We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ullensvang Gjesteheim
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed only for one night, we had the rooms with shared bathroom, only one for 6 rooms. Rooms are very small with a bunk bed. Rooms and shared bathroom were clean and tidy.
We arrived about 20 minutes after kitchen closing time, we asked for a place to have dinner at the hotel or elsewhere in the village, but the answer were that it was too late and everything was close in Lofthus, "this is Norway, you must arrive earlier to have dinner".
I believe this answer was quite rude as there were still customers in the restaurant and people working in the kitchen. We were affected by the Gudvangen tunnel closure which delayed our trip about 3 hours. We had accepted just an omelette or anything quick, but... the guy was not really willing to help, after all it was not his problem (that was my feeling talking to him!!)
On the positive side, breakfast was fine and the surroundings just fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ODR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place is charming, with a homely atmosphere, and offers excellent food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu is half norwegian food, half thai. We stayed 5 nights in a fairly basic room without bathroom, but everything was very clean and well maintained. The staff are helpful, attentive and efficient. There is a nice large lounge with TV and a terrace to relax. For Norwegian prices, the guesthouse is very good value.

Ullensvang is roughly half-way between Odda and Eidfjord, which makes it a very good base to visit the Hardanger fjord.

We stayed from August 3rd to 8th 2013. All our family warmly recommends the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location. You can do a gorgeous hike to the top of Nosi with a view on to the fjord, then up on to the Hardanger fjord. from the guesthouse. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great meals. Off the track. A facility with charm, history and comfort

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve51766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ullesvang guesthouse has been recently renovated and combines a lovely heritage facade and atmosphere with brand new fittings and conveniences.  We were fortunate to be upgraded from a room with shared facilites to one of the ensuite bedrooms for the same price (710 including breakfast). The guesthouse is in a tiny village and sits beside a pretty stream. It was a great option for us. If you are in this area heading south in a car, consider a detour off the E134 to take the 520 road through the mountains to Sauda. This is truly a magnificent drive passing mountain lakes and dramatic scenery. It is a difficult and narrow road (perhaps too tricky for bad weather), but absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place feels off the beaten track, and is! A charming location by a major river and very old church. The rooms are spartan, but the place has a rustic charm and attentive owner/staff. The biggest surprise was a very good dinner from a menu featuring Norwegian and Thai dishes. The cook is Thai and each Thai entree was very good. There is a nice garden for guests and a welcoming TV room for rainy days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom. There are about 5 rooms that have bathrooms, but four where you sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painted_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
Thank EvaMarina2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NUKA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ullensvang hotels
7.1 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ullensvang
Hotel Ullensvang
#1 of 1 in Lofthus
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hardanger Hostel B&B
Hardanger Hostel B&B
#1 of 1 in Lofthus
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hardingart Guesthouse
0 mi away
Lofthus Camping
Lofthus Camping
#2 of 9 in Ullensvang
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullensvang Gjesteheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullensvang Gjesteheim

Address: Arhus, Ullensvang 5781, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Ullensvang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ullensvang
Price Range: $94 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and comfortable bedrooms with good standard, with warm and cold water in each room. Two common showers & toilets in the hall. We have 7 single and 6 double rooms, and some of these can be converted into family rooms for 3-4 persons. In addition, during the summer season, we have a little cabin in the courtyard with one large family room for 5 people and one double room. These two rooms have one joint bathroom. We also have a storehouse that can be rented without made beds (bedclothes can be rented) for 4-5 persons, without installed water, but with access to shower/toilet. Pets in cage is accepted, without cage NOK 100,- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ullensvang Gjesteheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing