We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada do Convento do Carmo
Ranked #3 of 6 Cachoeira B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I believe this place has been forgotten by the owner and it is ran by untrained employees... It's a shame, it could be an amazing hotel.
Rooms on the bottom floor are horribly moldy. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Pousada do Convento in the institution of Cachoeira. It is the oldest and the most important hotel in town. It is located in a real ex-convent building dating from real colonial times, with spacious rooms, wide corridors, great patio etc., which allows you an experience that cannot be enjoyed in other types of lodging. All of that said, I cannot help but saying the place can be much better with a bit more investment. Waterworks are getting rather old, antenna lines for television with problems, wi-fi not reaching the rooms (although understandable because of thick stone walls). Some rooms on the ground floor are small and quite dreary with only a view to the backyard wall. The rooms on the upper floor are completely different with more space and interesting views of the town, making it very pleasant. So you must insist and choose a good room, which I couldn't because I visited during the Boa Morte festival in august when all Cachoeira hotels become fully occupied.
I am forced to write this ambiguous review, of mixed feelings, because I paid more than double the usual rate for the stay since they charge a special "pacote(packet)" rate during this festival week (all hotels in Cachoeira do), and Pousada do Convento is an expensive hotel for Cachoeira to begin with.
So, all in all, if in usual times, it's an interesting hotel, with good reliable staff. Just be choosy of your room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Probably the only hotel in Cachoeira, it is located in the center. The rooms are partly re-newed, but you still experience the atmosphere of the people that have lived in the old convent hundred years ago. Dark wooden floor and ceilings are not only nice to look at, but also give this mysterious sound if you move. =) Staff is very helpful and will carry your luggage up the steep steps. In the backyard there is a nice swimmingpool.
The hotel is - against many prejudices- clean and cosy. Maybe it is the fact that it is an old convent, but I slept safe and sound. There are lots of bats, hiding in the floors (not rooms) and this is also nice. From the hotel you can take a nice walk to the local market or visit the cigar factory Dannemann to see how hand-made cigars are being made in Sao Felix. Therefore just cross the bridge (was given to Brasil from England, because for their needs the bridge was way to short!).

Not a 5-star-hotel to stay at, but a place with emotion and "life" in it. Would recommend it to friends who like "travelling and exploring the countries as a foreigner, but not as a typical tourist". Breakfast was also nice and sufficient, with fresh fruit. Also the dinner was traditional and all tasted homemade and very fresh.

And ... *tadaaa* There is free WiFi!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel is a converted convent, so there are high ceilings, lots of woodwork, a little courtyard. The room was clean. The staff were very nice -- in particular the night reception lady who helped us make bus reservations. The location is very good. Based on what I saw in Cachoeira, this is hands down the best place to stay. And it's a pretty good deal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MAURO2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos de cima são melhores, porém não indico a pessoas com dificuldades de locomoção, pois as e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cibele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cachoeira
0.4 mi away
Pousada Treze de Marco
Pousada Treze de Marco
#2 of 6 in Cachoeira
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cachoeira Apart Hotel
Cachoeira Apart Hotel
#5 of 10 in Cachoeira
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aclamacao Apart Hoteis
Aclamacao Apart Hoteis
#4 of 10 in Cachoeira
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Paraguassu
Pousada Paraguassu
#1 of 1 in Sao Felix do Paraguassu
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fazenda Villa Rial
Hotel Fazenda Villa Rial
#1 of 6 in Cachoeira
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Pai Thomaz
Pousada Pai Thomaz
#4 of 6 in Cachoeira
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Convento do Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Convento do Carmo

Address: Praca da Aclamacao, Cachoeira, State of Bahia 44300-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Cachoeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cachoeira
Price Range: $31 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada do Convento do Carmo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pousada do Convento do Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing