We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views and a Gorgeous Property”
Review of Fattoria Poggerino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria Poggerino
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Stunning Views and a Gorgeous Property”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

John and Benedetta were lovely hosts.
Our room was a gorgeous room with everything you need (and no TV!) overlooking the most breathtaking views of the Chianti valley. We were lucky enough to book right before the end of picking season so one day the vines were lush with grapes, the next day they were all picked – the valley was bustling with activity.
The building is immaculately restored, attention to every detail. The pool sits high atop the property and has a sweeping view of the vineyards below.
Breakfasts were amazing. Home made pies and muffins and tarts and yogurts with local honey and jams with eggs to order. So tasty and different each day.
One night we were invited to attend the dinner Benedetta puts on. It was so much fun! You sit at long tables and share bottles of their wine, eating delicious course after course of home made, home grown classic Tuscan cuisine. Such a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley - the views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nutley, new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can't say enough good things about our stay with a photography group at Fattoria Poggerino!The accomodations, a house with 5 bedrooms and common sitting rooms,attached to a ancient church, was utterly wonderful in simple yet elegant ,country decor and ambience. The grounds surrounding the farmhouse were lush with vineyards, farms, and a sparkling pool set above the house and overlooking the property.But perhaps what was really wonderful about the accommodation were the people who owned and managed it. Benedetta Lanza, the owner of the property, is also a consummate cook who prepared the most inviting dishes each morning of tarts, frittatas, cakes, as well as fresh yogurt and fruits or eggs made any way you wanted them. She also is a master teacher in culinary arts and helped 5 of us prepare a meal that was enthusiastically enjoyed by the photographers and the cooks in the group. Most of the food used is produced on her organic farm and is of top quality. The manager of her vineyard and farmhouse is John, one of the most knowledgeable and personable people you would ever want to talk to about wine, food, restaurants, or politics! And all of the other workers on the property were couteous and hepful in all ways. I would definitely come back to this property with a group or as a couple who wanted to experience the true Tuscany, away from the crowds, yet close enough by car to the wonderful towns in the region.

Room Tip: Pick a room that looks out over the vineyards and hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ropoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying in the cottage (La Ghianda) during the first week of my first trip to Italy was an amazing way to start my vacation. The cottage was much bigger and much nicer than I was expecting it to be, especially for the price for a week's stay (extremely reasonable). The surrounding landscape and scenery is absolutely breathtaking, and so very quiet and calming. The lovely people that run the operation (John, Benedetta and Peiro) are truly gems and could not have been nicer or more helpful, offering suggestions for places to visit as well as the best driving directions (far better than the GPS we had in our rental car). If you are looking for a restful and relaxing countryside cottage this is the place to be!!! I highly recommend it to anyone and am hoping to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A beautiful, restful place to stay and enjoy your holiday or to use as a base to tour the Chianti countryside.

John, Benedetta + Piero were charming hosts and could not have been more helpful. We enjoyed Benedetta’s daily breakfasts which used fresh ingredients from the farm. Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking their vineyards with Radda in Chianti on the distant horizon. We had two delicious dinners made by Benedetta – ask for the lemon chicken! The wonderful Poggerino wines were on offer in our rooms and served with our dinners.

The location is perfect for day trips to other vineyards + to explore the many wonderful restaurants in the surrounding villages.

We stayed in the B+B rooms, which were spacious, clean and comfortable. All rooms had private baths. I had not brought my hair dryer or iron on this trip, but both magically appeared when I asked John if he could supply them.

A little piece of heaven on earth…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samfamsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed here for 5 nights with my wife and 5 friends.

The rooms are very clean and have great beds - firm and comfortable. We woke each morning and headed down to their outdoor patio to enjoy the best breakfasts we have had in Italy. There was many types of breads and jams, cakes etc. We were offered eggs each morning prepared any style we wanted and they always arrived hot with some of the best tomatoes I've had. The eggs are from their own free range chickens and the tomatoes are from Poggerino's own farm garden. My personal highlight was the fresh each morning fruit salad.

Poggerino was central to our wine tours around the region. A highlight of our stay was a pre- arranged dinner for us one night cooked by Beradetta with Piero joining us. Piero poured us each of Poggerino's wines and explained the work involved in making their excellent wines.

Most evenings we went out for diner after watching the sunset. They have some excellent decks to sit and enjoy the setting sun from, as the grounds mostly have south and west views.

We will stay there our next visit.

Thank you Bernadetta, Piero and staff!

Kevin J.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just came back from a week's stay at Fattoria Poggerino 4 km from Radda in Chianti and it was truly amazing. The hotel setting is lovely and I enjoyed an early morning walk on the nearby almost deserted roads through lovely Tuscan scenery. at Poggerino they serve the world's best breakfasts and upon request, will do terrific Tuscan dinners, with lots of great Poggerino wine on the side. I cannot recommend this place enough and we will definitely be back there for future visits. Plus - keep an eye out for Poggerino's wine in your local stores. I loved it so much that I ordered 6 magnums of their award winning 2008 Chianti Riserva to be shipped to me.
Jane , Calgary

Room Tip: We weren't planning to do any cooking on this trip so we had a room in their lodge instead of re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We found Frattoria Poggerino after tasting their wine in a restaurant. John and Bernadetta are wonderful hosts and definitely added to the Chianti experience recommending local restaurants and attractions. Beautiful rooms, great breakfasts and really good wine. Try to be there on an evening when Bernadetta is cooking dinner. A real treat! Traveled with my wife and another couple and we really loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.1 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
667 reviews
3.9 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
827 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
526 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Poggerino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Poggerino

Property: Fattoria Poggerino
Address: Localita Poggiarino SNC, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Organic family-run B&B and winery in the Chianti Classico historical region. Wine, extra virgin olive oil, vegetables. Six rooms with en-suite bathroom in a traditional 800 year old stone house. View from all windows, swimming pool, typical home-made Tuscan recipes, vegetarian menus on request. Safety box, wifi internet access. English and German spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fattoria Poggerino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Poggerino Hotel Radda In Chianti
Fattoria Poggerino Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing