We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuntul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sisimbo Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuntul
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good weekend getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The resort is within easy reach of accra making it worthwhile for weekend getaways. Best assets are the the beach front, outdoor eating area and the amenities available for families with children. The food was good though the unavailability of fresh fish was disappointing. Accommodation prices are reasonable though the food and drinks resulted in an unexpected increase for the duration. Maybe that's just a reflection of a person's appetite?
Rooms are comfortable with all necessary amenities. Pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a great hidden gem - as you drive down the very rough road not knowing what to expect, it is as if you enter a beach paradise - the sea being so close, palm trees and air of relaxation is apparent.
We spent two nights there and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is also great for conferences and whilst we were there, a team from a leading company in Accra had held a conference.
One of the reviewers may have made a mistake in the pricing of the menu, as all the main meals comes with a choice of fries, fried rice, jollof rice etc included in the price - if you want to order the rice separately in addition to one of the above, then you pay but the portion size is more than adequate and the fresh fish including lobster much more economically prices than cape coast - a hidden gem

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeborahELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excellent beach resort,i really enjoyed the place very well with my 3 kids and wife too. A friend invited me to the place and it was very great,we had fun,games,drink and also ate too. All the workers are really good and also laugh too. Prince,the great waiter and also very hard working boy. So friends lets meet there for a great funs,you can even make new friends over there.

Room Tip: A.c,,coffee,internet access are available in all rooms to,they got connected rooms for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Sisimbo gave us the best beach break we've had within 3 hours drive of Accra. We had 3 nights over the December festive season and enjoyed the tranquility, comfort and convenience. A great setting to relax under palm trees, sunbathe or swim on what must be one of the cleanest and quietest stretches of beach in the area. The bonus is that it can be as little as 2 hours drive from Accra and there are many day-trip site-seeing options if you have your own transport. The rooms are a step up in comfort and cleanliness from most beach resorts, huts and hotels we've been to in Ghana. The staff are friendly, attentive, efficient and eager to please. Based on our experience, this is one of the best-managed resorts we've enjoyed in Ghana. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought (e.g. providing beach towels) and hard work into developing the place (e.g. kids play areas, covered beach-side seating areas).

My only criticism would be of the food. The dishes were fine but underwhelming. The recent price increases (e.g. an average grilled red snapper for GHC 18 excluding chips - GHC 28 including chips) didn't sit well and made me want to seek better value elsewhere for meals. Some creativity on the menu and/or revised pricing would make Sisimbo impossible to beat.

Still, the overall experience at Sisimbo was fantastic and the owners should be congratulated for their efforts to continuously improve what is on offer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakkaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I took a weekend break here in September 2011. I was working in Accra at the time and really just wanted to get away from all the hustle and bustle of Accra life which can be extremely draining. Sisimbo was just what I needed. It’s hard to believe that such a tranquil place exists little over an hour away from Accra. It’s hidden from view by a sizeable hill which adds to the serenity of the place and makes it feel very exclusive. I cannot fail to mention the rooms which are beautifully designed (loved the traditional thatching!) and very spacious. Indeed, from the wide variety of food on offer to the stone-bordered paths, it’s clear that much attention to detail has been paid in the running of the resort. I particularly enjoyed the seating huts right by the beachfront which were just perfect for relaxing with a book in hand to the sound of the waves. Couldn’t have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aplomb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

My 15-month old son, husband and I recently spent a weekend at Sisimbo Beach hotel. The beach is pristine. The resort is flanked by a saltpond and a fishing village. The community is friendly and nobody harassed us on the beach. The rooms are spotless, with a/c, hot water and dstv. The owners are charming and eager to receive feedback. For us, the best part of our stay was the child friendly atmosphere-there is a play structure, plenty of toys to share, and children running around. The only setback is the speed of the kitchen, but frankly, ou experience the same dilemma at most hotels in Ghana. We found that the solution was to order an hour before we intended to eat. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeder78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed here in March 2011. One night in a room and 1 night in a tent. I loved every minute. It is a great get away and gives you a sense of being away from it all. A secluded resort with a great team of people. Brilliant atmosphere. The rooms are excellent, AC is nice and quiet and the beds are comfortable. The showers and general room décor are very nice, the huts are traditional in style outside with a contemporary interior. Perfect. It is a small resort with a relaxed vibe, great if you want to be away from it all and chill out. You can take a stroll along the beach past the neighbouring villages, which if you are new to this area of the world is a great experience. Staying in the tent was also nice if you are feeling a bit more adventurous, but obviously be ready for the heat!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuntul
0.0 mi away
Brenu Beach Lodge
Brenu Beach Lodge
#1 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 91 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Axim Beach Hotel
Axim Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Axim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hillburi - Aburi
Hillburi - Aburi
#2 of 2 in Aburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
Ko-Sa Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cape Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisimbo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisimbo Beach Resort

Property: Sisimbo Beach Resort
Address: Mankessim, Kuntul P. O. Box 62, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Northern Region > Kuntul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuntul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amid tall graceful coconut trees on the white sandy beach of Kuntu in the Central Region of Ghana, West Africa with tastefully designed rooms, a vibrant restaurant and bar and many more leisure activities.Sisimbo Beach Resort is just perfect for a family or corporate retreat. Rooms range from luxury suites to traditional huts with modern amenities. Whatever your choice of room, the tropical sun, the glorious beach, the exceptional cuisine and calming ocean sounds set the scene for the ultimate beach experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing