We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Charyn Canyon
from $82.00
More Info
from $83.00
More Info
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
192
34
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
34
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river day trip rock formations eco park beautiful place hour drive dirt road walked down three hours stay overnight sun cream take photos visiting almaty normal car picnic site great view entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 232 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It has to be a day trip from Almaty. It takes nearly four hours to reach there. It is amazing that there are few visitors. The walk along the canyon is wonderful as you can see the spectacular rocks in different shapes. We stopped when we reached the stream and the water is refreshingly cool. The walk is about 3 Km. We saw some local people having a barbecue picnic. There is no restaurant and it is virtual wilderness. Prepare a packed lunch before hand.

Date of experience: March 2013
2  Thank wunlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Long drive on reasonable road until the last few kilometres. Walked down to the river and back along the track. Few people about and magnificent formations and colours.

You need to take your food and water and it will be very hot in summer but the river will be cold. There were some signs that a Kazak Cafe will operate in peak periods. It was closed when I was there bso can't comment on its quality.

Very beautiful nature, be careful around the edges at the top as there are very limited safety railings.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank Natasha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Long drive to get here from Almaty (about 3 1/2 hours) but worth it! It's a mini-grand canyon . You park and walk down to the river, about 40 minutes each way. It's very calm and relaxing and enjoyable. I went on a Saturday and didn't see anyone else the entire time I was there - amazing.
Tip..make sure you pack a sandwich and water.. Eat at the river before walking back out.

Date of experience: November 2011
2  Thank Plexiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Before visiting Kazakhstan, Charyn Canyon, otherwise known as the "Mini Grand Canyon", is a place that I would have never considered visiting. Traveling with locals, I was stunned by Charyn's splendid beauty. It is not to say that it rivals the grandeur of the Grand Canyon, but Charyn allures the visitor in her own way. My recommendation is to avoid going in the July or August when it's hot. This is an open area, and although you are able to seek a brief respite in the shade under rocks, I would not count on cooling off in the Charyn River unless you're willing to freeze. Also, go early in the morning if possible or before the sunsets.

Date of experience: August 2011
2  Thank jms31880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We visited Charyn Canyon whilst we were in Almaty visiting friends. The trip to the Canyon takes 3-4hrs and the road is very bumpy - expect to fly up out of your seat on numerous occasions. When we got to the car park it was cold and windy. We scrambled down the path - no chance of stopping once we'd got going! But once we were down, it was warm and beautiful. We walked around 3km down to the river and had a picnic (that we took with us) by the river bank. At that point we honestly hadn't seen anyone else there! (it was a weekday to be fair) Having eaten our picnic we made our way back up the canyon and chose a different route up to the top so we could look down into the canyon from the top. There was a little scrambling up and down steep gravel slopes to enter/exit, but otherwise the walk was pretty easy going.

The views were spectacular, but the best thing about our visit was the lack of crowds. We saw two groups of people on our way back up the canyon (one pair was equipped with tents so I guess they were staying the night) It was a real privilege to have such a beautiful place to ourselves - see it now before other people find out!

Date of experience: April 2011
5  Thank Rachel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews