We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location..but average apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Paggino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Paggino
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely location..but average apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent a week in a one-bedroomed apartment at Il Paggino, and found overall that there were some very good points to our stay, combined with some that were average.

Firstly, the good - the location is beautiful as others have said (the road is close by, but we didn't find that this detracted from the tranquility of our visit). Our apartment was quite spacious for our party of three (2 adults and teenage son), with two bathrooms. It had a beautiful terrace with plentiful garden furniture, perfect for sharing a glass of wine and watching the sun set over the hills and valley. We liked the pool area and found that there were enough sunbeds and parasols for everyone - had some lovely swims in there, admiring the views. Also, Il Paggino is close to Radda in Chianti - there is a wide choice of restaurants and trattorias in every price range, together with some interesting shops. A great way to spend a morning is browsing the little shops whilst stopping for a coffee & pastry in one of the cafes. The Co-op there is well-stocked too.

However, on balance we felt that our particular apartment was somewhat tired, in particular the kitchen area and two bathrooms which would benefit from some general improvement. Our main bedroom was large and decorated in a rustic style which was ok, and my son had the sofa bed in the living area, but this was old and tatty with stained cushions etc. Kitchen equipment was on the poor side. This contributed to our overall impression that the apartments particularly (and I cannot comment on the B&B rooms) are suffering from a lack of close attention, which echoes the experiences of others staying here at the same time. Maintenance around the grounds, particularly near the pool where broken glass was not cleared for a few days, was not done regularly. As others have commented, we did not see the owners after our check-in at 6pm on Saturday - we had a friendly welcome, but upon leaving a week later were nowhere to be seen.

So, our fair assessment of our holiday accommodation was some really good features, but others not so great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RushHourSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, and to have choesen our house for your Tuscany Experience. We red your comment and we would like to say that we take care a lot about your opinion becuase you gave us the opportunity and help to grow in better and give you the best service as we can.

However there is a point we would like to unswer, it can happen that when we are in the farm or around the farm most of the time you are out of the farm for your Tuscany trip and when you will be back late evening we are not anymore there but as you know every morning from Monday to Sunday we have our office point opened for you.

By the way we wish you all the best and we wish also to have you back in our house

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    12
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We arrived on the 9th July for four nights, as part of our honeymoon. We were met by Eleonora, who could not have done enough. She went through various parts showing us places of interest, which was well received especially with the complementary glass of red wine to help the thirst. She then took us to our bed and breakfast room which had its own patio area. This was idyllic. We could not believe the breathtaking views. The breakfasts in the morning were lovely with different treats for us to eat, including a warm croissant as well as loads of other cereal features. By the time we had our breakfast and got to the room it had been cleaned and the bathroom facilities replaced. Our stay was so relaxing and wonderful. We have already told friends about going back, and there is no doubt we would certainly stay at Il Paggino again. We could not have asked for more.
Thank you for making our first visit to Tuscany such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you are staying Bed and Breakfast then stay in the room with its own patio as there is a table an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It's very important for understand how our Guest feel in our Tuscany house. Our Guest becaming part of our family since we recive the first mail.
We are happy to know that your room vas perfect and you had a nice Honeymoon. Drink a galss of Chianti wine was a pleasure to let you know our family.

We wish all the best and may be see you again in the future
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

With rustic charm, awesome views across the Tuscan hills and pool to dip into when the heat gets too much. Il Paggino was everything we expected...and more. The villa 'Mimosa ' was small but met with our needs. Although we didn't meet the owners much (other than at check in and mainly because we were out every day) they were on hand to help with any problems. The gardens are a delight to sit in and watch the wildlife,and just to relax and wind down. Although our villa was quite close to the main road, we didn't experience any nuisance noise, but some traffic noise is to be expected. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and had ample space. The living and kitchen areas are typically Tuscan, just how you would expect. Anyone expecting ultra modern appliances and high tech gadgets need not apply! Personally I would have been disappointed if this was the case. All in all, we had a lovely holiday,ate far too much and have come home with some great pictures and memories. Thank you Eleonora & Francesco for welcoming us to your home.

Room Tip: Mimosa has a double room and a twin room. Both look out over the gardens. Can get very hot during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenweatherer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you to have choesen our little family house for your Tuscany Experience, has been a pleasure gave you all our support and we wish to meet you one more time in the future.

Thanks to have explained for all the and eventually Guest how Villa Mimosa is, it's port of our litle farm house where you can find a nice and warm Tuscany atmosphere.

All the best for you and Thank you one more time for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aabenraa, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I went to Il Paggino for the 4th time in june/july 2011. We had a nice cosy apartment with our own relative big terrace with a beautiful view at the Tuscan hills. The place is beautiful with a nice very big garden and a pool area with a fantastic view. The only negative is that the stay is a bit expensive. The nearby town Radda is a great place to visit. We often had dinner at the Colle Bereto bar at the piazza in the middle of the town. It is not expensive and the food is great. We also visited the vineyard of Colle Bereto just outside of Radda. It can be recommended, but it helps if you understand a bit Italian. For winelovers we can also recommend a visit to Castello di Brolio, Castello di Nipozzano or Castello di Fonterutoli (they also have a great restaurant). And in Gaiole there is a fine and relative cheap enoteca. Here you have the opportunity to sit outside the enoteca and enjoy their own cold whitewine for 1 euro per glass. (They make great Chianti Classico and Chianti Classico Riserva as well, which you can buy at a good Price in the enoteca). Also visit Greve with the beautiful piazza. Mangiando Mangiando is a great place to eat (its on the piazza). Near Il Paggino we can recommend Osteria Le Panzanelle.
Livsnydere

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livsnydere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for your nice review.
It's important for us understand how our Guest feel during the vacation and It was also nice met you again, it means that you felt part of our little family during your stay.
We are glad also to understand that your holiday in Viola apartment was good and relaxing. It's good also left good raccomedation about nerby restaurants.
We wish you all the best and it will a pleasure for us meet you again in our house.

Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The grounds are pretty. The views beautiful. The bed comfortable. The road noise was disturbing at all hours and did not match the idyllic location. We NEVER saw the owners. The check in instructions said check in was only between 4:00 and 6:00 p.m. We left Florence early so we could arrive during the two hour block only to be met with a note saying the key was in the door. NOT a good way to start! The breakfast was the same thing every day.. no variety. This isn't a bed and breakfast or charming country house vacation, but an impersonnal hotel with an average and boring breakfast. Oh, and a pack of wild dogs yipped and barked throughout the night. Disconcerting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your personal review, we take care a lot about Customer opinion.
We remeber your family that in all voucher we send to our Guest there are all informations about personl booking and there is also mentioned to call our family for any kind of delay and in your case we didn’t recive any informations, emails or phone calls, because it wasn’t a problem wait longer for you. We inform you also that our house is an hotel and not a resort but only a warm family house composed by apartments and three exclusive rooms where all Guest are part of our little family.
I want to unswer also about the point: “We NEVER saw the owners”; your family left every day the house after breakfast service to be back again before dinner time and most of the time after dinner time so it was very difficult meet with us.
At the end we would like to remember to your family that you decided to have your vacation in a countryside and not in a centre of the town so it’s possibile hear during a day some wild nature animal that are part of the Tuscany atmosphere.
We wish also all the best for you and we hope see you again in the future

Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dokkum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had a great stay at Il Paggino. De comfort room is cosy, had a great shower en a nice seating outside. De swimmingpool was clean and big enough. De view from the swimmingpool is breathtaking. Wercould sit there all evening, just watching te sun go down en looking over the typically tuscan hills. The breakfast whas a little simple in comparison with the overall stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thanks for you review, we are pleased to know about good feeling in our property and we are glad also to understand that you felt good during your holiday in our hpuse and in the Confort room.

We wish to have back your family one day with us

Thank you again and all the best for you
Grazie
Eleonora & Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Again, we liked our stay very much! We visited Il Paggino in 2007 and now in June 2011 again. Again we felt right at home! We have had a great reception and the accommondation is perfect. Just outside the town, but the cities are nearby. The pool, appartment, beds, shower and kitchen are great! Good recommendation of restaurants nearby and the hosts are always there when you need them. They speak very good English! In short, we have enjoyed our stay and will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talliemeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thanks for your review, it's nice to understand that you felt good with us and also important your opinion about Il Paggino's life, for us and for all Guest that already been with us and for the new Guest that are thinking about be with us .
We wish you all the best for the life and also meet you again one day in the future.

Thank you
Eleonora & Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.1 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paggino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paggino

Property: Il Paggino
Address: Localita Paggino 73, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Paggino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Paggino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing