We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a castle to stay in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was an interesting experience to stay in a Castle room for the night.. it looked like a bare essential place but with a very majestic feel (the brass head stand of the bed was impressive).. the washroom was very modern and so the experience of high ceiling, dim lighting, quadrangle yard seen by the lone bedroom large window, a few mosquitoes, all a part of the complete ancient royalty feel (dont forget to carry a mosquito repellent spray with you).. come out to see the beautiful wine country for miles around you in slopes going up and down.. The breakfast room was quaint and they had amazing bread and breakfast was sumptuous.. One could drive out to the next village for a nice evening meal.. and pick up lovely classico chianti wines..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful location, nestled in the heart of Chianti, in a cocoon-like atmosphere dominated by nature, with its hills, its vineyards and unforgettable views.
My room was simply decorated but in complete harmony with the context.
In the village there is also a restaurant for me in the average in terms of service and quality of food, and a cellar that can be appreciated thanks to a guided tour.
A beautiful garden with a swimming pool complete the package, under the common denominator of tranquility.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Fattoria Castelvecchi is just stunningly beautiful. Set in the the Chianti region, with a spectacular view of the region around Radda and in the middle of vineyards. Try a bistecca fiorentina, i guarantee you will not be disappointed. The complementary tasting of the winery in the basement is also amazing. I've spend a small fortune there.The winery serves the typical Chianti Classico for the region as well as a fantastic Riserva version. They also provide a seletion of white wines from their partnerwinery in the northern part of italy, which are a little less good but still far avobe average.
We were staying in a little room which got very sticky during the day and there was only a very small window to open to let a breeze in. It was still enough space for all the bags and the other stuff we were carrying around with us. The room could've been a little bit cleaner since there were spiderwebs in the corners.

Room Tip: Every room in the main buliding should do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camino007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I very much enjoyed my time here, two nights in the middle of a trip through Tuscany. It is not near a darn thing, so walking anywhere else for a meal is not an option. The bike ride into Radda is strenuous and you have to be in great shape to make the ride. The hotel and its grounds are wonderful and rustic, and the restaurant served a very nice dinner (though I believe it is not open every night, so I would confirm). Breakfast was very simple. The pool was nice with a great vista across the vineyards and in the morning it was a pleasure to watch the lights of Radda in the distance slowly replaced with sunlight. The room was basic, but I recommend finding one of the common rooms and spend a little evening time reading with a glass of wine with the light curtains blowing gently in the breeze. If you want to be pampered in any way, though, this is not the place for you.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castelvecchi, Direttore vendite at Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you, Daniel, for your kind words and this complete review.
Yes, we cannot pamper custormers since this is not a luxury resort, but we have the chance to offer the richness of our beauty at right price....
Hope to see you again in Tuscany
Vittorio trevisan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very nice and quiet location. Nice pool. Superb views. Good dinner & breakfast in a nice outside lilttle plaza. Excellent position for visiting the Chianti region. We stayed in a room in the main villa, large size with a very large bathroom. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocoBelge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Fattoria Castelvecchi was recommended by a colleague and we were not disappointed. A perfectly located and beautifully appointed, restored villa in the hills near Radda in Chianti. We stayed for 6 nights in one of the rooms in the main villa - clean, of good size, tastefully decorated and with a large bathroom - exactly what we enjoy. The gardens and pool area are stunning and the Fattoria has an on-site restaurant for those who do not want to travel to the many excellent restaurants in the area. The food in the on-site restaurant was excellent as was the food in all of the restaurants that we frequented in the area. The staff are friendly and helpful. Vittorio in particular was a pleasure to meet. Most staff speak good English for those, like us, who struggle with Italian. There is also a cellar on site and a tour of the cellar and wine tasting are a must - Giovanni the young winemaker is knowledgable and passionate about Chinati wines. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend in Castelvecchi and the Chianti region. Excellent wine tasting, good food, large swimming pool and beautiful gardens. Well located and closed to many nice hill villages like Castellina, Gaiole, Greve.
We didn't give 5 stars because the bed in our room was very soft, we didn't sleep well. Besides that everything was perfect. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Radda in Chianti hotels
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
562 reviews
2.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
882 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais Vignale
Relais Vignale
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
596 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo San Niccolo'
Palazzo San Niccolo'
#6 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Localitaa Castelvecchi, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy (Formerly Fattoria Castelvecchi)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Radda in Chianti
Price Range: $74 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Castelvecchi Residenza D'Epoca Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing