We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parody on Western hotels.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skandinavia Country Club & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skandinavia Country Club & SPA
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sestroretsk
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Parody on Western hotels.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel looks very fancy and position itself as a luxurious getaway hotel. Well, it might be for those who book one of those 10 cottages for 300EUR+, but it wasn't for me with my standard room!

Originally I wanted to book a package for 1-2 days - sort of all inclusive thing (with SPA). And it seemed on a web-site it was a big choice so I spent some time choosing them. When I called to the hotel the lady seemed kind of confused with my package request. It seemed that I'm trying to sell services to her, not the other way around :-) Anyways, it ended up that all this beautiful variety of packages comes only for rooms better then standard. I asked if they have any of those rooms left, she said NO, apart from 300+ ones. (the Standard+ was sold out). Ok, fine. Staying for 1 day, no package, will book smth in SPA. Another thing, that was bank holiday, women's day and I asked may be they have some programme in restaurant for the eve or at least music playing? The answer was NO. "Normally we do, but today the restaurant is booked for wedding". Gmh.. Ok. SPA thing was confusing too - because the have SPA and outdoor swimming pool with sauna, that one is included in the price with some weird hours 12.00-17.00 when you either hasn't arrived or already left.

Ok, we moved in and the first disappointment was a room. What is it for 150EUR? Tiny room of a very offensive Soviet like floorplan (like most of Soviet hotels in Sestroretsk area, which I was trying to avoid) and for some reasons abnormal size bed (not matching the size of a room at all!). The bathroom is tiny (there is no bath because it won't fit, only shower cabin, pretty small one). Luxury toiletries? (Shompoo, gel and soap)The furniture looks kind of nice, but the curtains can not be closed! (it's in the geographical area with White nights!) No kettle in the room. No flat TV, just tremendous old-fachined one (where did they get them if hotel was opened couple of years ago?). I dont think there was a conditioner, it felt really hot in the room so we were opening windows. From nice additions - you have slippers and dressing gown.

The noise isolation is horrible. It almost feels like you're living in a hall hearing all the steps. But what shocked me is that the room across seemed to be kids room - there were several kids beds placed and children going there and back all the time creating additional noise. All of the above made a really bad value for money for me.

On a positive side - as I said outdoor pool, really beautiful library and restaurant (breakfast too!), quite friendly stuff (apart from one lady in a restaurant who was busy with planning tables and sent me to wait for waiter who never came, so we left). In the eve I was sick and asked for honey, they gave a big plate of honey without additional charge for the tea, that was probably one of not many benefits.

This hotel claims it's Western type. It may be only for those who've never been to Western types hotels. My advise - it's OK hotel but either book an expensive room and see how it is :-) Or lower your expectations till minimum.

Room Tip: Not room 114 - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    66
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
46
108
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Skandinavia country club a great place to go with friends and to relax - we realy enjoy the calm, the heated pool and those bagna / sauna - Nice rooms in those 2 cottages - wood wall, just like a datcha !! A BBQ was organised - great service and attention !! Ask Magnus the General Manager for advise if needed.

Room Tip: ask rooms in chalet - open window bathroom on the nature
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgardGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I have been at the Skandinavia Country Club & Spa for 2 nights for a romantic getaway and it has been the perfect location to recharge our batteries. After a short 45 minute drive from St. Petersburg we arrived he at the hotel, being welcomed by the GM, Mr. Magnus Wetterholm, who escorted us to our simply stunning Datcha Suite. The suite was beautiful: amazing decor, a comfortable bed, large bathroom with a huge bathtub as well as a little kitchen with dibing table and coffee/tea set up. Very tasteful and cosy, contemporary design. Not only the General Manager, but all staff was very welcoming, friendly and Englishspeaking. Outstanding food quality in both restaurants as well as in room service with a very good value for money. The hotel is located just at the beach with a beautiful view to the Baltic sea and also features a pool which is heated up to 28 degrees and 2 jacuzzis. We loved our stay at The Skandinavia and we will for sure return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Datcha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Papstbenedikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've been there twice....and not the last time. It is a perfect location to relax. Breakfast buffet and Restaurant is excellent.
The outdoor pool and jacussi are very clean and heated.

For those who want to calm down after hard working week, it is a must go location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreasSPb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is the best place to escape St. Petesburg for the weekend.
Amazing country club!
Going there at least twice a year and would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMelnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was here for a seminar so could only dream of the special spa facilities, however the pool was great, the room was excellent and had all facilities you'd expect The food we had for our group was excellent. The only point I would make in the negative is allowing glasses and bottles at the pool and jacuzzis. Although the hotel asks for this not to happen they don't say anything - broken glass and swimming does not go well. But......I will definitely return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Just in case children are staying I would request a room that doesn't overlook the pool. The poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed several times at Skandinavia over the last 2 years and enjoyed every bit of it. Not only that the hotel/service is a good price for the value, but it's one of the rare places within an hour drive from the city that is interesting enough to visit and have a relaxing weekend. The breakfast and the SPA are superb.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sestroretsk
Country Club Terijoki
#2 of 5 in Zelenogorsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#42 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aquamarine Spa-Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zelenogorsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Nevskiy
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
Rossi Boutique Hotel & SPA
#25 of 331 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skandinavia Country Club & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skandinavia Country Club & SPA

Property: Skandinavia Country Club & SPA
Address: Parkovaya St., 16, Sestroretsk, St. Petersburg 197706, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Kurortny District > Sestroretsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sestroretsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skandinavia Country Club & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Suite in the Shelepin's Dacha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Skandinavia Country Club & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing