We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in a beautifull location with good food for a reasenable price”
Review of Hotel Haus Kylltal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haus Kylltal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zendscheid
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I wanted to have a long weekend with my girlfreind in the eifel to rest, eat well and have long walks in nature. I found Haus Kylltal and for us was perfect.

We payed as couple for the whole weekend 312€ for 3 nights + 2 evening meals + all our drinks. For this price You just can not expect and 4 star modern hotel with the best service. You get what you pay for and I think I even got more than I have payed for.

By arrival they seem to be a bit confused that we where there and eventually we winded up in a room that was not heated yet. But I did the booking by phone becouse I had some other questions about the hotel as wel and talked with the founder of the hotel who is a bit older and only speaks german. Keep in mind that not all the staff that picks up the phone speaks English very well so booking by email or bookingwebsite is recomended (as almost always nowadays).

The building of the hotel was started in the 60's and as most buildings in the village it has been build leaning to a hill so expect a lot of stairs. We where staying in a very spacious room, it was clean but you see it needs some renovation. Apperently something that is in progress room by room and with a building like that it takes time. We had also a really big balcony so with great view over valley.

Breakfast was excelent: lots of variation, fresh and plenty.

The 3 course menu was also super for this extra 14€ it was made by a coock that likes coocking and has attention for detail. I do not think you can eat A la carte somewhere for that price in the neighbourhood. Keep in mind it is German food and they use a lot of grease. But also the vegetarion options where really good. Also hot water for the thermos available.


Keep in mind that not all the staff speaks english very well and sometimes we where not very well understood so I got other drinks than i asked for. Ofcourse there is not so much people living in the area so I know when it is busy the hotel has to work with what is available. But make sure you are understood and some book with basic german words about food can be helpfull.

Location is suburb!!! Kyll valley is beautifull and there is a lot of small villages, farms, chapels around with marked walking and cyling routes. In summer there is bikes for rent and there is every hour a train that connects those villages. So lots of options to combine walks and go back with the train. There is maps available but I would recomend giving a little bit more information about the area and what the different options are. Walking to Kyllburg, where you can eat something and you can go back by train for example.

Becouse there is a trainstation 1km away you can also easy get there by public transport. I would recomond it also for backpackers or young travelers. If you pay in hostels 20€ for a shared room Hause Kylltal is much better value.

And in the evening when you come back from outside there is ofcourse the swimmingpool and sauna to relax.

You als feel it is a local fammily run hotel and the owners are present.

I have worked in luxe hotel so I know what I talk about so good value for you money so easy to forget the things that are not really ok. Ideal for people that like to walk/bike spend time in nature.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bertguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly people - you need a good condition because of the many stairs . The pool and sauna where excellent . Verry peacefull envirement ( little village ) . A great place for long walks or for biking . Food was ok - drinks are ok and for a correct price .
A place to stay with friends .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in the Kyll valley and quite difficult to find as there were road diversions. If you have mobilty problems this is not for you. The small car park was full so we had to park across the road but then had quite a slope to drag our cases up only to find that reception was then up a further flight of stairs. The receptionist appeared quite disinterested and unhelpful just giving a general wave of direction to our rooms which we had diffilculty in finding. They were through the dining room, through the breakfast room and through one of the doors which then faced us. Lighting automatically switched off after a very short time leaving us in the dark. The rooms (one double acting as single, and one family room were large and very comfortable both having a balcony. However the family one was open and had not been cleaned. I had to complain in broken German and the young man in reception said he had no further family rooms. However, the officer commanding cleaning operations happened to overhear and jumped to the rescue. The response was immediate, apologetic and instantly dealt with. We didn't eat in the restaurant that evening but the breakfast next morning was excellent. The hotel is in a very beautiful location with an excellent swimming pool. The are bikes to hire, fishing nearby and lots of forest walks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank reevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hhj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank roehni01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 653ronaldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Floortje O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zendscheid
6.8 mi away
NaturPurHotel Maarblick
NaturPurHotel Maarblick
#1 of 3 in Meerfeld
75 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel zur Post
Hotel zur Post
#1 of 1 in Deudesfeld
57 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel zur Krone
Hotel zur Krone
#1 of 2 in Birresborn
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel
3.9 mi away
Eifeler Hof Hotel
Eifeler Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kyllburg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Kylltal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Kylltal

Address: Dorfstr. 4, 54655 Zendscheid, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Zendscheid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zendscheid
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Haus Kylltal 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Haus Kylltal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing