We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Paggino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pensione Elio Pistolesi(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Il Girarrosto Semplici(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo San Niccolo'(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Vignale(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locatione(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Torre Canvalle(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Podere Val delle Corti(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
CDH Hotel Radda(Radda in Chianti)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
59
26
12
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
26
12
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolenjoyed our staychianti regionhostspropertyflorencevolpaiaviewsbase
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 111 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Agrifoglio apartment and we couldn't have been more pleased. The apartment was exactly what we wanted with a lovely living room, great small kitchen, beautiful bedroom and two bathrooms. But honestly we spent the majority of the time on our terrace which had the most jaw-droppingly gorgeous views of the Tuscan valley. The owners were wonderfully kind and helpful with a glass of wine at our arrival, a basket of food in the room, and advice on restaurants, bus schedules, routes to various locations and more. The pool was a great place to unwind and all the property grounds are lovely. Plus, it's very close to Radda and Volpaia, two of the most charming towns around. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newty210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Thanks for your unique word you had about our house, thanks for you review and thanks because you decided to spend your Tuscany holiday in our house.
We are very glad to know how was yourr holiday, your opinion is a good help for us and for other Guest .

May be we will meet your family again at Il Paggino

Grazie
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We spent a while researching Villas in the Chianti region and were delighted on our arrival to find such a beautiful Villa at the Farmhouse in Radda "Il Paggino". The views and location are breathtaking, and peace and serenity come as standard. The owners Eleonora & Francesco are charming and made us feel very welcome. They clearly have a passion for what they do, and for providing a wonderful environment in which to relax. The property was ideally located for trips to Volterra, Siena, Florence, local restaurants, and for the Mugello MotoGP, or for when you just fancy a lazy day by the pool supporting the local vineyards. On reading the couple of negative reviews, I struggle to relate to the puerile comments and suggest other readers ignore. Maybe you should try Butlins next time?

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MC1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Grazie for your review, was nice and funny talking with you about Mugello MotoGP. You created a magic atmosphere in our house. Your opinion is very impressive & important for us and make our family in condition to work better in better.

Thank you and see you soon
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We spent six nights at Il Paggino from October 9-15 in the Gelsomino Apartment. We were very pleased with our accomodation- two beautiful bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living room, kitchen and dining room. We found the kitchen well equipped and were especially happy to have an American coffee maker. Because the weather that week was cool and cloudy many of the days, we were not able to fully enjoy the picturesque grounds but I would love to visit again when the weather was warmer to enjoy the many patio areas to take in the wonderful views. We appreciated having WiFi enabling us to keep in touch with family at home. We did miss having a TV or stereo system in the apartment.
Il Paggino is about 2 km from Radda, which is a lovely Tuscan town with many interesting shops, restaurants, as well as a well stocked grocery store (COOP). We had rented a car in Pisa and had a pleasant drive to Radda via Greve in Chianti. We made easy day trips from Il Paggino to Florence, (driving in to Piazza Michelangelo and parking there for the day), Siena, San Gimignano, Montalcino, and Pienza.
After reading some criticisms of the owners, I think it should be mentioned that they have just had a new baby and the normal routine has most certainly be disrupted. We found Francesco to be a very obliging host and did not mind that he was absent some of the time we were there.
We would highly recommend Il Paggino.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank you for your nice review, and we are very happy to understand how was your holiday in our farm. it's very important explain your feeling during your holiday because you can give the possbility to all new Guest to try to understand Il Paggino house.

Thank you again for your nice review and we wish to meet you again with us

Best Regards
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

A beautiful location but badly let down by a couple who had no idea how to look after there guests. The acommodation was dirty the kitchens ill equiped and whilst with comparatively little effort things could have been good we felt badly let down. Returning to our apartment each day was a let down and even a visit to the swimming pool produced a dirty facility which was completely unattended whilst we were there and left us with no desire to swim.
This could have so easily been an excellent holiday but turned out to be a major let down. THIS YOUNG COUPLE HAVE A GREAT DEAL TO LEARN

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johntate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Direttore at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear fam. Tate

thank you to have spent your vacation in our property, we hope to have back your family with us. We would like to reccomend you for your next time to talk with our Customer Support in the property, it could be help for you, instead of spend the full holiday in silence.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at Il Paggino for two weeks in June 2010, in Arcobaleno apartment. Our overall impression of this wonderfully converted farm complex was very positive and would have no hesitation in commending it to any of our friends. Of course there are always points one can see where improvement could be made, but really in this case they were fairly minor.

Tuscany is of course a beautiful region, and Il Paggino is ideally situated to take full advantage of some wonderful views. The location is ideal for exploring Chianti and Tuscany in general. Of course Florence and Siena, and we particularly enjoyed San Gimignano, Montereggioni and Volterra. The local village /town of Radda however, we felt is as nice as anywhere, and we enjoyed many a leisurely beer/wine/coffee there. The nearby small village of Volpaia is worth a stroll round, and has three very good restaurants, though we were not blown away by the food we found anywhere in Italy.

The apartment itself is excellent. Sleeps six comfortably, beds etc very clean and comfortable, and was very cool on the hotter days. However, a couple of small improvements could have made it better. A good kettle might be more important to us British than to our continental cousins, but the one we had was tiny and took ages to boil. If I was going again, I would buy one at Tesco before I went and probably leave it there. The beautiful terracotta tile floor could do with bringing back to its best which would not be hard to do, and although the showers worked fine, for some reason the hot water in the bathrooms never got above a trickle. But as I said, these are minor niggles and I wouldn’t let those put you off.
The outside areas are excellent. Each apartment has its own sit out area, the pool is very good, and again with wonderful views.

Overall a very enjoyable experience in a most wonderful part of the world. If I were to offer any advice it would be this. Unlike many of the more commercialised tourist areas, Tuscany virtually closes down at siesta time, between one o’clock and four. At the risk of stating the obvious, if you are going for a wander round any of the historic towns etc, do so after four when the atmosphere is so much better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleonoraFrancesco, Proprietario at Il Paggino, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Thank's for your Il Paggino impressions and thank you for your review.
Tuscany life now is part of your life and we wish to have back your family in our farm. What you wrote on Tripadvisor is very important for everybody, specially for us, so for this reason we say one more time thank you.

All the best for you
Eleonora & Francesco Angiolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews