREAT DEAL TO LEARN

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johntate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Direttore at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear fam. Tate

thank you to have spent your vacation in our property, we hope to have back your family with us. We would like to reccomend you for your next time to talk with our Customer Support in the property, it could be help for you, instead of spend the full holiday in silence.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at Il Paggino for two weeks in June 2010, in Arcobaleno apartment. Our overall impression of this wonderfully converted farm complex was very positive and would have no hesitation in commending it to any of our friends. Of course there are always points one can see where improvement could be made, but really in this case they were fairly minor.

Tuscany is of course a beautiful region, and Il Paggino is ideally situated to take full advantage of some wonderful views. The location is ideal for exploring Chianti and Tuscany in general. Of course Florence and Siena, and we particularly enjoyed San Gimignano, Montereggioni and Volterra. The local village /town of Radda however, we felt is as nice as anywhere, and we enjoyed many a leisurely beer/wine/coffee there. The nearby small village of Volpaia is worth a stroll round, and has three very good restaurants, though we were not blown away by the food we found anywhere in Italy.

The apartment itself is excellent. Sleeps six comfortably, beds etc very clean and comfortable, and was very cool on the hotter days. However, a couple of small improvements could have made it better. A good kettle might be more important to us British than to our continental cousins, but the one we had was tiny and took ages to boil. If I was going again, I would buy one at Tesco before I went and probably leave it there. The beautiful terracotta tile floor could do with bringing back to its best which would not be hard to do, and although the showers worked fine, for some reason the hot water in the bathrooms never got above a trickle. But as I said, these are minor niggles and I wouldn’t let those put you off.
The outside areas are excellent. Each apartment has its own sit out area, the pool is very good, and again with wonderful views.

Overall a very enjoyable experience in a most wonderful part of the world. If I were to offer any advice it would be this. Unlike many of the more commercialised tourist areas, Tuscany virtually closes down at siesta time, between one o’clock and four. At the risk of stating the obvious, if you are going for a wander round any of the historic towns etc, do so after four when the atmosphere is so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank's for your Il Paggino impressions and thank you for your review.
Tuscany life now is part of your life and we wish to have back your family in our farm. What you wrote on Tripadvisor is very important for everybody, specially for us, so for this reason we say one more time thank you.

All the best for you
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Eleonora and Francesco are very good at making the stay a cosy one, and they are easy to talk to. The rooms are in old toscan way, which is what we are looking for. Il Paggino is located in an area of typical toscan hills. Our apartment Viola has a fantastic view of these hills. After a few days at Il Paggino you are totally relaxed and your stress has all gone away. The Chianti area is full of very good restaurants and you can allways find a wine castle to visit. Just try it or ask Eleonora/Francesco. We will definetely come back again. (We have stayed at Il Paggino tree times untill now). Ciao Eleonora and Francesco. Alla prossima!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livsnyderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

All the time we meet you family is a nice experience and good feeling.
We are very glad to know how you felt with us, Il Paggino is an little family and alll Guest that coming in our house are part of it.

We wish all the best for you and may be see you again one more time

Grazie
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

ideal location for visiting the Tuscany area and local vineyards

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinaLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your rview, has been a pleasure have your family in our house.
We wish all the best for you and may be see you again in the future

Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Having stayed at the “Rosa” apartment for 2 weeks recently we would like to make the following observations. We arrived later than planned (approx 18.15 due to delayed flight and accident on motorway) having had a 14 hr journey but were only given a very brief guide to the property by the owners and then they were gone for the next 6 days. Inside the apartment were only toilet rolls and a can of insect spray (very useful against the hornets); we were fortunate that the local CO-OP was open until 20.00 to allow us to purchase basics! We would have been prepared to pay for a welcome pack, this would have been useful especially as many of the guests would have arrived by plane and not be carrying any food. No cleaning was done on behalf of the owners during our 2 week stay, we were also expected to strip and replace the bedding after the first week. The showers needed constant care during use as they only were able to supply water that was either too hot or too cold, the boiler being totally unsuitable for this type of shower. The evening meal, so prominently mentioned on the website was not offered during our stay. We would agree that the apartment is in an idyllic location but that the owners should consider the above points for future guests.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wootton-wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

We would like to say thanks to your family to have been in Tuscany area and decided to spend your vacation in our house. Our unswer arrive now but it doesn' t mean that we didn't apreciated your review, for us is very important to understand how our Guest fell in our house but could be nice also understand it when you are in the property.
Reading you review we found some incorrect informations, we are talking about 2009 year, in that time weekly compulsory cleaning wasn't a service we didn't have as services and we didn't have dinner as service. Today (2011 almost 2012) Il Paggino house has grown a lot becaming an charming Tuscany villa, and working to give a maximum confort to all our Guest inside and out side the apartments.
Finally we say thank you one more time because from your review we can growin better.

We wish yuo all the best and have your family back in our house one day.

Grazie
Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed at the lovely Viola apartment in the converted farm buildings at Il Paggino. Rustic charm though well equipped & comfortable, and the shared pool was very welcome at the end of a long day sight seeing. We enjoyed many an evening enjoying the local wine on our private patio area. Owners Eleonora & Francesco live on site and they were lovely, very welcoming and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Il Paggino is ideally located to explore the stunning surrounding countryside - we visited beautiful Florence (we did a walking tour with Dark Rome booked via Viatour which was excellent) , Sienna , Pisa, Lucca to name but a few. San Gimignano & a visit to the winery at nearby Volpaia was our favourite day. The chianti hill towns are all so pretty, locals friendly, the pace of life calming and food ( & wine of course!) fantastic. Would love to return and would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jujoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you to spent your vaction with us, all the time decide to be back it will be a pleasure for us.

Thank you again
Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Tucked away just below the walls of Radda, this spot is the perfect place to unwind. In a beautiful location looking over the valley towards Volpaia, the peace and quiet soon creeps into you and is the perfect remedy for the tensions of modern life. Francesco and Eleanora make you feel at home immediately. The apartments are pretty and clean, though the kitchens equipment is somewhat limited. The gardens are extensive, and there are wonderful views from the pool.

Il Paggino is perfectly placed to explore Chianti - a beautiful part of Tuscany. The hill towns around Siena are easily reached. Each one having its own character. Siena and Florence are also both worth visits. The bus to Florence stops right outside.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your warm word about our property and about us.
It wil be a big pleasure have your family back with us.

All the best for you
Best Regards
Eleonora &Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
4.8 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#5 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
880 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paggino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paggino

Address: Localita Paggino 73, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $63 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Paggino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Paggino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing