We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of restaurant lets it down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Radda in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lack of restaurant lets it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

If you're looking for a picture postcard Tuscan setting, you won't go far wrong with this place. Set in landscaped grounds and looking out over rolling hills covered in vineyards the shots on the website don't do justice to the reality.

In terms of rooms, the hotel has two basic parts. You've got the main house which delivers a touch of aristocratic grandeur or the outbuildings which have a more rustic feel. Both are great, it depends on your preference. The communal areas are tastefully and thoughtfully decorated. The pool is large enough with plenty of loungers and the hammocks nestled amongst the trees are a nice touch. For breakfast you have the choice to sit inside or on an attractive patio and the spread is adequate if not great.

Service is good and the staff try hard to please.

So that's the good, now the not so good. The hotel has no restaurant and its middle-of-nowhere location, which on the one hand affords it unspoilt views, on the other means you've got a 15 minute drive to Radda for a choice of restaurants. We were in Chianti, we wanted to relax in the evening and enjoy dinner with a few glasses of great wine, which meant either myself or my wife had to drink alone or one of us had to drink and drive. For me a hotel without a restaurant isn't a hotel it's a bed and breakfast. I actually don't understand their logic, there clearly used to be a restaurant there. They have a pretty much captive audience of affluent guests who would happily eat and drink the evening away.

In summary, location is this hotel's biggest asset, but without a restaurant also its biggest drawback. Still, the setting and the quality of the rooms nudge this up from a 3/5 to a 4/5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have spent to write such a long and detailed review. We all have appreciated your many compliments, nevertheless I can't be agree with some of your hard statements.

As well as you can read everywhere (official site, tourism websites, tour operator) we don't have a restaurant inside the hotel. It's well specified and I hope you have known it when you reserved you holiday in Campomaggio.
This choice is not a random lack, but it's a precise choice.
The holiday in the Chianti also means go around to try the thousands of taverns, wineries and tipicals restaurants that surround us. Radda is far form here 5 minutes driving (not 15) and the closest wonderful restaurant is far from here exactly 3 minutes driving.

However, I wish to emphasize that we have a BAR, open till midnight, that serves in our wonderful yard a lot of meals, for instance: several kinds of various big salads, bruschette, mixed cheeses, mixed tuscan salami, several kinds of pasta, icecreams, dishes of fruits, and much more.
Didn't you taste any of our dishes?
Believe me, no hungry customers have ever gone away from here!

Despite our level of service didn't meet your expectations fully, We all hope that you have spent a nice holiday anyway. All the staff is happy to work here and everyday they try to convey to you all the Campomaggio's happy atmospher.

Best regards


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    86
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
64
341
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a really good hotel surrounded by wonderful countryside. Ideal to get away from it all.
The staff are really helpful. The Hotel does not have a restaurant but this is not an issue as the Hotel staff will recommended and book restaurants for you. We had some fantastic meals in the local restaurants then back for cocktails on the patio. The Pool and Spa are excellent. Take your own hairdryer and iron with you! Could not see in the mirror using the fixed hairdryer and no iron was available, minor things not detracting from a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

All the staff thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you have appreciated our service and our location.

About ironing, we offer a laundry service, fast and not expensive.
Unfortunately it's not allowed the use of the iron in the rooms. It's not safe. The improper use of renewable heat can damage the upholstery and cause a fire. To ensure the safety of all guests, we prefer to ban the iron in the rooms.

We hope you will be our guests again, We do the warmest greetings.


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in early August and we just loved it. This unique and historic resort is located right in the vineyards and has beautiful views. It a romantic setting but at the same time is also family friendly. We loved everything about our stay; the area, service, pool, spa and the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin Region, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Beautiful villa with the beautiful vineyard view. We highly appreciate the professional and very warm behavior of the staff who made our stay memorable. Once we are back in Chianti area we'd love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lad0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This place is practically perfect. We found it so peaceful and relaxing-just what we needed after a hectic wedding! The room was magnificent and huge overlooking the roaming vineyards. It has a beautiful outdoor pool and a heavenly spa and indoor heated pool. The rooms, staff and complex are exceptional and very well maintained. You can eat indoors or outdoors in a magnificent setting. Reception staff can not do enough for you and will advise you on the local area and book any excursion or restaurant you wish. They also made our 8month old daughter feel very welcome and accommodated her every need. Finally, I would very much recommend the local wines as they are fantastic.

Room Tip: You need to rent a car when staying in this wonderful hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SenanMoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Amazing hotel, service, food, location, atmosphere and just sooo relaxing!!! We can't wait to go back!! It was a bit of a drive to get there but when we arrived we were told to just relax and enjoy the food and wine tasting and that we were home now!! The first night we had dinner and wine tasting out on the patio. The service, food and wine were excellent!! They made us feel right at home. A BIG Thank You to Ilir (spelling?) for his impeccable service!! Laura helped us rent a Vespa so we traveled around to all the different towns and restaurants and got some amazing views while buzzing down the road. When I had trouble with my cellphone service, Laura to the rescue!! You couldn't ask for better more friendly service. Don't forget to go to the pool. We just spent a day at the pool swimming, relaxing, sipping wine and enjoying the scenery. The toughest part about our stay was having to leave. We could have stayed another week. That will have to be next year. Thanks to all the staff for an AMAZING stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. Talk about spacious and king sized beds, even in Ital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0uggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessio M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your amazing words make us deeply proud of our working. Everyday all the staff work with passion to be sure you all spend an unforgettable vacation.

Best regards from all the staff


Alessio Mazzanti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom self catering apartment in August for 5 nights. What a perfect stay. A great friendly welcome by helpful staff which continued throughout our stay. The apartment was much bigger than we had expected although it was a little dark but I think this was due to the tuscan architecture rather than a fault of the hotel. The location is perfect for exploring Florence, Siena and the surrounding Tuscan countryside. Plenty of amazing restaurants within a 15 minute drive (you must bring a car). We fell in love with the peaceful gardens and pool area and would recommend anyone who is considering staying to book it NOW.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radda in Chianti
2.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#3 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Address: Strada Provinciale 2bis | Loc. Campomaggio, 53017, Radda in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Radda in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Family Hotel in Radda in Chianti
#1 Romantic Hotel in Radda in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just outside the village of Radda, Villa Campomaggio is surrounded by vineyards in the heart of the Chianti countryside. Dating back to 1776, the villa's grounds include a swimming pool and SPA.This historic villa has elegant rooms and apartments, all decorated with the same care and attention to detail. They feature hardwood or terracotta floors and wood-beam or arched ceilings. All include free Wi-Fi, LCD TV and Minibar.A buffet breakfast is served out in the courtyard where you can enjoy the tranquility of the garden. Light meals are available for lunch around the pool and an aperitif with snack buffet is served in the afternoon.The SPA area includes a Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, Sauna and relaxation area. You can treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment.Free parking is available and the center of Radda in Chianti is 5 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Campomaggio Hotel Radda In Chianti
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa Radda In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing