We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short But Very Sweet”
Review of Castello di Albola

Castello di Albola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Castello di Albola is a delightful place for those who wish to immerse themselves in a unique environment like that of Chianti Classico, for those who want to live in a historical setting and for those who want to taste the great wines of this celebrated estate whilst enjoying the charm of the area. Castello di Albola offers two splendid examples of historic accommodation to make your stay truly unforgettable. Each year at least 25,000 people visit the Castello. From April to November one can visit and taste between 10 a.m. and 6.30 p.m. every day; in the other months visits can be booked in advance. The winery offers guided tours of the historic cellars at 12 noon and 5 p.m., followed by a wine and olive oil tasting conducted by the estate’s hospitality team. The wine shop is open every day between March to early November, from 10.00 am to 6.30 pm, and between November to March it is open from Monday to Friday from 10.00 am to 4.00 pm, with the possibility of weekend visits for small group visits by appointment.
Garrison, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Short But Very Sweet”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed two nights and one day here on a press tour of three Zonin vineyards.

We had a fabulous time. Such beautiful and comfortable facilities. It is like staying in some ones home, or your own home.

Loved the area and would come back here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pconwaynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    1
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice wine”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited this winery to try the wine. We found the wine to be good enoughful to purchase a few bottles to consume while in Italy. The setting was nice and interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bubba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chianti Classico wine tasting”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Again the Castello is in a beautiful hilltop setting with the extraordinary Tuscany view of vineyards, olive trees, and occasional hacienda like villa. The tour was very good and informational and we could return for more wine tasting if we so chose. It does not take much of your time, two hours at the most. If you are anywhere near Radda in Chianti, it is worth the time. Actually if you are anywhere in Tuscany, travelling around, it is worth the time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank edub33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Include this on your wine tasting tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You should take the time to include this in your wine tasting tour. A beautiful location and winery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stumbled onto this place in our driving around Tuscany. We saw the sign and thought it was a historic castle and pulled in. When we entered they asked "Are you here for the tour?"

"Err..., not really, how much is it?"

"Free, and it starts in ten minutes. There's free tastings afterwards."

"OK"

Thats when we discovered it was a winery. The tour was informative if a little standard (really - purists disagree but all wines are made the same even if the outcome tastes different). We were only shown the older production areas and storage areas so didn't get to see the villa apart from the outside.

Otherwise, it was an interesting afternoon diversion. BTW, if your planning a visit I think there is only one tour daily and it starts at midday.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank odo5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di Albola also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Castello di Albola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing