We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B & B! Worth every penny.”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Hart
Ranked #1 of 2 Sherington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect B & B! Worth every penny.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We chose the White Hart for its location close to Olney where we attending a party. It was only 2.5 miles away. We arrived in Sherrington mid afternoon and thought how pretty and peaceful the village was. Shortly after we arrived at the White Hart and received a very warm welcome in the pub by the woman serving the bar. The accommodation was in the building opposite and was really lovely. Spotlessly clean, and nicely furnished and decorated. We were really impressed. Recommendations to eat were supplied and taxis were organised for our night out. My husband and I got the impression nothing was too much trouble . Bed was very comfortable and the breakfast the next day delicious - fresh fruit, pastries and choice of locally sourced hot dishes such as eggs benedict and naturally a full English. Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Room was lovely, spacious, clean, all we needed. Landlord and staff extremely nice and welcoming, evening meal excellent, breakfast fantastic - we will definitely be back when visiting this part of the country again :)

Ian and Denise Powell

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great food and room, very varied breakfast to die for, no reduction for single occupancy though, hence point deducted. (I could only eat one breakfast). The light airy room was lovely and comfortable and very quiet, hardly heard any noise from the pub even with the windows open. I couldn't get the free wi-fi to work in the room. Bathroom was a little tired but functional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys6N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at The White Hart twice: in Dec 2012 & June 2013. Both times were related to work but if I'm honest, staying at the White Hart made me feel like I was on holiday! Keith & his wonderful team are so welcoming & this extends to the locals too. I was staying there by myself & enjoyed sitting in the pub of an evening chatting to regulars & having a meal. I can recommend Chubby's Ham & almost anything on the menu. There are always several specials available & the food is very reasonably priced. Breakfast is fabulous & there is everything from a full English to kippers to eggs benedict. I seem to sleep very well when i stay at the White Hart - not sure if it's sampling too many local ales or the beds being so comfy! I agree with the other comnents about the showers not having much pressure but that is a blip on an otherwise unblemmished record. Can't wait to return to The White Hart :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee_Lozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I picked this location from a search on hotels.com whilst looking for a local place to take my girlfriend for an early birthday night away. We stayed in room 401.

As stated the accommodation is seperate from the pub which is your typical country pub with a great beer choice and good food. Our room was on the ground floor and we had no issues with noise. The room was nicely set out, had a TV, and decent free Wifi too.

The village of Sherington is about 10 mins north of Milton Keynes City centre and is very picturesque. It was lovely to walk around before we went home.

The staff were very polite and accommodating, I visited about a week before to check it out and arranged for a bottle of Prosecco on ice to be placed in our room prior to us taking up our room. This was no issue and a big hit with the girlfriend, the Prosecco was charged at a reasonable price too and we paid for this with dinner.

My only con with our room was the shower was tired and could do with being replaced but this wasn't a big enough issue for us to mention it. I felt the £90 price was a little steep but we really enjoyed our stay so say no more.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isen-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Found this lovely little pub by chance on the internet, and was very glad i did. Stayed for two nights whilst visiting Woburn golf course. Lovely quiet village. The rooms are in a separate converted building a few steps away from the pub. We had a lovely ,light and airy room which was tastefully furnished and comfortable. Only slight downside was the shower, which wasn't particularly powerful but not a major issue. The pub itself was lovely, good pub food and choice of beers. All the staff were lovely and looked after us really well. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and the eggs benedict particularly good. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms we had were very spacious and modern, in an attractive old building with character features. The breakfast was really good. The shower wasn't the most powerful, and we had to provide our own travel cot but otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sherington
1.1 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
373 reviews
5.7 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.6 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
863 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
Jurys Inn Milton Keynes
#4 of 35 in Milton Keynes
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Property: The White Hart
Address: 1 Gun Lane | Milton Keynes, Sherington, Milton Keynes MK16 9PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes > Sherington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sherington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owned Free House dating back to 1741, in the quiet village of Sherington offering a varied range of real ales and ciders together with a selection of wines to accommodate all tastes. Food available from snacks and tapas to full meals in the bar or restaurant. A relaxing cosy atmosphere for both drinking and eating. Four individually designed bedrooms with en-suite facilities situated in a converted barn, opposite the main building. The perfect base for a business or leisure stay. This is a brilliant place to hold a wedding reception, party or a celebration! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing