We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”
Review of Charyn Canyon

Charyn Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.00*
and up
Charyn Canyon Scheduled Group Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have just returned from Kazakhstan last week and I recommend the visit to Charyn Canyon. It is beyond words to describe the beauty of this place! Our guide drove us there in a 4wd and the road was a little bumpy. We arrived at the top of the canyon with stunning views and took plenty of pictures though I got rubbery legs looking down at the canyon. Walking down to the canyon was a little challenging as the slope was steep with no bars or any safety barriers. There were no other visitors and it was very quiet and peaceful to walk towards the river. Our guide was already waiting for us beside the river (so we didn't have to walk back up again) when it started to rain! I would say Charyn Canyon is a must-see if you are traveling to Almaty.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank Mandy_ws_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"the river"
in 35 reviews
"day trip"
in 17 reviews
"rock formations"
in 6 reviews
"eco park"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful place"
in 6 reviews
"hour drive"
in 5 reviews
"dirt road"
in 5 reviews
"walked down"
in 4 reviews
"three hours"
in 4 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 4 reviews
"sun cream"
in 3 reviews
"take photos"
in 3 reviews
"visiting almaty"
in 3 reviews
"normal car"
in 3 reviews
"picnic site"
in 2 reviews
"great view"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 3 reviews
Filter

84 - 88 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had wonderful trip to Charyn canyon, it was unusual with hot weather. Canyon is beautiful, we were surprised that such amazing place in Asia is unknown ))
One disadvantage is no facilities were there((

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank Sunlove_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We organised this day trip through Tour Asia.kz. Our guide Tanya was excellent. It was a 3 hour drive each way, but the car was comfy and the scenery and guide info was interesting. The canyon (I haven't been to the Grand Canyon) was awesome. We looked from above, then walked down and back up the main tourist trunk. It wasn't crowded (weekday). Took 40 mins to walk down and an hour to walk back up. There's a picnic spot at the bottom. The canyon is gorgeous, the colours of the rocks and plant life were much richer than I expected. I saw small lizards but didn't see the local snakes or scorpions. The tour stopped for lunch just outside the canyon on the way back to town around 2pm so I recommend taking snacks. The lunch was great though.

Date of experience: May 2013
1  Thank Mirimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It has to be a day trip from Almaty. It takes nearly four hours to reach there. It is amazing that there are few visitors. The walk along the canyon is wonderful as you can see the spectacular rocks in different shapes. We stopped when we reached the stream and the water is refreshingly cool. The walk is about 3 Km. We saw some local people having a barbecue picnic. There is no restaurant and it is virtual wilderness. Prepare a packed lunch before hand.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank wunlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Long drive on reasonable road until the last few kilometres. Walked down to the river and back along the track. Few people about and magnificent formations and colours.

You need to take your food and water and it will be very hot in summer but the river will be cold. There were some signs that a Kazak Cafe will operate in peak periods. It was closed when I was there bso can't comment on its quality.

Very beautiful nature, be careful around the edges at the top as there are very limited safety railings.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank Natasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charyn Canyon also viewed

Almaty Region, Kazakhstan
Almaty Region, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty Region, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Charyn Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing